It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Five Horseshoes, Henley-on-Thames

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Tim Brownemoore on 24th March, 2010

Add your review
Positives: Fantastic location, wonderful views. Fire on, nice interior. Very polite and smiley staff. Some of the party thought the food was delicious Negatives: Meals arrived disjointed and seperately in what was not a busy restaurant... Some of the party thought the food was particuarly good Would I go back? Yes If I went back and experienced an identical meal, would I return? No

Date visited: March 2010

Review by Cedrick Von Trotter-Taylor on 6th February, 2010

Add your review
Excellent Food,really outstanding and the Head chef was very polite and passionate about the food. Top Marks!

Date visited: 3 Feb 2010

Review by Donald Richards on 27th January, 2010

Add your review
I had the most fantastic lunch with friends, roasts were amazing, very large portions so value for money considering the quality of the food is excellent! I do not agree with the previous review at all!! The staff were very helpful and the kitchen even though very busy made sure our food was prompt. Thank you once again five horse shoes, we will be back.

Date visited: 3 January 2010

Review by george bucklington on 27th January, 2010

Add your review
My wife Gloria and I dined at the pub a week before christmas as an anniversary treat. We arrived and were reccomended by a very helpful young man to have their special 7 course tasting menu which they offer on weekend nights. We had an absolutly fanatastic meal at a very reasonable price, and had nothing but praise to say about the food and the service. Thanks for a great evening!

Date visited: 17th december

Review by Louise Gilbert on 27th January, 2010

Add your review
We were recommended to eat at The Five Horseshoes by some friends in London who recently discovered it after a recommendation from friends of their own!! What a find! Unpretentious high quality cooking - the food was absolutely brilliant, better than many Michelin starred restaurants I have eaten in. The pub itself is beautiful, traditional and has two lovely log fires, and the staff looked after us like old friends. Cannot wait to go back next time we escape to the countryside- a fantastic night.

Date visited: 22/01/2010

Review by caroline Glancey on 17th November, 2009

Add your review
I took my husband and 3 great friends here for Sunday lunch as I use to live nearby and had always enjoyed fabulous food there. I found out that it had been taken over 10 months previously however I was very excited about our trip, I was paying as it was a belated birthday treat!! The location is just fabulous and our table was lovely and had a great view. The starters were rather good and we all waited in anticipation for our roast Sunday lunch. What a let down, it arrived and I can honestly say that it looked like slabs of meat surrounded by bouncy white blubber!! The beef was, as advertised rare but with this awful fatty outside with no colour and to our horror the pork was pink, limp and chewy with again just the most horrendous cm of pure white undercooked fat and no crackling to be seen. I complained and the chef's reply was that he always cooked his pork pink even for a roast. To be fair I know that with todays new farming pork is not such an issue to be served pink, however I feel that just a white blob of fat and meat is unacceptable for a roast and the most strange thing was the fact that the meat was very pink and rare on the outside and slightly more cooked in the middle, as if it had been microwaved!! I did not complain too much on the day as my guests felt bad for me, however I drove 20 miles the next day, spoke to the manager and he just said that this is how they serve their Sunday lunch. So if you like a traditional roast, with crunchy bits and tasty edible meat then this is not the pub for you!! Very poor.

Date visited: 15th Nov 2009

Review by Patricia O on 23rd August, 2009

Add your review
A lovely little shop and tea-room+ Wide variety of freshly cooked food through the day and a huge GLUTEN FREE menu. A full counter-length choice of delicious cakes, most of which are gluten-free. The prices are very reasonable. The deli counter is very interesting, and pastries, quiches, pizzas (incl. g/f) available.

Date visited: August 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Death is the sound of distant thunder at a picnic. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Blackheath - 1497, Lister performs the first operation using an antiseptic. - 1867, Robert Calvi Gods Banker found dead - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages