It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red Lion Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Reg Raith on 31st October, 2010

Add your review
Having previously visted on 3 or 4 occasions during the past 12 months and advertise that they have recently introduced an extra 2 partners to the business with Michelen qualifications,both the standard of the meal and the quantity can only be described as totally woeful. As an example my 'rib-eye steak' was no more than a minute steak, about a quarter of an inch thick (which was intially sent back as it was cold) and my wife's lamb was no more than three tiny postage stamps. Obviously they are trying to obtain profit for 4 partners now instead of 2.This was not 'Fine Dining' more like 'Dinners in the dog'.

Date visited: 30th October 2010

Review by Lareine Davidson on 29th September, 2010

Add your review
We used to be regulars at the Red Lion and always enjoyed the home made pies and home-cooked style food. The atmosphere was always friendly and we felt welcome. We've been a few times since the new ownership and have been slightly disappointed on each occasion. I feel the cost of the meals are quite high for what you get. On our last visit I had lemon sole which was tiny and cost 15. That would have been fine but it tasted of burnt butter. It was served with green beans in a small pile (barely a mouthful) on top of a mangle of what was supposed to be crispy bacon. I object to having to pay extra for each portion of vegetables and potatoes when the main dish is quite expensive to begin with. My husband had macaroni cheese which was pretty ordinary and was served with a walnut salad which was really just leaves covered in walnuts. Pretty uninspiring. I asked the waitress for a glass of water as I had choked on the beans which were a bit stringy, and waited a good 10 minutes for it, only getting it after looking several times at the waitress standing around. I didn't feel the waitresses were particularly interested in their job - it is only a job, isn't it? I certainly didn't feel like anyone cared whether we enjoyed our evening and I think it will be a long time before we venture back there. We eat out regularly and there are plenty other places which really do care. The meal is expensive for what you get.

Date visited: Aug 2010

Review by John on 10th August, 2010

Add your review
The Emperores New Clothes We went to the Red Lion as it had been recommended. It was our wedding anniversary. We were booked into the restaurant early and were one of the first to arrive, the place looked great and we were greated on arrival.I run a local business and thought I'd found a new restaurant to take clients for lunch. I ordered lamb and my wife a steak. My meal was derisory in size for the money they are asking. We both ordered cheese and biscuits but after waiting 30 mins we gave up cancelled and ordered the bill. With 2 glasses of wine and a beer two main course the bill was 53 and we left hungry and dissapointed without paying a tip. My tip would be drive to the Butchers Arms Priors Hardwick were you get what you pay for and you wont come away hungry!

Date visited: 6th August

Review by CN on 22nd November, 2009

Add your review
Best Sticky toffee pudding ever....

Date visited: 22/11/09

Review by the cat on 5th September, 2008

Add your review
As always excellent. Third visit this year. Service is very good - food always excellent. Would recommend to anyone ( except Sarah, obviously!!).

Date visited: july 2008

Review by Eddie Dean on 27th July, 2008

Add your review
My partner and I have just recently visited the Red Lion in East Haddon for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. When we arrived the car park was full, which is always a good sign, so we anticipated a long wait.We had the choice of eating either insde or dine alfresco in the beautiful shire of Northampton.We chose the latter and our table was ready in a matter of moments. The service was of a very high standard yet unrushed and we didn't wait long for our meals.When they came the presentation was flawless and the portions generous, but more importantly the food was fresh and tasted great! As regulars in eating we highly reccommended it. Excellent food, reasonably priced,great service and beautiful surroundings....star ratings !!

Date visited: 27/07/08

Review by sarah on 12th February, 2008

Add your review
Don't be fooled by the Red Lion's advertising! They say that they use fresh ingredients and cook everything to order. My husband and I went there last Sunday evening and were assured that the vegetables would be made-to-order only to be served microwaved "roast" potatoes, microwaved veg, stale Yorkshire puddings (made all the worse by being reheated in the microwave), and underdone roast beef that was so rare it was bloody. All this for 12 per person! The service was awful. No one asked us if the meal was alright. Instead our waiter spent his time moving furniture into the room right next to us. If you're looking for a delicious traditional roast dinner that is a good value, this is not the place.

Date visited: 11 february 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Great bodies of people are never responsible for what they do. - Virginia Woolf
More Quotes

On this day:
Siege of Derry Begins - 1689, Opening of the Natural History Museum - 1881, Republic of Ireland established - 1949
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles