Tummel

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tummel Valley Holiday Park, Pitlochry

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by douglas johnson on 26th December, 2014

Add your review
my partner and i have been going up to tummel vally 2 or 3 times a year since the year 2000 i am 63 and my partner is 65 and will keep going up here as long as we can the staff have been verry good to us sandra in the shop and the ladies in the office are great so keep it up tummel all the best for 2015 ann doug

Date visited: 2000

Review by Brian Ward on 4th September, 2012

Add your review
Firstly I have never felt the need to write a review before but having just returned from a weekend break away with my family at Tummel valley, I feel compelled to do so. We are a family group myself/wife/ daughter 28 sons 25 and 22, totaling 7 with two partners 28 & 22, keen walkers looking forward to the fresh air, Friday evening arrival quick meal off to bed. Bit disappointed returned from the hills Saturday to discover pools last session was 5.00, not to worry. Looking forward to dinner, showered and eaten we all decided to check out the amenities. We decided to have a drink at the bar, bad idea! ~Daughters Partner- 28 and son at 22 elected to go to the bar, and quickly returned somewhat embarrassed but laughing saying they were refused as daughters partner at 28 didn’t have ID with him. I went to the bar had no issues with the bar persons ID request, but asked why, then should they not serve anyone else in the group, as you can imagine I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. They had decided I guess maybe we didn’t fit the criteria or the stereotypical mould of the “birdie song group”. Farcical I know, however, the manner in which she replied to any of my questions was appalling and quite frankly if this is the staff they wish to employ then I am glad I will never return. However as a company whose business revolves around this form factor of young children and families. Then maybe they should put the safety of these children foremost! The campsite is situated in an area of undoubtedly, natural beauty, however I couldn’t believe the fact the main road split the campsite in two with children’s play areas either side of the open road. Even more alarming is the river which is extremely fast flowing and runs un-fenced in the majority of areas right through the site. If this were a motorway it wouldn’t be allowed, yet deemed to be safe in a children’s play-park. This water can rise dramatically to form a raging torrent some five feet in a matter of seconds from the release of water from the power station directly opposite the clubhouse, one step or a tumble a child or even an adult would almost certainly be swept away to their death. Again various duck ponds with the allure of children center of site with absolutely no protection. After writing this I noticed there are similar letters with the same alarming topic, it would appear the management need to prioritise what they believe is important, and look after the interests and safety of its patrons, its an accident waiting to happen. The incidents at the bar I laugh at, however as a company you need to get serious with your responsibilities.

Date visited: 1-3rd Sept 2012

Review by Mrs Stewart on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
Returned for a weekend with our 2 children (5+9). Been a few times in the past but hadn't thought we would return because my son had outgrown the kids club .Wanted a weekend away and the children asked to go to Tummel Valley. The caravan was lovely,clean,very modern, well equipped and right next to the sports area which suited my son.They now have a sports programme and for a reasonable £3 my son had an hour of football coaching.We made full use of the facilities, went to the bingo, enjoyed the kids club and swam in the not very busy pool. We thought the park was, as always, very clean, well kept, staff helpful and friendly (especially woman in shop). We have booked to go back for a 3 night stay in October for the childrens' birthdays. It was that good.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by Geordie on 1st August, 2009

Add your review
After booking on this site and reading various reviews some good some very bad, one got confused about the truth. So after making a decision of we jolly well trooped to - Tummel Valley Holiday Park. Before I go any further I want to clear up the confusion. This site is primarily a Static Caravan Holiday Park with an excellent entertainment centre, Bar, Restaurant, Pool, Sauna etc. There is even a well stocked shop on site. I can not stress loud or long enough about the three entertainers employed by the park for the Kids. One in particular, the male entertainer, is without doubt, brilliant with both children and adults. In my opinion he should be on £1000 a day. This accounts for the Good reviews on various web sites. They are reviews from people who holiday at Tummel Valley in the STATIC Caravans. Now for the Tourers both caravan and motorhome:- I have never, ever, in 30 years of touring in various campers and motorhomes come across such a poor touring site nor poorer ill maintained pitches or toilet/shower facilities. My weeks stay there was, the most miserable stay on any campsite anywhere I have stayed in Europe or the UK. The Pitches: The first inclining of problems was driving on to the touring part of the site. I noticed sheets of wood on most of the vacant pitches (we arrived early) and on a few of them the occasional rear window shelf from a car or van lying around. When we pulled up to our pitch it looked dry enough but in reality the ground was sodden. There is no drainage to take water away from the pitches. They where appalling. Although the hard standing was gravelled it made the grassed part of the pitch even wetter because the gravelled part did not allow water to drain away and the pitches, in the slightest of rain fall filled up with water and it was always in the area of the caravan/awning part. In other words the part where you have to tread to gain access to and from your awning/van. It does not take rocket science to work out just how wet and muddy both can get. The Water fill/Waste water points: You can fill up your water supply with ease but try and empty you dirty water and immediately the drain overflows, so poor is the drainage from the pitched areas. It was easier to just drag the waste water container away from the van and turn it upside down in some long grass. It saved you getting your feet, already soaked through with the pitches, getting covered in waste water. Really.......... The Toilet/Shower Block: I went for a shower on the first morning there and whilst standing in the shower (basically a wet room with the drain right in the middle of the showering part) I realised that the water was actually coming back up the drain and I was standing in water that had came back up. There was no seat or any type of area to sit down in and only one small hook on the door. When I finished getting showered I had to stand in the urinal area of the toilets because it would have been standing in dirty water that had by now flooded the shower. Believe me getting dried in the urinal area was a better option. The urinals where filthy, the drier did not work, The ventilator did not work so the place smelled all the time of people doing what they do. In a nutshell I have seen better maintained and cleaner public toilets in fair grounds and sea fronts than those at Tummel Valley. OTHER POINTS: Pylons/High Voltage Cables: Someone wrote on a review somewhere that the Electric cables from the near by power station run directly across the Pitches. They do but you do not notice them and the nearby power station, I found very interesting and strangely beautiful to look at. THE SHOP: On any campsite almost anywhere in the UK if you need toilet fluid or spare parts for your van most carry such items. Well we ran out of Blue Toilet Chem and when I asked at the shop if they had any I was told “Sorry we don’t stock it as we don’t get asked for it”. !!!!!!!!! On looking around the shop there was not one bit of touring merchandise of any kind. The Duck Pond: Filthy and full of rubbish In conclusion: Tummel Valley Holiday Park is basically a Static Caravan Holiday Park and a good one at that. But from a touring point of view - Do not go there. When you drive in you see a sign “We take your tourer as down payment on a Static” or words similar to these. That about sums up the site. Go there in your tourer have such a bad time that you buy a static. It cost us £31 per night and I could not see one penny of that money going back in to the pitches or touring part of the site. It is my guess that they have a touring area purely to take extra money in lean times and that is greed. POINT TO NOTE IF YOU RUN OUT OF ANYTHING RELATING TO TOURING IT IS A 26 MILE ROUND TRIP TO THE NEAREST TOWN TO GET ANYTHING. I have been touring for 30 years. Tummel Valley Holiday Park was the straw that broke the camels back. I doubt after my experience this past week that I will ever go touring again. Please do not go to Tummel Valley in a tourer it is not a touring site.

Date visited: last week July 2009

Review by Brian on 24th June, 2009

Add your review
I would like to put all the rumours about the park to rest .There is not a strong smell of sewrage and the pool is small but great for the kids.The complex is in need of modernising. The caravan was clean and well equipped.We all had a great time and there where 4 of us ageing between 9 and 33 my only 2 problems where the B road to get to the site and the nightly entertainment for the kids .I mean what kids are interested in bingo and some singers they would have liked to play some games or something.My score for this park will have to be 6 out of ten

Date visited: 19/june/2009

Review by Tony WILSON on 12th December, 2008

Add your review
There is NOTHING at all here for kids or adults and you will be crammed in like sardines.Make no mistake THIS IS A CARAVAN PARK and not a very nice one at that.As for the swimming pool,I have honestly been in hotels where the BATH is bigger than this so called pool. And to add insult to injury HUGE touring coaches RUMBLE by your WOODEN CARAVAN every minute of the day taking pish stained old women to the neighbouring LOCHS and GLENS HOLIDAY HOTEL

Date visited: 21/07/08

Review by Stacey Louise Brogan on 23rd March, 2008

Add your review
I went to tummel valley with my friends family a few years back and we had an amazing time. My friend and I entered a competition at the night entertainment and we won! Our prize was a certificate, a tummel valley mug, And a medal! We are returning to Tummel Valley next week! x

Date visited: 2001

Review by Nicole Dunn on 22nd June, 2006

Add your review
Tummel Valley is an amazing place for a holiday its peaceful and quiet.The entertainment team are amazing and got everyone layghing all night long,i am hoping to go back in the near future as i lovd it so much.Thanks so much for an amzinf three days xxx

Date visited: 13/5/05-16/05/05

Review by Emma McLuckie on 16th May, 2005

Add your review
Tummel valley in peaceful and quiet, yet it has a lively nightlife by the riverside bar, I enjoyed this trip alot, and I'm planning to go back in the near future. The Entertainment team were the highlight of the trip, because they made me laugh all night and got everyone up and enjoying themselves! Just want to say thanks again for an amazing trip!

Date visited: 13/05/05 - 16/05/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
You will find in politics that you are much exposed to the attribution of false motive. Never complain and never explain - Stanley Baldwin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Falkirk - 1298, King David Hotel Bombing - 1946, Death of Jean Charles de Menezes - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages