It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red House Inn,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Colin Jeffery on 2nd July, 2009

Add your review
Visited at lunch time on one of the hottest days so far this summer. The small garden was too hot, even with umbrellas but inside was cool with a breeze coming through the front door. The food was very special and all four of us emptied our plates for all three courses. The service was friendly but not over bearing. All in all a very good experience and we shall return.

Date visited: 2nd July 2009

Review by ally on 17th March, 2009

Add your review
this pub changed hands again and re-opened in December 08. It is a fantastic pub with great food The staff are friendly and there is always a very welcoming fire. I would recommend it to anyone.

Date visited: 23/01/09

Review by Mark Jones on 14th April, 2008

Add your review
Just wanted to give an update on The Red House Inn, it is now under new management again! It is actually being managed by a local couple and they are doing a great job! The menu has completely changed direction offering simple pub food which includes the old favourite of Scampi and Chips and Spag Bol. I actually had the scampi and ive got to say it was the best ive ever had! They informed me that all the food was homecooked and sourced locally. Some people may think its a shame to take away the restaurant but if they cant live up to the pubs previous reputation then why not change it completely! I will definately be visiting again as it had a good atmosphere.

Date visited: 11/04/08

Review by Malcolm White on 4th December, 2007

Add your review
Unfortunately since Shannon and Caroline left the Red House, the new owners have turned the pub around. In the wrong direction! The food is expensive, the meat incidentally is cheap south american import, the service is worse than you could imagine and it's clear to see that the new owners are trading purely on previous reputation. Basically, don't bother eating there. It's dreadful and I was gutted with the whole experience.

Date visited: 24th March 2007

Review by Simon Hurst on 8th September, 2007

Add your review
Eaten in the Red House many a time under the previous owners and enjoyed it terribly. Under the new management however I can only describe the meal as TERRIBLE. I really felt cheated, the cost of the meal is the same as it was under previous owners. However the quality of the food was more than a little under par. The lamb was more like mutton and there steak and pepper sauce was simply vile. I politely commented to the waitress that the reason my wife's plate was still full was that the meal just wasn't edible. She apologised, but left it on the bill nonetheless. Service was slow, but that's ok they were quite busy. But for the food there was just no excuse. I could have had a better prepared meal at the White Hart down the same street for half the price. Very disappointed overall...

Date visited: 8th September 2007

Review by Karen Stapleford on 24th March, 2007

Add your review
Given wrong info. when booked - only ONE veggie meal available. Chef unwilling to help. Appalling service - not recommended for families.

Date visited: 18/3/07

Review by Karen Stapleford on 20th March, 2007

Add your review
Wrong info. when booked - there was a choice of ONE vegetarian meal only. Chef unwilling to help. Appalling service.

Date visited: 18/3/07

Review by Stuart Murphy on 17th August, 2005

Add your review
I first stumbled into the Red House in Whitchurch quite by accident. I was staying with family in the town and then they all went away to New Zealand. Now i like to cook but every now and then, when cooking for one, there is a need to let someone else worry about the nutritional value. What first struck me about the Red House was that the place is tiny. Sorry that should be intimate, but lets not go down that route. I really want to talk about the food. It has kept me coming back for years and years. It is now regarded as the 'Lets Celebrate' food of choice in my extended family. One of the best ever dishes that I have enjoyed there is the Fillet of Sole with Crispy Bacon, Spinach and Creme Fraiche. The fish was cooked to perfection, nice and moist but with a full flavour. I would love to get acquainted with thier fish monger as the fish never fails to raise game be it a starter of Herb Encrusted Langoustine or a John Dory main course. I have never even been offered John Dory before outside of seaside towns and big cities. The menu is always perfectly balanced with a choice of half a dozen starters and mains and a fantastically inventive specials board, not the usual Garlic Mushrooms deep fried with a mayonnaise dip. I could start on about the steaks as well but i fear we would be here for hours. Suffice to say, pefectly cooked, perfectly presented and polished off with gusto every time. One other really important point to make is the dress code. I know that for most of us, we like to dress up when we are going to spend a few bob on food but others like to chill out a bit and wear jeans and a t-shirt. I have never felt frowned upon for wearing anything casual. The service is also worthy of much praise. The staff are always friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble for them. I shall continue to eat at this fantastic place for as long as the winning formula stays in place, and considering that it has been consistantly brilliant since i first went there oh at least 10 years ago, i dont see what they could do to keep me away.

Date visited: Once every couple of months

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We may be a small island, but we are not a small people. - Edward Heath
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles