The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Miller of Mansfield, Goring-on-Thames

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Paul Marshall on 30th November, 2010

Add your review
The Miller is a loveley old redbrick coaching inn that is run by a charming young manageress and serves up amazing food in a beatiful dining room or in the oak beamed bar. Rooms are unique and very comfortable so no complaints there with nice baths & showers and new nespresso coffee machines in the rooms!

Date visited: November 2010

Review by peter watt on 19th April, 2009

Add your review
My wife booked lunch for my birthday. On the phone she was assured the full menu would be available. As we picked our way thro' the various boards outside advertising take-away pizza and for staff of all types etc. we noticed one saying the full a la carte menu was available every day. It wasn't. All that was offered was the Sunday roast (beef - no other choice) or the bar menu (burgers!). No attempt was made to accommodate us - just a mumbled apology. We went down the road to The Swan - had a fabulous 3-course lunch by the river, served by polite friendly staff for £23? each. Take my advice: Give the Miller a wide berth and go to the Swan instead!

Date visited: Sunday 19th April 2009

Review by r adams on 15th June, 2008

Add your review
room 12 only suitable for skinny midgets!!! staff uninterested continually walking around doing nothing. u could stand at the bar dying of thirst waiting to be served and then sit down with your drink at last to look at the restaurant menu when all of a sudden speed is of the essence and they try to take your order almost every second!!! whilst the food was good we were there having a romantic dinner when suddenly surrounded by a noisy group of 20 non-residents and unable to hear each other so asked to be moved to another table only to be told that we would have to have our desert in the bar!!!! so to sumerise pokey rooms, shabby service and overpriced and definately not one to recommend!!! good luck if you decide to ignore this review as you will need it!!!!

Date visited: 13th june 2008

Review by Chris Jerry on 27th February, 2008

Add your review
Amazing hotel / coaching inn in an amazing setting. Nustled in the Goring gap in the sleepy redbrick village of Goring on Thames, the Miller was a brilliant find for a winters weekend not too far from home. We had absolutely beautiful food and amazing room and access to the countryside for stunning walks along the river and through the hills. All the better to come back to roaring fires and really perfect food and drink. Why can't more places get the mix of comfort, style and quality to work like this? Can't beat it and we'll be back.

Date visited: 23 Feb 2008

Review by Adam on 2nd February, 2008

Add your review
Loved it! From the open fires to the luxury food at value prices the weekend couldn't have been better. Our room was stunning and comfortable with an eclectic mix of furniture a marble bathroom with the best shower I've ever had and a plasma tv on the wall. All this only 20 mins from my house made for a great and relaxing weekend stay (we walked for miles in the beautiful countryside) and a new discovery for spoiling ourselves over amazing dinners. And if we're realing feeling like a splurge we couldn't go wrong wandering upstairs for a wonderful night (forget the drive home!).

Date visited: 26 January

Review by Martina Ward on 2nd January, 2008

Add your review
I don't normally do this review thing, but our experience with this hotel is really driving me to do this, to spare you your hard earned cash if you are thinking of going here. As you may have quessed by now, we too found this hotel quite disappointing on the service front. For the prices charged, we expected more - not the earth, but just good, attentive & friendly service. But sadly not so. For lunch, for a £6 sandwich I would expect at least proper fresh bread, rather than the pre-packed readly sliced version we got. The young staff at the bar seemed reluctant to serve us even though the place wasn't busy. Several bits of our various orders were missed and had to be requested again. The person who took our dinner order didn't know that my choice was off menu until he had to ask someone else what the sauce was. And the sausages with the sausage & mash that was still on were served pink. Yes, the room (no. 8) was lovely, but the bathroom was tiny for the price of the stay and the strange pump system for the loo & shower was noisy and intrusive (both ours and those from other rooms we could also hear). The general management seemed blase and not too concerned with giving great service. We had several issues here, not least being charged twice because of uncertainty over us being able to make our original booking date, even though I asked on checkout for the person to check that this hadn't been done. OK, so these things happen, but when you call to ask for the double charge to be refunded, an apology for the oversight should not be too much to expect for a so called luxury hotel. Overall, a nice idea and probably a good place for Sunday lunch or a nice dinner, but for a longer stay the service was far below that in numerous other hotels we have enjoyed in this price bracket.

Date visited: 29 December 2007

Review by Henri Villemont on 24th May, 2007

Add your review
What an amazing little find. The food was absolutely out of this world. Whether eating in the restaurant with its funky approach to fine dining or in the relaxed bar we were overwhelmed by the quality of the food, the flavours and beautiful presentation. Our room was absolutely amazing, we stayed in a room overlooking the village green with a huge chrome 4 poster and antique armoire. Everything was perfect, from the crisp white linens to the fluffy bath robes, we couldn't have asked for more. Little touches like hand made chocolates in the room really showed the commitment to service. I really don't understand how anyone could not like this place - We're hoping to book the very cool red room without the bathroom door later this summer as it was our first choice but was already occupied!.... A great find with bang up to date style and a fresh approach and we hope to go back year after year!

Date visited: 18-19 May 2007

Review by john crow on 29th April, 2007

Add your review
Nice hotel and surroundings for a Mothers day meal. Pity that the food quality and service did not live up to it. Badly cooked food served cold on cold plates,waitress staff not up to it, and despite letter to the Hotel detailing complaint they have not bothered to reply. Would I go again ? Based on that visit, NO. Needs sorting out.

Date visited: 18th march 2007

Review by Annon on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
I stayed there for a weekend and found it quite disappointing. My boyfriend and I were given a room with no bathroom door. They seemed to find this quite normal! When we asked for a room with a bathroom door they said there weren't any and that it was part of the room this "walk in bathroom" They had a mirror placed opposite the bathroom and toilet which meant you could see exactly what was going on! We were then woken up at 7.15 am Saturday morning to music of the cleaning staff! We were asked to have our things packed as they were going to move us to another room. We did this, on our return this wasnt done and again the look on the faces of the staff was stand offish. We complained when we checked out and the manager threw the blame back at us saying that "it was maybe the way we had been bought up" because to no bathroom door was acceptable! We had also been informed that a couple who had stayed in this room had split up over the bathroom door and the manager just commented on how " he was a nutter" something which I found really unprofessional. All in all I found the service here bad value for money and I wouldn't reccomend it

Date visited: 20/04/2007

Review by Ffion on 2nd May, 2006

Add your review
The Miller was a lovely surprise in out of the way little Goring on Thames, a beautiful village bordering the Thames in majestic countryside. We came for the weekend to walk and visit friends in the area who recommended the newly refurbished Miller for our stay. We stayed in a fabulous double room with the most comfortable gigantic bed and a delicious double bath in the marble bathroom. The decor was laid back but bang up to date and luxurious with fantastic wallpaper, a great original marble fireplace and fantastic mix of new and old furnishings. The bedding was pure cotton and the bathrobes fluffy and white. My husband could even check his emails on the wireless hotspot while I relaxed in front of the plasma screen on the wall! Not to be outdone, the bar and restaurant were the highlight of the stay. My husband enjoyed the great real ales which all came from within a few miles of the place and I enjoyed the great wine (and a glass of champagne or two). We ate in the restaurant twice and couldn't fault a thing. I find it hard to describe the ambience, but its sort of formal and relaxed at the same time. The food is beautifully presented, not huge portions but the prices are very reasonable for the amazing quality of the food. I've eaten at the Manoir au Quatre Saison and the Miller offers a less pretensious and to my taste a better alternative at about a third the price! The breakfasts came complete with home baked pastries and great coffee and the cooked breakfast was great too. We also ate lunch from the bar menu which is available non-stop while relaxing in the new terrace gardens (the weekend managed a little sunshine!) and loved everthing. All in all this was an unforgettable weekend and we plan to make the Miller our own personal retreat from the hustle and bustle. 10 out of 10.

Date visited: 15 - 17 April 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Responsibilities gravitate to the person who can shoulder them. - Sir Tom Stoppard
More Quotes

On this day:
Henry VI Crowned as Henri II in Paris - 1431, Oliver Cromwell becomes 'lord protector' - 1653, The 'Bill of Rights' established - 1689, Boston tea party - 1773, Battle of the Bulge Begins - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages