Thorness

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas Ė Dorset in December

Thomas Hardyís celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Thorness Bay Holiday Park, Cowes

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by d.hurry on 18th April, 2012

Add your review
No facilities on site unless you drink all day., Pool too small, more year round residents than holiday park, although advertised as holiday park. Sales team v.agressive Beach is awful also. If you do end up there you will need a car to get anywhere!

Date visited: april 2012

Review by Read on 16th November, 2011

Add your review
We love the IOW but can not say that we love Thorness Bay. For the amount of money we paid we were dissapointed. Our caravan was dirty and smelly. There were stains on the beds and we actualy went out and bought cleaning products ourselves before we unpacked anything, not a great way to start your holiday. The pool area was closed due to someone being sick in the pool which put you off trying to go in , also the cleanliness was pretty poor. Dirty floors from the roof having a mighty leak. Evening entertainment was loud and of poor standard. There were holiday reps doing all of it , a couple of which could sing but there were some howling cats in there!. Can remember going to holiday parks when I was a child and the standard was much better then, with a variey of acts. Ate in the restaurant once but again it was just poor standard, low priced so I supose if you arn't that fussy it may do but just felt like an even cheaper version of Weatherspoons ( not our kind of thing ), you could tell that none of the food was made fresh there but was bought in and re-heated. Ordered the lasagne but the pasta was swimming in water where it had been defrosted. Car parking was a nightmare as there was none by our caravan. Also our children were concerned by the welfare of the horses as you drive into the main park , they had no shelter and looked uncared for. We have reported our concerns as we own horses ourselves and did not see the poor things looked at from anyone during our stay. Overall very dissapointed with the overall service and cleanliness, would we return to Thorness Bay?.....No, although we will return to the Isle Of Wight where for the same sort of money we could stay in a hotel!

Date visited: October 2011

Review by Gemma on 18th May, 2010

Add your review
I have just returned for a 1 week stay at Thorness Bay on the Isle of Wight. I booked a Platinum 2 bedroom caravan direct with Park Resorts. We arrived at the park at 1pm and our check-in time was 1:30pm but I went straight into reception and I was allowed to have our caravan keys then. Our caravan was situated on the Solent View area of the park, with including Solent Breeze seemed to be the better half of the campsite. When we got to our caravan it had its own tarmac drive at the side for us to park on. Inside the caravan was spotless and smelled very nice, also the central heating had been turned on low so it was just the right temperature inside. It was certainly the best caravan I have ever stopped in! It even had patio doors that led out on to a small decked area at the front. The only problem with the caravan was there was no baking tray and on my 3rd visit to reception we finally had 1 delivered Ė I was advised that there had been an ambulance emergency and thatís why it had taken so long for me to receive it. We used the swimming pool a couple of times for the adult only swim between 8:30 Ė 10:00 in the morning, I donít know if they do this all through the year. Beware though the swimming pool area does have a problem with ants. One of our group put his clothes down on the bench in the changing room while he dried off and when he went to put them on they where covered in ants. We used the show bar a couple of times to go and play bingo. The area had been refurbished for 2010 and was clean and tidy. I canít comment on the entertainment as we always left after the bingo. We went in to the bar area one evening on our way back from an evening stroll on the beach, we arrived at around 8:30ish. I was told that it would be closing shortly as there wasnít enough customers (even though there was about 10 tables with groups round them) and we would have to move into the show bar. We sat and started our drinks and I had a flick through the food menu which looked reasonably priced, but we never ate there. After about 20 minutes we where told to move into the show bar so we drank up and went back to the caravan as loud noisy entertainment really isnít our thing. How ever I was slightly annoyed to see the staff setting up the pool table so they could all have a game after we had all left. I would say looking at the other caravans to book the best you can afford as some of the older caravans do look shabby from the outside. Most of the caravans have the gas supplied via large orange gas bottles where as on Solent Breeze and Solent View they are connected to a proper gas supply. The chalets do look like large garden sheds but look as if they are in the process of being refurbished. Overall we had an enjoyable stay at Thorness Bay and would definitely return to the Isle of Wight and Thorness Bay.

Date visited: May 2010

Review by sam vincent on 7th February, 2010

Add your review
Sadly stayed a Thorness Bay in 09. Holiday was awful. Site was a mud bath. The Caravan slab supporting the caravan was cracked so caravan tilted to one side. When reported to staff I was left feeling that it was going in one ear & out the other. Entertainment area was smelly & shabby, food was poor. Literally stuck to the floor when u walked. Spoke to the Manager who was about as must help as a chocolate mug. Was told by the owner of our caravan that we were classed as a premium pitch which cost over 5K a year...Beggars Belief how Thorness Bay can charge such a price for this pitch. I am 6ft tall & on tip toes i could just c the sea. couldnt even park our car near by, had to walk down a muddy slope to caravan. Atlas caravan was gorgeous though! IOW wonderful place to live/visit. However give Thorness Bay a wide berth if u r considering either renting/buying/camping.

Date visited: Oct 09

Review by kelly H on 14th October, 2008

Add your review
on arrival at Thorness bay we were greeted with warm friendly help from the staff... booking in was easy.... got to our caravan which for 4 adults and 2 kids was bit of a squeeze but all the same it was nice enough, could have done with some air freshners though !! swimming pool was adequate not for those who like to swim in lanes as there arent any lol.... my son loved the water slide though... as did us adults! didn't eat in the bar/restaurant but it looked very nice from those i saw who did eat in there.... also the bar stayed open till about 12am with karoke... the main hall where it was mostly entertinment for kids was brilliant... us adults could sit and get merry and the kids were well entertained.... although adults do get roped into the kiddie fun so be ware haha.... all good fun though ..... macca was brilliant he was real funny and had many talents/ from comedian, singer, kids entertainer haha real nice bloke... as were the other staff, small arcade for all.... small onsite shope was adequate... and massive play park with lovely sea views.... other than this not much else to do onsite.... you will have to plan some days out or you could get bored, black gang chine was brill..... tiger island was a let down!!! brill to see the tigres but it was about a half hour visit and it was over!!... sanddown was a lovely beack to visit brill arcades.... enjoyed our stay at thorness bay.... it's very kids orientated so make sure adults plan well for their entertainment unless you just happy proping the bar up hehe...

Date visited: 10th Oct 2008

Review by luke fryer age 10 on 24th May, 2008

Add your review
The food was exellent as was the indoor swimming pool the team stars were fantastic the disco and song choice for kids was amazing we travelled round the island it was very entertaining every where we went we stayed in a bronze challet even when it was a bronze it fitted everything/anyone and the arcade was brilliant the dancing and dancefloor were fun aswell im hopefully going again i would recomend this holiday to anyone have fun.thorness bay is the best!!!!!!! luke fryer age 10

Date visited: 14th may 2008

Review by Luke Fryer age 10 on 24th May, 2008

Add your review
The food was excellent as was the indoor swimming pool, the team stars were fantastic. The disco and song choice for kids was amazing.We travelled round the island it was very entertaining every where we went.We stayed in a bronze challet even though it was bronze rated it fitted everything/anyone.The arcade was brilliant the dancing and dancefloor were fun as well.Im hopefully going again.I would recomend this holiday to everyone.Thorness bay is the best!!!!!!!

Date visited: 14th may 2008

Review by Kayleigh Carr on 30th October, 2007

Add your review
The isle of wight over all is a great place to go. i wasn't to keen on the site as there wasn't much there to do and the entertainment in the club was mainly for children. And i didn't like the caravan. Most of the staff were helpful, Alex she was a lovly person to get along with so was Will. Ricky was a lovly person, to get along with we talked alot, and got along great. I meet him the first time i went away to visit the isle of wight with my family and both times he has been a great help in making sure we enjoyed our holiday. i don't know if he will read this but get back in touch :] xx

Date visited: last week lol

Review by louise on 20th October, 2007

Add your review
thorness bay was a bit of a dissappointment there wasnt really anything to do for the adults the entertainment was very basic and aimed more for children. stayed in a cavavan that was mouldy and freezing cold. food was dissapointing but nice places to eat round the island would recommand the white mouse fab place to eat all in all a dissappointment xx

Date visited: 15 october 2007

Review by kev prince on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
it is the best camp site eva grate entertainment the team stars wer verry gd espeshaly ricky the little punk wiv a BIG mowican he was always up for a laffe and had baggs ov energy i wuld recomend it alot

Date visited: 22nd ov sept to 6th ov oct

Review by anon on 2nd September, 2006

Add your review
Thorness Bay is a good campsite the entertainment is excellent for children but for adults there is not much amusement as there is no adult entertainment as such just a cabaret after the childrens entertainment which also finishes about half past nine. The drinks were not cheap but not too expensive and my family and i stayed in a shallet and there was alot of spiders and creepy crawlies also it is a attractive area for wasps and we got stung twice with them always flying in our shallet, the bathroom door did not shut. There was also not handles on the front door we had to give it a shuv to get in and pull really hard to get out. All in all the holiday was ok but is more of a childrens holiday than an adults.

Date visited: 18 august

Review by emmie on 18th July, 2006

Add your review
this was the best holiday park ever the staff are friendly especially the teamstars

Date visited: don't no

Review by bobbi on 23rd October, 2005

Add your review
i enjoyed my stay at thorness bay the entertainment was grate the holiday reps becky and liam were funny the drinks and food were cheap and the caravan was very tidy and clean. i would recommend this holiday to anyone

Date visited: 12th september 2005

Review by The Davies Family on 20th August, 2005

Add your review
Got back last week from an excellent holiday at Thorness Bay. We went for a week and never ran out of things to do on the island. The park facilities were of a high standard, especially the entertainment! The TeamStars were really friendly and helpful like the rest of the staff and Sparky's Krew Club was really good to keep the children amused. We stayed in a bronze chalet but was not too impressed with it as it was very basic and needed alot of work doing to it. Apart from that everything else was great on the site and we all had a really good holiday. Thank you Thorness Bay!

Date visited: 06/08/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Literature is strewn with the wreckage of men who have minded beyond reason the opinions of others - Virginia Woolf
More Quotes

On this day:
1st Instalment of Encyclopaedia Britannica - 1768, Lloyd George becomes prime minister - 1916, Anglo-Irish treaty is signed - 1922, Tories Pick Cameron as Leader, - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages