Bail

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bail House, Lincoln

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mrs smith on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
sad to say a terrible experience from this hotel which left me and my partner leaving for the white heart hotel across the road which was more reasonably priced and had beautiful rooms and food to boot! Bad service from the beginning as the "owner" came across rude and obnoxious, everything seemed too much trouble, more anxious to get on with his day than to help us check in to our room. check in wasnt until late afternoon leaving us spending a day in beautiful lincoln carrying around our luggage, which we were not allowed to keep at the hotel until we checked in. By the time we had checked into the small room and "twin" bed (more like a large single) no time to relax as it was straight to reception to get them to help with the old fashioned TV that had no signal and neither bed lamps were working. shared bathrooms making it feel akward all round, room was NOTHING like the website. Very noisy all night with constant banging and shouting, food was even worse. we are not that picky and fine to slum it but this was really too much leaving us no choice but to opt for a different hotel halfway through our stay. very dissapointed,.

Date visited: 13th aug 09

Review by Jim Bowman on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
£118 for a room with no functioning TV, one inadequate bedside lamp, a bath which creaked alarmingly, a cramped breakfast room, no check-in until 4 o'clock, bizarre and awkward entry arrangements. OK th bed was clean and comfy, and the breakfast quite nice, but no way will we be back.

Date visited: 5 June 2009

Review by Derek on 3rd February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Very unique and querky hotel! location uphill good!! Bad Points: Ground floor four poster room by front door very noisy from road noise, people leaving town late at night and front door banging from other guests!! Not the room to book if you want a good nights sleep!!! The bathroom situation for this room is poor!! as it is not en-suite (not ideal in the middle of the night, and is fairly basic compared to the standard of the bedroom!! General review: Went home tired and a little disappointed!

Date visited: 2009-02-03

Review by Sue Morter on 20th December, 2008

Add your review
Initially were meant to stay at Charlotte House Hotel, which is part of the same group, this was and felt like an old hospital stuck in the middle of a pay and display car park and next door to council function rooms!! So we were very kindly moved to the Bail House - which again is 5* - sorry but it is more like an up-market B&B - the room was lovely but for the price you pay it should also have a bath and again for the price you pay you should not have to have your morning breakfast with other guests and the off duty manager, with the telly on, on long tables!! We would have preferred to have sat on our own. Breakfast was good but we should have been served tea/coffee and not had to help ourselves from a machine - not exactly 5* service. We were pleased we were up early - once the guests upstairs were awake we heard them having a shower and almost joined them when the water from there shower started pouring through the light fitting in the bathroom!! Checking out is an experience - reception is located in, what was possibly once the larder, in the kitchen - so you stand there with the staff washing up, cooking etc while you sort your bill out - No we won't use this group again - having said that if it was registered as a B&B and cost less there may be less cause for complaint!!! Lincoln, however, was well worth the visit

Date visited: 19/12/08

Review by Robert on 25th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Lovely room. Central to Lincoln. Staff friendly. Breakfast Good General review: Enjoyed it a great deal. If we are ever up that way again there could only be one hotel to stay in.

Date visited: 2008-09-25

Review by Richard on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Food. Room. Staff. Location. General review: Lovely character-filled room. Excellant staff. Tasteful decoration in keeping with property. Use as a base to explore Castle and Cathedral. Superb dining/pubs nearby. Close to shops. Close to the heart of Roman Lincoln.

Date visited: 2008-07-01

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There but for the grace of God goes God - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Robert the Bruce Crowned King of Scotland - 1306, slave trade is abolished in the British empire - 1807, World’s first passenger train service begins - 1807, Cambridge Sink In Boat Race - 1978
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages