It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Queens Head, Bulwick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by d gipson on 13th November, 2011

Add your review
please disreguard all the above they are so far out of date to be wortless.we dine very often (weekly)here. always new items on menu.plus old favorites if you are hungry try the burger fantstic. nice welcome .its not local to us so it has to be good for us to make the effort

Date visited: 10 nov 2011

Review by riley on 17th January, 2011

Add your review
there is rule .if its not broken do not try to fix it .the owners have done just that. what was a classic Village pub has been given a 50 min make over by some one with bad taste . food has gone down since the new owners and a pizza oven in the garden thats never been fired up . its just all wrong and the only one who can not see it is the new owner who has no experience in the food trade . the place is empty all the time as staff are not flexable with anything . the best thing is new owners fast for all the people who miss the old queens head .

Date visited: 17/01/2011

Review by rachel lester on 29th October, 2010

Add your review
I have to disagree with the reviews on here. The Queen's Head at Bulwick was quite a find for us. It is up there (in our estimation) with The Olive Branch at Clipsham, The Collyweston Slater at Collyweston - and even The Pheasant at Keyston. I have never had a meal to complain about. All ingredients appear to be well-sourced, fresh and the dishes quite innovative. Consistency is important too. Their fish in beer batter with a minted pea puree and homemade chips is a good example of this. On one occasion we witnessed the chef nipping into the bar to pull some fresh beer to put in the batter for our order. It was certainly fresh! As for the rather unnecessary comment about the manageress of the establishment, she is the epitome of what good front of house should be; always polite, friendly and very efficient. We love 'The Queen's Head' and will return time and time again.

Date visited: Numerous times

Review by Dave Johnson on 5th October, 2010

Add your review
What a great traditional village pub. Me and my wife visited The Queen's Head in Bulwick on a friday night and there was a live folk band playing in the bar area, it created a superb atmosphere. The food and wine list was exceptional. The service was 5*. We'll be back soon.

Date visited: October 1st 2010

Review by Andrew Carter on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
After reading about how excellent the Queens head was in a local magazine, it made sense to visit this establishment for a meal. Although the initial service was good, the food was very average and the atmosphere was not that of a "quiet village pub". The Polish manageress, (Magda), was very pleasent but would have been more suited to a John Lewis department store. On the whole, the Queens Head Bulwick was very average, with food set to a standard, you would expect in your local Harvester at twice the price!!

Date visited: August 2010.

Review by Kathy Tyrrell on 3rd September, 2010

Add your review
My husband and I used to dine at this restaurant fairly frequently but we heard that it had changed hands so we visited solely to check out the new menus. What a disappointment! What used to be a superb village pub has been 'modernised' within an inch of its life. No more lovely game dishes - just European food with a touch of greek food and strange fruit accompaniments. Wish we knew where the previous landlord had gone!

Date visited: 14th July 2010

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Poets have been mysteriously silent on the subject of cheese - GK Chesterton
More Quotes

On this day:
Worlds Oldest Football Club Founded - 1857, Wall Street Crash - 1929, Formation of UN - 1945, Last Commercial Concorde Flight - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages