It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tollemache Arms, Harrington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by S Hacker on 22nd April, 2011

Add your review
Just returned from this restaurant - it was my mothers birthday and we had chosen this based on previous reviews. I urge you to avoid this restaurant - there are so many nice restaurants in northamptonshire more deserving of your custom. firstly - service ! There is none. We were the only guests (I now know why now). I started with a wood pigeon appetiser which was horrendously over cooked. I did not complain as was conscious it was a special night for my mother. Next - main courses ... My wife and sister ordered duck - again - horribly over cooked and not edible! We did complain and they took the cost from the bill - that is all they did. The chef did not come out ( despite the fact that we were the only table) and the manager only came over once I had vocalised my disgust at the service. Every aspect was poor - service, food, price LOOK ELSEWHERE

Date visited: 22/04/11

Review by Colin Haensel on 2nd October, 2007

Add your review
We very much enjoyed our visit to this lovely pub in April so decided to visit it again. This pub is a real gem, and the staff are helpful and friendly. It has a comfortable bar with plenty of room and an open fire, creating a very pleasant atmosphere. And the beer is excellent! We found the staff as welcoming as ever, the menu choices are tempting, the food is tasty and well presented, and there is a wide choice of wines available. Would we go back - you bet!

Date visited: 29th Sept '07

Review by Colin on 5th July, 2007

Add your review
Great pub! Really good food and the only place round here that serves all day. The beer is kept very well too. My favourate place to meet up with friends!

Date visited: 4th July 2007

Review by Mark Round on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
First experience following excellent review by local paper, food sublime, service superb. Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff.

Date visited: 30.06.07

Review by Claire Haensel on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
I was prompted to visit by the review in the local paper and was very impressed. We recieved a warm welcome from the staff. The choice of wines by the glass was the best I've seen, while my husband was very impressed with the beer! The menu, which apparently has just changed to the summer menu was full of tempting dishes, I had the seafood stirfry which was delicious. My husband had the sausage and mash from the specials board and he was so impressed he truied to find out where he could buy the sausages! We will definitely be going back!

Date visited: 2nd July 2007

Review by Andrew Elkington on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
We ensured a miserable meal at the Tollemache arms recently. Our main courses took almost one hour to appear (the restaurant wasn't even full) and when they arrived it was an insult to cuisine. The vegetarian dishes was devoid of any taste. The Risotto resembled Batchelor's savoury rice, but overcooked. Another vegetarian dish consisted of a soggy upside-down mushroom with a pile of overcooked mixed vegetables just thrown on top. The Tollemache knot (a sausage dish) was tough, over cooked and served with raw red onion gravy and a lumpy mustard mash. The pheasant was as dry as the sahara desert and showed now cooking skill whatsoever. The one hour wait was probably due to the chef extracting any taste and texture out of the "food" that was presented to us. If there had been anywhere else in the village that evening we would have walked out. Avoid.

Date visited: 21st April 2007

Review by Nicola B on 23rd May, 2006

Add your review
Lovely setting, lovely food, and friendly service!

Date visited: 23/5/6

Review by Charles Hardy on 9th May, 2006

Add your review
poor food and bad service

Date visited: 10/04/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I saw six men kicking and punching the mother-in-law. My neighbour said 'Are you going to help?' I said 'No, six should be enough - Les Dawson
More Quotes

On this day:
Start of the Easter Uprising - 1916, Glorious Glosters Stand at Imjin River - 1951, Official opening of the Pennine Way - 1965, Bishopsgate Bombing - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages