Sun

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sun Hotel, Warkworth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Judith Barnett on 19th October, 2011

Add your review
We visited this hotel, and found it to be charming. This is a very characterful place, and frankly - I expected the floors to creak - all part of the charm. The hotel was lovely and clean, staff very friendly -breakfast and evening meals were both excellent - evening meal menu very extensive. Well situated for walks to Castle, River, beach and shops. They also allow small dogs - which for doglovers is a big advantage.

Date visited: June, 2011

Review by Turnbull on 10th February, 2009

Add your review
While staying at a friends cottage last weekend we called in for a drink and to reveiw the menue for a meal. I have to say the welcome was less than warm, a hello or a smile would not have gone wrong. The place was cold, there was no ice for the drinks. There was only one person in the bar and I'm not surprised. When asked about food we were told it was served at whatever time and that was that no further dialogue. We left with no-one in sight and went to a warm friendly hotel the Hermitage where we got the opposite, warmth cheery staff and quite good food. Your loss. These are tough times. we wont go back.

Date visited: 8 Feb 09

Review by Wells on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
Nice central location. Comfortable rooms some with nice views of the river although the room facing the castle required the curtains to be closed when getting dressed as the main road was virtually at the same level and facing the room. friendly staff who tried to please but the food was atrocious.

Date visited: 03/07/08

Review by Dorothy, Stevenage on 28th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Well situated for visiting locally Bad Points: Noisy room with creaking floorboards as soon as anyone walked past the room. Front of bath fell off. No kettle to make drinks in room. General Review: The hotel was well situated and easy to find. The staff were attentive and friendly. I would recommend the hotel but stress the problems with noise.

Date visited: 2006-08-28

Review by Anonymous on 25th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Our room was clean and comfortable, bathroom clean, nice shower, clean towels every day. Nice breakfast. Plenty of car parking space. Bad Points: Nothing we disliked General Review: The hotel is comfortable and fair value for money. The staff were excellent, really helpful, friendly and professional. The hotel is centrally situated, all attractions of the heritage coast within easy reach.

Date visited: 2006-08-25

Review by alistair, rotherham on 20th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Our stay in the sun hotel was very enjoyable with helpful staff and pleasant atmosphere.The view of the castle from our bedroom window was amazing.

Date visited: 2006-08-20

Review by Andrew Chadwick on 5th August, 2006

Add your review
Our stay over the Friday/Saturday evenings were very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and plesant and we were let into our room on our arival just after noon. The position is excellent for access and parking and for exploring the village and surrounding area, the castle opposite is a must see. When we booked on line it was on a b&b basis, this we found to be very of a very high standard, details of which were in the room welcome pack, as is the norm. Obviously the cost of the room reflected the lack of hair dryer and mini bar,this we understood when booking. Great weekend and would recommend to anyone wanting aquiet or varied weekend.

Date visited: 24/3/06

Review by John & Joanne Galt on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
On first impression, this seems like the only hotel or accomodation available in Warkworth but there is many more and you soon find them when not looking. The first staff member was not friendly at all. She had us walk over 2.5 miles to get a cash machine before we could pay and check in which was not neccessary after all. Not amused by this. All the other staff were great. We never ate there but the place was clean enough and there was no rush to get out of the room when we were checking out. Hair dryers are provided as long as you ask at reception. TV was okay for checking news etc not that a TV matters when your on holiday! Room decor could have been far better. Picture was hung too low and wallpaper was very dodgy indeed. These are just trivial things. Customer service was great. People were friendly and fun to chat with and even the locals who used the bar at the hotel were good fun. All in all, would not hesitate to return again.

Date visited: 18-20 July 2006

Review by joseph, hetton-le-hole on 1st June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: staff were ist class

Date visited: 2006-06-01

Review by Anonymous on 20th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Large light room with good views of castle and estuary in a very picturesque village Bad Points: Whilst staff were friendly, they did need prompting at times General Review: The hotel is set back from the road directly facing the castle in one of the most attractive villages in the area. It is an interesting period building reasonably well kept and clean, with spacious rooms, many with good views. Bathrooms are OK but could do with a bit of updating. It is one of a number of traditional pubs in the village which have the atmosphere of pubs rather than hotels, but together they give a number of options for drinking and eating within walking distance. Food is served in a conservatory, is good value, and is well presented with some local specials. Given the price it is a pretty good unpretentious and friendly hotel.

Date visited: 2006-04-20

Review by Alison Deacon / Peter Conley on 16th July, 2005

Add your review
Hotel staff were very accomodating and let us into our room well before 12 noon. However, due to the door being distorted, the key wouldn't work and we had to ask the friendly staff to help us. That overcome, we changed and went out to sample the delights of Warkworth and Seahouses, which was wonderful. When we returned we both showered and were physically attacked by the shower which sprung from its holdings on the wall, I suffered a frenzied assault as did my partner. However, we both thought it was amusing apart from me having to go out with wet hair as the shower attack knocked me back into the bath and my shower cap came off (didn't bring a hairdryer). Never mind, the weather was warm so it dried pretty soon after. No mini bar, or if there was we didn't find it, no hairdryer, tv on a loop arial (bad reception) and only one choice for proper veggies in the restaurant (I don't eat fish) BUT we weren't after being fussed over so all in all, a good time was had. Breakfast I am told was wonderful, I decided to stay asleep, although when we checked in, we weren't told that there was a breakfast or any times to access it. No, wouldn't stay there again, would try another hotel next time.

Date visited: 12 / 13th July 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is easier to forgive an enemy than to forgive a friend. - William Blake
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages