Duke

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Duke of Wellington Inn, Whitby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
General review: very enjoyable short break and staff very friendly

Date visited: 2009-06-02

Review by stella hunter on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
I had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. My room was lovely and clean and freah and the Ensuite was spotlessly clean. The owner made me very welcome showing me to my room and pointing out fire exits etc. My evening meal was cooked to perfection and was most enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and very polite. As for the breakfast....I don't think even God could have cooked this better. To have both my meals served from a piping hot plate was how it should be so compliments to the well trained chef. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel and will definitely book again and recommend to my friends.

Date visited: 13.11.07

Review by Blair Roebuck on 13th April, 2007

Add your review
Very impressed. Good menu, food was superb, and excellent hand pulled bitter; the bar & lounge was lovely with a real fire lit, (not a fake gas one like so many places), the guest room was lovely, only sorry we had to leave too early to enjoy what would have been a good breakfast. My colleagues and I stay in a lot of hotels through the year in the course of our work, and good ones are hard to find in England without paying high prices. For standard b&b prices we enjoyed a higher level of accommodation than we expected. Thoroughly recommended.

Date visited: 30/03/07

Review by richard, bedford on 13th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Cleanliness and location close to the Moors Bad Points: Shower too small General Review: Excellent position for walking holiday.Close to all local amenities including train station.

Date visited: 2006-08-13

Review by Anonymous on 13th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Freindly staff, well maintained quality room and furnishings.Excellent maid service. Lovely quiet country location. Bad Points: The only dislike I had with the whole visit was that the parking wasnt what I would have expexted from a four star hotel. I appreciate that the hotel is set set in a small village location and there isnt much room. However dedicated parking for guests would be a plus. General Review: A pleasant, friendly place to stay. Staff were helpful and polite. The food was excellent and well priced, although the menue was limited with no bar meals or lite-snacks. Breakfast was very nice with a good full english breakfast. Well placed location with easy access to the moors and Whitby.

Date visited: 2006-08-13

Review by L Williams on 16th June, 2005

Add your review
A very clean and well kept establishment. The room was lovely.The staff were friendly and the food was very good. An excellent place to stay.

Date visited: May 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
One cannot really be a Catholic and grown up. - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Blore Heath - 1459, Chaplin Returns to England - 1952, 1st British woman News reader - 1955, BBC launches the world's first Ceefax teletext service. - 1974, Steve Redgrave wins 5th Olympic Gold Medal - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages