It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Overstone Arms, Pytchley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Xxx on 4th November, 2012

Add your review
Not impressed with my starter pâté which was like mashed tuna with fried bread! Roast beef ok but that's about it potatoes, well needed hacksaw cabbage was burnt and not nice. waitress nice other person quite aloof.won't be coming again shame brought friends who travelled 90 miles to visit us

Date visited: 041112

Review by John Maddocks on 26th August, 2011

Add your review
We had not been to the Overstone Arms for years although we live fairly locally. My wife and two friends met for an evening meal last monday the 22nd. and were so pleased with the meal and the service that decided to go ourselves on the thursday. The dining room was almost full, the service was good although the young waitress admitted it was her first time serving. The food was was excellent. The head chef introduce himself and answered a couple of questions about the menu. Altogether a pleasant evening and we look forward to making further visits.

Date visited: 25th.August 2011

Review by Rita Matteo on 16th July, 2011

Add your review
Attended overtone Arms for a birthday meal. 9 guest booked proir to visit. On arrival only 7 seats were avaiable, other dinners moved so we could put two tables together to accommate a large group. Service was very slow, menu over priced. food was average, the place was filled with flies, we caught two in our wine classes. wasnt offered a drink at the table had to keep going to the bar. Only presented with one desert menu between 9 off us, when asked for a second menu got told "we only have one menu as there is only 8 items on it so we should be able to manage with that one". Will not be going to this place again as the staff who served us were very unhelpful and unfriendly.

Date visited: 15th July 2011

Review by Peter Fife on 15th March, 2011

Add your review
An excellent choice! My wife and I were driving from the Suffolk coast to the west midlands and wanted a lunch stop before braving the M6. We found the Overstone Arms on an internet search before leaving home. We were made to feel most welcome. There was a happy atmosphere among the staff and the customers in what is a pub/restaurant catering for local people and visitors. We both enjoyed our meals greatly and the owner, Sue, told us of her plans for further improvement. We will certainly be back on a similar trip and wish her, and her helpful and cheerful staff, every success.

Date visited: 12.3.11

Review by Rodney Sandiford on 15th March, 2011

Add your review
As we live in Pytchley we decided to "pop over" to the Pub and have a quick meal at the last minute to save my wife cooking on her birthday. We were made very welcome and were asked if we would like to sit in the Restaurant or in the bar, we chose the newly decorated and the homely feeling of the bar. The meal was excellent as was the starters, together with the service. We felt that the new owners try to offer something different in the way of food and change the menu on a regular basis. If you have visited the pub before you will find it now offers a different level of cusine.

Date visited: 2nd March 2011

Review by Allan Jones on 20th February, 2011

Add your review
Tried the Overstone Arms with 4 friends, looking forward to good food after reading previous reviews....BUT very disappointed. We had been before the change of owners and agree about the rudeness of previous owner, though the quality of food before the change was always good. This time we were all very disappointed with both the quality of service and the quality of the food. Initial welcome was ok, but after ordering the wine was delivered with glasses and just placed in centre of table, water needed to be requested twice and was then delivered with no glasses. Starters were ok, BUT of 6 main courses only 3 were satisfactory and then were delivered to the table one at a time which meant that by the time the 6th had arrived the first was becoming cold! The main of duck was provided with large "slabs" rather than slices of duck, these were very tough and the potato also contained lumps of unidentified material. The sea bass was very overcooked and had no crispy skin and the accompanying pasta was tasteless and gave the impression that it had come from a packet rather than being freshly made. The vegetable lasagne - speciality for the evening - had hard lumps of uncooked pasta in the centre. We tried 6 puddings, the Baileys mousse was delivered in a lovely small glass - with a large desert spoon that would not fit in the glass and, incidentally, had no taste of Baileys within it! The sticky toffee pudding arrived in a "man sized lump" with ice cream falling off he side in a melted waterfall - though to be fair the pudding itself was delicious. The blueberry and almond tart (3 of us tried this) came in three "servings - one in two pieces that fell apart as it was placed on the table, one which looked as though someone had taken a lump out of the side of it, and the third that had had the crust removed before serving! The service left a lot to be desired and we had to ask twice for drinks to be served after they had been ordered, and twice for the bill before we could leave. Serving staff were also unaware of the basics in the menu - for instance they could not inform us as to whether desserts would be with cream, custard or ice cream and had to disappear to the kitchen to ask.... All in all we had a good laugh, a poor meal and will not be repeating our visit to the Overstone Arms!

Date visited: 19th February 2011

Review by Ms Michele Lazenby on 2nd February, 2011

Add your review
A lovely local pub in our area, which was previously owned by rude and unwelcoming owners. The new owners however, are very calm and welcoming and the newly decorated restaurant and bar reflect their friendly management. After my husband and I finished our delicious and very reasonably priced meal, we stayed and chatted to the landlady and her husband with a drink in the bar. The new decor does justice to the beautiful building which before was shadowed by contrasting greens and reds. The reviews below about the previous owner match my first experience with the pub, and I hope people will give the new owners a chance and go back to this lovely welcoming country pub. They also have bar snacks and a good lunch menu so we will be back to sample this. I'm sure your next visit will be as good as ours. Mr & Mrs Lazenby

Date visited: 24/01/11

Review by Benjamin Roome on 21st January, 2011

Add your review
The pub has been recently refurbished and is under new ownership. I would never have come into the Overstone Arms before but now it is amazing. All the staff are friendly, everything is reasonably priced and it is easy to find from the main road. They have a fine selection of real ales and food, far superior to previous offerings. Would definitely recommend.

Date visited: 19/01/2011

Review by bruce thew on 15th December, 2010

Add your review
now under new management, freindly, great food , real ale, everything a great gastro pub should be. what a turn around. Congratualtions to the new proprieters.

Date visited: 14/12/2010

Review by Mark Taylor on 22nd August, 2010

Add your review
Very rude did not even get in been twice now and not had a meal just looked me up and down and said there was no tables

Date visited: 2/610

Review by c patel on 18th July, 2010

Add your review
The Owner/Manager was very rude, as soon as we walked in, and this behaviour continued while we had a few drinks as we were early for our booking, therefore we walked out and would never go back. I have been eating here for 10+ years visiting once or twice a year. I would never go back and will tell everyone its not worth spending your money where you are left feeling like you are in the way and a problem instead of a valued customer.

Date visited: june 17 2010

Review by J Earl on 24th February, 2010

Add your review
I recently read the great reviews in our local paper and decided to celebrate my daugher and brother-in-law's birthdays here for Sunday lunch. The starters were very good but was so disappointed with the main meal. Portions varied so much we had one roast chicken meal, there was more stuffing than chicken and I would think that the chicken breast had been microwaved, there was no colour to it and was very rubbery and dry. The lamb had obviously been kept 'warm' as it tasted very greasy and the beef was well done! We asked for more roast potatoes as we had less than two small pieces of potato each and were told they couldn't spare any more ! The desserts were offered, one piece of this and one piece of that. Two people requested steamed syrup sponge. This was served cold with hot custard, the apple pie had ready prepared filling . Coffee was OK. We were very disappointed, and felt that if you were regulars you could have any amount of food on request. This was our first and our last visit. I have subsequently heard other people visiting following the newspaper report and were similarly disgusted. We were obviously outsiders and treated as such.

Date visited: 21st February 2010

Review by Roger Jones on 7th January, 2009

Add your review
I have never had a poor meal in this pub. It's not cheap and the restaurant can be on the cool side due to the size of the room. Vegetables are al dente tho you can get them cooked a bit more if you ask. Plenty of them and I've got no complaints, We went on our 37th Wedding Anniversary and it was good. I'd definitely go again.

Date visited: 23rd November 2008

Review by Rowan Harris on 8th November, 2008

Add your review
Tonight was to have been a very special night - our 39th wedding anniversary. OH! it was special, we made the big mistake of visiting the Overstone Arms for a meal. Arrived half an hour early to have a drink at the bar immediately we were asked to go through to our table. So no quiet drink at the bar first. Got to the table and had to stand and wait for a considerable time whilst waitress took order for adjacent table whilst standing right in the space for my chair. Probably didn't see me standing there as I am only a very small 18st hulk!!! Very bland menu - fair selection of starters then pie, fish or steak. starters arrived wife had melon given a dinner spoon to chase her melon around her plate. My toast for the slightly tart and almost rancid pate was cold not warm as advertised. Main course arrived cold steak absolutely raw - bled when cut { I asked for medium} and a salad that looked like it was the remnents of the rabbit feeding bowl. I wasn't even offered any choice in the potatoe department. Wife had haddock royale and she did say that was warm and almost palatable. saute potatoes warm but very onion in flavour. waitress appeared and aksed if we had finished just as wife had placed her knife and fork down at the eand of her main course. affiarmative answer led to a flurry of activity and the table was cleared there and then. No choice of wine was offered although there was a fair selection on the menu.

Date visited: 08/11/08

Review by barbara stevens on 26th October, 2008

Add your review
one word fantastic food excellent so much we could,nt eat it all the service and the staff were second to none the decor and atmosphere were very very good i recomend this pub to everyone and shall be going again

Date visited: 25 oct 08

Review by MRS D MULLIN on 2nd May, 2006

Add your review
EXCELLENT SERVICE GOOD CHOICE OF MENU COURTEOUS STAFF FOOD PREPARED WELL PLEASANT SURROUNDINGS 10 OUT OF 10 YOUNG STAFF A CREDIT TO MANAGEMENT

Date visited: 02/05/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Success is the child of audacity. - Benjamin Disraeli
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages