It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Criffel Inn, New Abbey

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by ronnie on 28th May, 2014

Add your review
NOW CLOSED.

Date visited: 27/5 2014

Review by ronnie on 24th September, 2010

Add your review
Restaurant no longer open to the public due to staffing problems ? Public bar has restricted opening hours.

Date visited: 21/9/2010

Review by mr and mrs Gherardi on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
we spent three days at the Criffel Inn, and I couldn't fault it. the food was way above average, the rooms very comfortable and our hosts very accomodating nothing was too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Criffle Inn .

Date visited: 19 august 2009

Review by Lyndsay Harvey on 28th August, 2008

Add your review
My mum and myself were out for a drive looking for somewhere to get some dinner. We came across the Criffel Inn, and what a dinner we had. We were welcomed in by a friendly young guy, who showed us to our seats. We had a wonderful 3 course meal. More roast beef that you usualy get and it was so tender, and the veg was cooked to perfection. The sticky toffee pud was so scrummy too. I didnt want to write a review so I can keep this place a secret so it doent change and when we come back it will be the same-but I had to compliment the chef, our waiter and the owners for obviously having a natural flair for good service at a very resonable price that didnt spoil or wee break. Thanks so much everyone.

Date visited: 26/08/08

Review by Nicola Berry on 3rd June, 2008

Add your review
My husband and I spent one night in in the Criffle Inn and can quite honestly say that it was a delight. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. We had our evening meal (which was plentiful and delicious) out in the beer garden. It was a beautiful sunny and warm evening which added to the experience. Later on we took a walk through the picture-book villiage. Beautiful beyond words. White-washed cottages, an old Abbey with adjoining graveyard. Well worth the visit. The remainder of the evening was spent with the locals in the bar. All I can say is - what a night - thouroughly enjoyable, thanks Les!! We would highly recommend the Criffle Inn. It covers all the bases. Thanks again to Sandra and Steve. Hope to see you again soon.

Date visited: 31st May 2008

Review by Maureen Kelly on 25th April, 2008

Add your review
Having stayed at the Criffel Inn on four occasions over the last few years, I can honestly say that my husband and myself love the place. We have never experienced any of the problems mentioned by some of the other reviewers and although it has changed ownership more than once, we have found all the owners to be friendly and helpful. We will certainly be visiting again.

Date visited: April 2008

Review by D M Ratcliffe on 15th April, 2008

Add your review
I spent three very comfortable nights there on two different occasions in March this year. The hospitality was spot on with nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent, very large portions, and a breakfast to set you up for the day. The beer was good too!! I would certainly go back if I was in that area.

Date visited: 12/13th & 27th March

Review by amanda sloan on 6th December, 2007

Add your review
I think Becky Pickles(prevoius reveiw) must have checked in to the wrong hotel & certainly didnt eat in the same restaurant as my two daughters & I, roughly on the same date!! We had a wonderful dining experience. The young man on the bar was very pleasant & helpful even though it was a very busy night. The food, from starter to home made dessert was perfect & we even got the chance to chat with the chef after our meal which made it all the more delightful. My eldest daughter cant have any wheat produce, but that proved to be no challenge to the chef & she quickly prepared a perfect sauce to accompany a perfectly cooked steak. I can only hope that by writing this reveiw that it can go a short way in repairing the damage possiably done by Becky, & encourage anyone visiting the area to indulge in the same delights as us. Most certain to be back. Mrs Sloan (67)

Date visited: 10/09/07

Review by Jon Hamilton on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
Some golfing buddies & I found The Criffel Inn by accident while staying in B&B accomodation close to the village, which I must stay was a total delight. We had such a great time in the bar with the local's, making us very welcome & ate there six nights on our ten day visit to the area. I,m compelled to write this review after reading the last coment's about "boiled mushrooms & unpleasant soup" cooked apparentley by the new chef, finding this totelly untrue & obviously written by someone very bitter & close to old cook or just to much free time. The young lady chef was fantastic, catered to our every need with perfect home cooked dishes that eight fussy, hard to please blokes could never find any fault (including a perfect pot of soup every night). We were all totally delighted & will definetley make it our first choice next year. We would recommend anyone to give it a try & not to pay any attention to long winded reviews that havent captured any of the very pleasurable reason's to visit this great inn.

Date visited: 20th September 2007

Review by Becky Pickles on 5th September, 2007

Add your review
I went with my husband on his recommendation as he'd spent a night up there on his brother's stag do back in July, however he never ate there & I suspect that if he had we would never have gone back! I read the previous comment about the change of chef but after my experience I'd suggest they give this some more thought. The leek & potato soup that we got to start was orange & covered in a layer of oil; I can only think that the veg (unrecognisable!) had been fried off in it beforehand. The only saving grace was the crusty baguette the accompanied the soup which helped mop it all up & make it more bearable. For my main meal I ordered the Mushroom Stroganoff, a.k.a "Boiled button mushrooms in a tub of cream with extra oil & boiled rice!" Bland doesn't really cover it - it was the most tasteless thing I've ever eaten & this was after I'd thrown a ton of salt & pepper on it! This I conveyed to the emotionless waitress who I assume passed my comments onto the bar staff who knocked this off our final bill which thankfully came to only £18 but then we had to spend a further £10 on coffee and a dessert at our hotel to take away the taste that the food had left in our mouths! We weren't the only unhappy customers there that night and I suspect we won’t be the last. Never, never again........

Date visited: Saturday 1st September 2007

Review by Staff on 31st August, 2007

Add your review
We have noted all the comments listed below and are thankful for “constructive” criticism, the chef has been changed and the hot water problem was rectified that day and our other guests who stayed and enjoyed the free dinner offered to them for the inconvenience during this time had hot showers after there day on the trails. The lady in question was given a discount and proved very challenging to reason with, we are sorry she did not take up the offer of a free meal and enjoy the remainder of her stay. We strive to continue to improve the service offered and welcome your comments. Many thanks Staff @ The Criffel Inn

Date visited: 000000

Review by byron stevenson on 26th July, 2007

Add your review
I booked into this inn with my daughter aged 2 and my mother. We found the staff on arrival very friendly and the food in the restaurant is recommended. We arrived back at the inn after the restaurant closed but they were still willing to make us something to eat. The breakfast is big and will keep you going for a while. The bedrooms were clean and tidy and we had clean towels each day. We would go back to this inn again to stay as we found nothing wrong with it at all. The price for a nights stay is very worth the money and will continue to attract visitors due to this fact.

Date visited: 20/07/07 - 22/07/07

Review by Mr B.Wilson on 19th July, 2007

Add your review
I have visited the area regular for over 12 years now, although I had never stayed in the hotel have frequented the restaurant on many occasions. After recent renovations I decided to try the accomodation,and was very plesantly surprised. The new owner has done a wonderful job. The only area that is letting the hotel down at the moment is the chef( or so-called) This time last year we celebrated my mothers 80th birthday & had a great meal, couldn't falt anything or any staff, unfortunatly during my stay a minimum of 4 tables complained only to endure the rants of a fowl mouthed, un-kempt "chef"from the kitchen. I only hope that management have listened to problems voiced by customers & I have a much better experience next time. The bar locals always will make the visit special & welcome you with a smile.

Date visited: 16th - 19th may 2007

Review by Dave and Ali on 10th April, 2007

Add your review
Booked to stay for two nights at the Criffel Inn but only stayed for one. If more than one person has a shower, there's no water for the rest of the hotel, as the antiquated water tank isn't up to it. So, if you've been out MTBing and want to get washed, don't expect hot water. The same thing happened the next morning - cold showers again! The owner, a MTB downhiller, had a real attitude problem, and when I complained he just said, "well, I'm happy to have a cold shower, it doesn't bother me, so what's the problem?". He's more suited to running a hostel than a hotel with his "don't care attitude". He really shouldn't be the boss of a B&B/Hotel - he has no idea how to treat customers. Won't be back, and he's lost a lot of new customers, as a lot of my friends were going to book for Summer, but not now.

Date visited: 7 April 2007

Review by Barry Gell on 27th July, 2005

Add your review
The Criffel Inn is great, the food is great, the people are great and the rooms are great. The location is excellent for all types of activities including MTB, Fishing and Golf. Check this out you cannot go wrong

Date visited: 22 July 2005

Review by stuart hall on 13th May, 2005

Add your review
Excellent food, very nice people. I was made to feel very welcome. Some development work was being carried out but this did not effect my stay and I look forward to returning and seeing the improvements.

Date visited: 8th may 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Andrew Marr looks like Martin Clunes with a little of the air let out of him - Jo Brand
More Quotes

On this day:
The Ark Royal commissioned - 1914, 1st episode of Coronation St screened - 1960, Iraq Frees 100 UK Hostages - 1990
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages