It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Anchor Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lyons Family on 15th September, 2011

Add your review
Cosy, welcoming pub with newly decorated rooms. Amazing breakfast with super service. Thoughtful friendly staff. Thank you for our memorable stay. We will certainly return.Brilliant value too!

Date visited: August 2011

Review by Robbie on 26th September, 2010

Add your review
I and my three companions were touring Scotland and chanced upon this pub for a mid morning snack. At first we were unsure if it was open as the front door was closed.When we entered we ordered scones and coffee.The very small scones had been microwaved hiding the fact that they were stale and the coffee was the weakest we had ever encountered.We assumed the loud music was for the benefit of the staff and not the customers as it drowned out any attempt at conversation.Only the day before we had had the same refreshment at Culzean Castle for the same price and could not believe the difference in quality and quantity.PS for really good food and pleasant atmosphere try Mulberries in Kirkcudbright.

Date visited: Friday 24th September 2010

Review by ann mcmorrow on 23rd April, 2010

Add your review
We spent 3 nights in this friendly hotel. We were a bit apprehesive after reading the reviews. It changed hands at the end of February and according to the locals I spoke to it has greatly improved. Our room was fresh and bright with a great views over the water. The food was really good, great fish pie and sirloin steaks. Lovely area with pleasant walks and great scenery. I will return.

Date visited: 20th april 2010

Review by jimmy o on 11th February, 2010

Add your review
Dissapointed with stew. Hot pieces and cold pieces. Must have been microwaved. When pointed out chef stated thats what happens sometimes. Good days and bad days. Surely if you pay for something it should always be good. Jimmy.

Date visited: december 2009

Review by Mrs P on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
I have been a regular at the Anchor for the past seven years and it has certainly had its ups and downs as far as food standards and service are concerned. Our last 3 visits have definitely been "downs" In an effort to go "upmarket" with the menus the chef has produced an impressive looking menu. However, to keep customers coming back one has to be consistent. During the Summer months when the village is full to the brim with visitors you can get away with poor food and sloppy service but in the low season when you only have the locals to rely on you have to try harder. The general impression we have since the hotel changed hands a couple of years ago is that they really couldnt care less. I'll take my hard-earned cash elsewhere in the future.

Date visited: 18th October 2009

Review by Mrs Sarah Lear on 15th September, 2009

Add your review
As an ex local who returns regularly often with guests I was most upset by the service on Saturday-nothing but praise for the staff struggling to cope-our starters took an hour to arrive and the mains a further hour, one main never arrived. We've boycotted the Anchor in years gone by and it looks like it might happen again. Saturday night-good weather = going to be busy (I've seen it busier) get more staff in.

Date visited: 12/09/2009

Review by Emma Donaldson on 28th October, 2008

Add your review
A lovely little place in a gorgous little town. Lovely food kind staff; good for a quiet break and with the kids. Loads to do near sandy hills and Rockcliff and castle douglas B E A U T I F U L scottish village.

Date visited: ??

Review by NETTY on 27th May, 2008

Add your review
we also live locally and think this place has improved no end. the people that run it make you feel very welcome and whilst nobody is saying this is gordon ramsay we find the food honest and good value

Date visited: all the time

Review by Dee Hughes-Thomas on 12th July, 2006

Add your review
I live locally and have visited the Anchor Hotel many times over the last four and a half years.Despite a drop in food standards, our recent visits have found a huge improvement in both atmosphere and food. Today, sadly, my husband and myself were served food that was dry and had possibly been kept warm for some time. My husband's meal was scampi which in the past has been hot and succulent but today was dry and tough. My meal was a baguette with mozzarella, tomato and basil.I had had the same meal about two weeks ago and it was crisp baguette,bubbling mozzarella and fresh, aromatic basil; today the bread appeared to have been toasted and left as was the cheese which had the consistency of rubber and the basil as an unidentifiable, cremated crisp.We have taken many friends to this pub; indeed today our daughter was with us and had the "salmon fantasy" which was excellent. it seemed as if our hot meals had been prepared and then the cold dish remembered and prepared whilst the hot food was left to keep warm which resulted in inedible food. I realise we should have said something immediately but having seen some horrendous examples of what happens when food is returned, we decided to mention our disappointment to our waitress who either said nothing or chose to ignore the problem. Our bill was over thirty pounds which would have been good value had the food been to standard; sadly it was not and we feel hesitant to visit the Anchor again. I have found staff entirely helpful on previous occasions for example, when there was a problem with the deep fat frying machine and we were unable to have fish and chips.The lady who spoke to us has been with the hotel as long as we have been visiting and she has always been the essence of hospitality. Today, that was sadly lacking; possibly it was her day off. I am terminally ill and not able to go too far afield so the Anchor has always been a popular venue.It saddens me that, as locals we cannot rely on a local inn to supply our fairly simple needs.

Date visited: 12/07/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A day without laughter is a day wasted. - Charlie Chaplin
More Quotes

On this day:
Drake Starts round the world voyage - 1577, Battle of Alton - 1643, Battle of the River Plate - 1939, Jackanory First Broadcast - 1965
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles