Auldgirth

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Auldgirth Inn, Auldgirth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Liam on 16th September, 2008

Add your review
We travelled to the auldgirth inn to visit one of my fathers relatives. I thought it was very nice and well kept, i dont know how you can say that about it!

Date visited: feb 08

Review by Mrs Smith on 1st February, 2008

Add your review
My husband and I travel from yorkshire at least 3 times a year to stay at the auldgirth inn.we have always found the food and accomodation excellent and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. I have recommended the auldgirth to many friends and those who have already visited loved it.

Date visited: December 07

Review by Matthew on 27th August, 2007

Add your review
We visited the Auldgirth Inn on Sunday afternoon and also met the land lady - I can see where the previous reviewers comments came from though she certainly kept the place clean and organised. The place seemed quite busy and was very clean - spotless cutlery :) The food was brilliant – the chicken & prawn curry was very tasty and had a reassuring delay coming out. There was also a decent real ale on.. Will definitely visit again!

Date visited: 26/08/2007

Review by ronnie on 25th June, 2006

Add your review
we had lunch here when new owners took over,both of us had a pasta dish,smoked chicken and sun dried tomatoes and cream sauce,sounds good ,well it was not.sauce was flour based(to save money)the amount of smoked chicken and tomatoes was less than 3oz per serving, at a cost of £8.25p if i remember correctly,certainly not impressed.

Date visited: 2005

Review by kirstin on 19th June, 2006

Add your review
The female owner establishment is terribly rude! We visited for a meal and were 7 mins late for our table booking and the land lady was so obnoxious and rather aggressive - we got a lecture about how we would not be getting served until all the other "on time tables" were served beccuase we were late! we were scolded like school children and when i retorted to this rude woman i was told to be quiet! I would like to add they weren't busy - not surprisingly if that is how you speak to guests - so if you want to enjoy your meal in there - if you are brave enough to go (we didn't eat as she had put us off our dinner by this point) make sure you are on time or you will get a mouthfull - unless you are into a dominant school teacher kind of theme - this was on father's day by the way. Alternatively pop into Thornhill there are cracking restaurants up there that will do you a super 3 course meal - unbooked i'd like to add - with happy welcoming faces.

Date visited: 18/06/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Desperate affairs require desperate measures. - Horatio Nelson
More Quotes

On this day:
Flannan Isles Mystery Born - 1900, Retreat from Gallipoli - 1915, Bosman Ruling - 1995
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages