It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Griffin Hotel, Attleborough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by debbie Monaghan on 10th July, 2011

Add your review
It is obviously a while since these people have visited the Griffin , as we were meant to stay 2 nights and stayed ! .... what a terrible place , a double room costs 80 , for a bed with springs sticking out of the mattress , and the worst breakfast you can imagine . Do NOT waste your money on this place , Try the Brekeland lodge , ( although it was booked up when we tried to book ) .....Iwe ended up sleeping on my parents conservatory floor , better than the Griffin !!!!!!

Date visited: 8th July 2011

Review by David Nokes on 28th January, 2008

Add your review
I last visited this pub/hotel in September last year and liked it a lot. Nothing grated and everything ran with an unflustered efficiency arising from experience and professialism. The ambience was relaxed and most agreeable. En route to Norwich with an old school chum to visit the cathedral, a minor diversion to Attleborough seemed in order to see if the Griffin was stll as good as I first thought. Happy to report, it most certainly remained just as all round appealing as I had found on the first visit. It took a matter of seconds before my pal fell under the spell of the radiant Rosemary behind the bar whilst I was thanking her for the recommendation, made on my first visit of "the best sausages (and Scotch eggs) in Britain" available from a super butcher over the road. This time, I met the proprietor and was much taken by him relating that, imbued with the renowned Norfolk sense of urgency, he had recently completed his two-year plan conceived on his arrival at the Griffin a mere nineteen years ago. He is quietly charming with the innate generosity possessed by that rare breed of hotelier for whom the satisfaction of being a true host makes the unremitting slog involved worthwhile. I must find more reasons to be in Attleborough.

Date visited: 25th Jan 2008

Review by David Nokes on 27th September, 2007

Add your review
A lovely old building. Very welcoming with excellent real ales at reasonable prices which also applied to wine. My friend and I both fell in love with the efficient and entirely lovely Rosemary who has collected broken hearts behind the Griffin bar for many years and who is a principal asset of this splendid watering hole. We shall return

Date visited: 3rd - 5th September 2007

Review by Bob Chapman on 17th February, 2006

Add your review
Food A1 - nice people and easy going clientele. Recommended.

Date visited: 160106

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Absence - that common cure of love. - Lord Byron
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Margate - 1387, Elizabeth I dies - 1603, The Real Great Escape - 1944, Dark Side of the Moon Released - 1973
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages