It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Merry Miller, Abingdon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Terry Dalley on 16th February, 2011

Add your review
We visited on15th February 2011 for my son's 40th birthday. What a disappointment. We should have been put on our guard by all the rubbish piled up at the back of the restaurant and the lack of cleanliness of the table. We had Boar Pate not the best but ok. My Crab starter (made with brown crab meat when I was expecting white) was awful, the accompanying Smoked Salmon was past its best if not its sell by date, being all dried up at the edges. Our main courses were no better. The Chicken Caesar Salad had large pieces of chicken (you expect ribbons) and no Parmesan, The BATTER on both the Scampi and my Haddock was DARK BROWN (over cooked) and tasted bitter as if the fish had been cooked in very old oil, I returned the Haddock as overcooked when the waitress returned with the replacement it was a little better but not much, she explained that the batter was a dark colour because it had been cooked in new oil, my son who is a chief said no-way the fish had been cooked in very old oil. When the bill arrived they had deducted the price of the Haddock (£7.95) and I left no service charge. Overall food very poor and expensive. Very p[oor value for money.

Date visited: 15/02/2011

Review by Janet Gale on 2nd May, 2009

Add your review
Disappointing food, quality not equal to the price paid. Shall not be coming back.

Date visited: 2 May 2009

Review by Linda on 13th April, 2008

Add your review
Great staff, Great service, Great food, Great choice. Book in advance if you can though.

Date visited: March 2008

Review by Claire on 6th July, 2007

Add your review
Gastropub pretensions - Berni Inn food. We won't be going back.

Date visited: 6 July 2007

Review by Chris on 26th November, 2006

Add your review
A great find. My wife and I lved in Abingdon for 5 years and we have recently moved to Wootton. I have always struggled to find anywher that ticks all the boxes for a good Sunday lunch. The Merry Miller has just got a Gold star from my wife and friends! We have a 5 monthe old son and the MM went out their way to provide a comfortable experience. I

Date visited: 26/11/2006

Review by james king on 30th August, 2005

Add your review
What a find. Been looking for somewhere local to eat since moving to Abingdon a couple of months ago. We turned up and was seated straight away (note: We took the last table, so be advised booking for a Saturday night.) Good service, Superb menu, (maybe a little TOO much choice!) Lamb Shoulder to die for and my wife can recommend the Homemade Smoked Haddock & Crayfish fishcakes. Desserts and Coffee's finished us off! We were served courtiously and efficiently even though the staff were obviously busy. Good range of beers and cask ales on offer (Greene King IPA, St Austell Tribute and Tom Wells Bomber County.) Will definately be returning now we're found it. James King 20.08.2005

Date visited: 20 August 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The main object of religion is not to get a man into heaven, but to get heaven into him - Thomas Hardy
More Quotes

On this day:

More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages