It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Thai Edge (Cardiff), Cardiff

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by julianne on 9th December, 2010

Add your review
I have to complain about the disgusting service I received on Saturday night at the thai edge Cardiff restaurant. 6 friends and I visted Thai edge saturday night. We arrived at the restaurant and the waitress was very helpful and pleasant. We had to wait for our booked table but the restaurant was very busy so we did not mind. We ordered our drinks after quite some time and then waited for an hour before getting them. When we were served the drinks we found the way they were served extremely annoying as we were very thirsty by this point and the 'manager' made it into a perfomance. We had ordered two £16 bottles of sparkling wine but he acted as if it was Krug Champagne. Giving chilling the glasses as the reason for the hour wait. We had wine glasses on the table and would have been happy with an ice bucket after waiting so long!!!!!! We then had to wait a further hour before we were served our starters and the Water that we had ordered with the wine. The Starters were yummy but after about 2hours wait I would have eaten anything. When the waitress came to clear our plate i explained we weren't happy and the manager came over.. he was rude and not helpful at all. We said we could not wait any longer for our main courses as we were meeting friends and had thought two and a half hours would have been plebty of time to eat a meal. He brought us the bill and tried to charge us for the main courses we had not been served. He was told that no way were we paying for these and seemed upset and annoyed himself. He then brought the bill back again with a 15% service charge on it. He was told that as we had not received any service we would not be paying for this either. Again he seem annoyed and argued with us. I do not think the words customer service were in his or any of the staffs vocabulary and serious training is needed in this restaurant. I have eaten in the Thai Edge more than once and have always found the service slow and not very friendly but this was especially AWFUL! I WAS AND STILL AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN THE EXPERIENCE WE HAD AT THAI EDGE.

Date visited: 4/12/10

Review by Mr & Mrs Wilson on 4th December, 2008

Add your review
Just a quick note to say how delicious our meal was on a recent visit to the Thai Edge. We found the staff pleasant and courtious. All in all a well worth visit. The Panang Gai was fabulous !

Date visited: 29 November 2008

Review by claire atkinson on 25th March, 2008

Add your review
Me and my partner visted Thai edge last night whilst on a break away from home. We arrived at the resturant and the waitress was very helpful and pleasent.. we ordered our drinks my coke was flat! We ordered our usual soup to start i had lemon grass and tofu.. i have never tasted something so horrible, and the smell was very off putting! Normally it is lovely everywhere else! My partner had prawn and lemon grass soup in a bath of oil..it was terrible. The mains came and i hoped we would enjoy these and the soup was just a poor example but my meal came (potato and veg and lemon grass curry) i think i found one mushroom and one raw potato) the sauce was ok but nothing fantastic! My partner ordered veg yellow curry and again it was swiming in oil and the tofu was so dry it wasnt edable! The rice looked like it had been stood in the pan for a few hours.. very dry! When the waitress came to clear our plate i expalined we weren't happy and the manager came over.. she was rude and not helpful and told us because we'd had a spoon full of soup we had to pay (£12.00) for something we didnt eat. we got 10% knocked off and the service charge, i didnt find this very helpful at all. We regular eat thai and have been to many resturants including thai edge in leeds and birmingham, and i have honestly never consumed anything like this! Not a good start to a weekend away.. very disapointing!

Date visited: 23/03/2008

Review by neil on 8th November, 2007

Add your review
I'm writing this as i can't believe the review i just read. believe me this is an excellent resuarant. I lived in thailand for 2 years and this is the best food i have tated in Wales. I can personaly cook better food than in most other thai restauants (please ask for authentic thai food or you wlll get watered down rubbish). Try something like a som tham, guay deoh rhad nah, or a pad khapow dish (spicey basil). Just asking for this instead of a spicy soup will show you know what you want and they will serge you appropriately

Date visited: 26/08/2006

Review by christine bond on 1st October, 2007

Add your review
This was the best Thai meal my husband and I have ever had.The service was superb, very friendly staff. I had Black King prawns in ginger absolutely delicious and my Husband had crab which was also superb. The sweets were good but brought it Quite expensive but worth every penny.

Date visited: 29/09/07

Review by KM on 7th December, 2006

Add your review
I urge you not to go to this awful restaurant! After a whole faff trying to book a table for 10 (the first time which they said we had to pre-order the set meals, which we didnt want so cancelled then phoned up again and it was fine to have the full menu, they only occasionally answer their phones too) , we finaly arrived and sat down. Firstly, they completely forgot my starter, and when it finally arrived they started clearing everyone elses plates and setting up for the main. THEN a waitress spilt a tray full of water all over me. Not really very professional, and I was sat sopping wet for the rest of the meal with wet elbows as the table was wet. They then brought out the mains(mine was last) and it was horrible. The chicken was the poorest quality ever and it had a nasty taste (chicken noodle dish). Dessert was lovely but I think it was a pre-packaged food. We got money off the bill and refused to pay the service charge, at which point the waitress was quite rude. So all in all, rubbish. Thai House is much better.

Date visited: 4/12/06

Review by Derek Lawton on 23rd June, 2005

Add your review
Very clean and contemporary restaurant set in the heart of the city centre - 3 minutes from the station. Four of us had the set sunday lunch (about £12pp) - the food and service was magnificent - top quality ingredients and lots and lots to choose from the 'help yourself' buffet. Definately not the usual 'set buffet' scenario - the food was as you would have on the menu at any time. I personally cannot take very spicy dishes, so the thai waitress guided me through suitable dishes specifically for my pallette. A wide variety of drinks available. We will be visiting again very soon! Highly recommended!

Date visited: 12/06/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Dancing is a perpendicular expression of a horizontal desire. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
The Ark Royal commissioned - 1914, 1st episode of Coronation St screened - 1960, Iraq Frees 100 UK Hostages - 1990
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages