It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Reedham Ferry Inn, Reedham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Laura Rose on 7th March, 2011

Add your review
Some friends and I came to the pub for a Sunday roast and boy are we glad we made the trip, coming over the chain ferry itself (which i found out later is the last working ferry in East Anglia) was the first part of what turned into a marvelous day, a bit chilled from the ferry ride over we came onto a warm bar with a real wood burning fire, and a friendly greeting from the land lord and staff. The roast beef was just delicious and the yorkies were definitely handmade you could even taste the egg. We all got tempted with desserts and the baileys cheesecake was creaming and light and yummy. We all made full advantage of the ales and really enjoyed the locally brewed beer so local even it was brewed in Reedham itself. We had a brilliant time and will definitely be coming back and regularly, the staff really made the effort to make you feel welcome. With great banter to.

Date visited: 6/03/2011

Review by Nick and Wendy on 25th September, 2010

Add your review
Travelled a long distance to visit this pub on the basis of good reviews. Very average and quite disappointing. Service impersonal - no welcome to speak of (I don't recollect becoming 'mates' with the barman!). Menu was actually very run of the mill and quality/value not all that good in comparison to other Norfolk pubs. Some ales were not available. Noticed advert for new chef outside. Avoid until sorted.

Date visited: 22/09/2010

Review by h weaver on 23rd August, 2010

Add your review
Party of three, we ordered a simple meal of jacket pots with various fillings , clearly reheated potatoes with wilted salad very very poor for £5.25 a go. Its not hard to cook a potato, even in the microwave for 5 mins then let the skin crisp up in the oven for a couple of minutes. It is such a shame when you have a pub in a great location, which used to be a really well run establishment go so downhill i would avoid this pub untill they can sort out a decent chef who is able to cook the basics.

Date visited: 23/08/2010

Review by stephen waller on 4th January, 2010

Add your review
After catching the train from Norwich to Reedham 6 0f us walked the 1/2 mile to the Ferry Inn from the station and discovered a wonderful friendly reception and warm cosy inn. It was our first visit here for years, the food was wonderful, 5 of us having starters, as for the main course well, 1 had pheasant, 1 bangers and mash, a bbq chicken dish and 3 had fish and chips, I have been course fishing for over 40 years and I have never seen 3 such large fish together before, and they looked and tasted wonderful. I am still trying to work out how 4 of the group managed desserts. The ale choice was also very good. After reading some of the negative reviews I thought that I should share this one with you all, we will be returning and have already sounded out some friends to make arrangements.

Date visited: 3/1/10

Review by Kerry Moore on 14th June, 2009

Add your review
A beautiful day followed by a beautiful meal. We will most certainly go back. The food was plentiful and the staff very friendly. Keep up the good service!

Date visited: 14/062009

Review by gretchin on 4th June, 2009

Add your review
Another wonderful bank holiday monday spent at the inn! Well done to all bar and kitchen staff! We were greeted with the usual smiling faces; even though we had not booked we were made to feel very welcome considering how busy they were (a sight to be seen nowadays). I have to add the fact that i had the fish and chips and am totally amazed that someone could even think it was frozen! The real ale batter was crisp and light and white flakes were very meaty, delicious! I cannot believe that people complain about the size of hand cut chips i personnally think that if you want "skinny fries" pop into your local Mc donalds im sure they will oblige. We should appreciate the fact that we have this wonderful country pub still open in this beautiful setting, you only have to go along the river to see the boarded up pubs, very sad. Mr and Mrs Archer and all concerned are doing a wonderful duty to the public.

Date visited: 25th May 2009

Review by James on 25th May, 2009

Add your review
Today's visit to this inn was our fourth and on the three earlier occasions, we were very pleased with the food, prices, and overall service which is why we kept going back. After today however, we won’t be going back. The prices have increased beyond reason and the quality of the food was very poor. I had the Fish and Chips which are now priced at £9.80, up almost a third from last year. The very large fish was certainly not fresh by any standard, inside the crisp batter was a soggy mass of old fish, not the large flakes of fish you associate with something described as “Fresh Cod”. Worse yet, the chips and peas were stone cold. My wife had the Roast Beef meal, around the same price, and the beef was as tough as old leather and again, the veggies were stone cold. We ate what was edible and left without complaining since we have learned that complaining in UK pubs and restaurants is not worth the effort. We had paid up front as you are required to do in such places (It’s called the “Call Girl” principle) and any form of complaint in such places is generally met with the view that you are trying to get a meal for nothing. Rather than complain then we have done two things; the first is to scrub this place from our list of good places to visit, and the second was to write this opinion of the place based upon our experience today. Should anyone from the inn wish to contact me for further details of our overpriced low quality meal, I would be pleased to discuss it with them.

Date visited: May 25th 2009

Review by del n j on 15th April, 2009

Add your review
table booked for friday on back of your reviews guys lol! will update you then!

Date visited: 17.4.09

Review by Ann and Harry on 6th April, 2009

Add your review
We live in loddon and having visited this beutiful Pub before xmas experiencing major problems with the food and the service vowed never to go back. We heard there was a new chef and with the wife not up to cooking we decided to take a chance. It was a saturday night 5/04/09 and the resaurant was very busy(nice to see), still a little wary we decide to go forth. We would definetly be back, the bar and waitress service friendly but the food made our night, the menu was nice and varied and our meals were presented to a good standard ,tasted devine. The place was buzzing and was good to see, keep it up ferry inn we will be back for more.

Date visited: 5/04/09

Review by The General on 9th January, 2009

Add your review
Food was absolute excellent and i was desperate for the beer

Review by billy06 on 31st December, 2008

Add your review
good ale ,friendly staff, and the chunky chips were to die for !!!

Date visited: 30/12/08

Review by Lee on 31st December, 2008

Add your review
Came into this pub and was nice and warm after a couple of hours geocaching locally :) beer was nice and the chips you could wedge under the door, but they were very nice, :)

Date visited: 30/12/08

Review by lilly on 30th September, 2008

Add your review
food was ok but the service was not!!! what has happend to the lovely pub that everyone used to enjoy??????

Date visited: 28th sept

Review by alan rushbrook on 24th September, 2008

Add your review
Well, I think the owner must have read the reviews. We approached the inn with trepidation after reading every review to be negative, but having no other choice, we had to give it a go. The first thing we noticed was a sign advertising for a new chef, (obviously the 17 year old must have got the well deserved push). The second thing was the welcoming smile from the buxhom waitress as we entered. No sign of surley ness here... The beer was excellent, as mentioned, and since the snails en-croute has dissapeared from the menu, the words FRESH not FROZEN now suffixed the cod dish, and the food coming past us looked ok, we gave it a go, and judging by the size of the family that followed us in, portion control did not appear to be a problem. Glad we did. Mussels were really great, as was the beef wellington, (although pastry was a bit doughey). Our neighbours Cod looked good also. After purchasing a bottle of damson wine for 3 quid, (which should have been 3 quid per shot we discovered), we departed pleasantly suprised. Glad to see the owner has taken peoples reviews into consideration.

Date visited: 23/09/08

Review by Mrs Sanders on 27th July, 2008

Add your review
We thought this was a lovely pub in a beautiful setting. We were staying at the Archers campsite and it was great to have the pub just next door so we could stagger back QUIETLY after a few beers next to the river. The food was not the best we have ever had but certainly not "disgusting"!

Date visited: 25 July 2008

Review by Sue Barnes on 29th June, 2008

Add your review
We live in Norton Subcourse, very near to Reedham. The Ferry Inn is in a beautiful location and the food should be good as there is always a high turnover, but we don't go there at all now as on the last four visits the food was so awful that we've given up. Locally the pub has a very bad reputation for food, but the beer, especially Woodfordes, and the setting, is great.

Date visited: April 2008

Review by Kate Abbot on 23rd June, 2008

Add your review
We had a really awful time. We took some friends for lunch there and the food was utterly disgusting. The Service was terrible. We tried to complain - they didnt want to know. All they are interested in seems to be getting the boating trade and hoping they never see the same customers back again! I dont think they realised we were locals. In a nutshell, awful food and badly trained staff.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by William Morfoot on 1st June, 2008

Add your review
I took some friends there on our boating trip and we were very disappointed. The food was poor and when we complained they were not interested. We suggest keep boating and try somewhere else.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by alison cavell on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
thankyou to the bar staff on making our family most welcome.that is me my husband martin and our 9 year old boy sidney and scrappy doo our jack russell dog. thanks.best regards alison.

Date visited: 20 .08.2007

Review by Joe and Heather on 1st September, 2007

Add your review
We really enjoyed our meal and found the staff very pleasant. How Jane could describe the food as really awful is a mystery. Perhaps her head spends so much time up her arse nothing will ever taste that nice.

Date visited: 30th August 2007

Review by Jane on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
Michelin 'Bib Gourmand' - what year was this suppose to have been awarded. It's not on the 2006 list. Anyway, totally agree with others, food is absolutely awful. I may as well got my own microwave prepared meal from the local supermarket.

Date visited: August 2007

Review by Mrs Brunori on 24th May, 2007

Add your review
Nice location but We found the pub did not have an identity as far as the decor went. The staff were a little off and the food was disappointing. Pitty as it`s` right by a river and could be lovely.

Date visited: March 2007

Review by Chris Hanley senior on 27th November, 2005

Add your review
By far the best food we sampled on the Broards, it was dificult to choose with such a large and varied menu. The Brancaster mussel pot was excellent value for money as was the stir fried king prawn in ginger and garlic.Little Daves World famous curry was as good as any Indian restaurnt curry if not better. We dined three times at the ferry during our holiday and will be visiting again next year.Mr Archer the owner can be proud of his 50 plus years his family has run the pub. Oh yes the beers not bad too.

Date visited: SEPTEMBER 2005

Review by Joe Swift on 4th June, 2005

Add your review
Although this pub has strange accsessability routes the location is wonderful, right beside the river. The interior furnishings could be improved and the food does not deserve Michelin stars but a good all rounder.

Date visited: 15.03.04

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I've done the most awful rubbish in order to have somewhere to go in the morning - Richard Burton
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hastings - 1066, Battle of Old Byland - 1322, Caerphilly Pit disaster - 1913, Winnie the Pooh Published - 1926, Balham Blitz Tube Disaster - 1940, Fifty Pence Coin Issued - 1969
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages