It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Wheatsheaf Inn, Betws-Yn-Rhos

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by CHicks on 31st August, 2011

Add your review
Lovely friendly pub. My friends & I were camping down the road and dined here on a Friday evening. It was the very best steak pie I have ever tasted, fabulous pastry and the homemade chips were excellent! We went back the next evening intending to eat but found they were fully booked. Bernard Flynn (owner) recognised us from the previous night and said if we don't mind waiting 20-30 mins he would fit us in. Again, wonderful service - we would definitely go back there again...

Date visited: 26th & 27th August 2011

Review by Alex on 21st March, 2011

Add your review
What more can I say other than; "What a fantastic pub!" The first impression from the outside was of a quiet country pub. Very nicely maintained building with fantastic views around the Welsh countryside. The interior is fantastic, keeping in the same style as the exterior. Oak beams, log burning fires and supprisingly large on the inside! The staff are all fantastic and very friendly. Bernard and Lisa pull out all the stops to make all visitors feel welcome and make sure they have the most enjoyable visit they can! The food is fantastic. Good, honest real home cooked pub food. All made fresh to order and sourced locally which we really liked. We ate there 2 nights in a row because we liked it so much! If you find yourself nearby Betws-yn-rhos I would advise dropping in and taking a look yourself!

Date visited: 19/03/2011

Review by jackie blakeley on 15th March, 2011

Add your review
hadnt been here since the new owners took over as the last time i went it was poor. lots of change, for the better, new owners, new menu, great service from adults not teenagers. genuinely hope this place survives these hard times for pubs. will be back for def!thumbs up from me!!

Date visited: feb 2011

Review by Hannah Rogers on 10th November, 2010

Add your review
lovely meal, great staff and fantastic sing song with the landlord and musicians in the bar. great place

Date visited: 5/11/10

Review by mary tweed on 30th June, 2010

Add your review
well, well, now havent these new owners settled in! i tried the sunday roast when they first took over and it was good but not brilliant. now it is fantastic!! the nearest to home cooked quality that i have had whilst eating out. hand carved meats (not processed plastic), home made roasties, yorkies, stuffing and crackling! queing at carverys, cheap £5 roast no more for me, this is real home cooked food at very reasonable prices. i'll be back at least once a month! like your website too! mary

Date visited: may 2010

Review by gary jones on 25th April, 2010

Add your review
hey wheatsheaf! thanks for a wonderful time in this lovely old fashioned pub. we plumped for the combo to share which was fab, and one of the blt's which was lovely too. we will have to come back now for a taste of the a'la carte menu if the snack or anything to go by!! thanks. see you soon.

Date visited: march 2010

Review by donna dawson on 9th April, 2010

Add your review
what a wonderful traditional village pub. fantastic service, lovely ambience, new menus, music, the list goes on......what more could you need for a weekend away or just out for a meal. b&b rooms lovely, clean and simple. great bit of banter and hospitality from the irish landlord. if you hang around for long enough you might witness the guitar coming out!massive thumbs up has got to go to the food! smashing! home cooked to order, non of this fast food, yum yum. didnt want to go home. c u again in june for the b&b 2 night package what fantastic value!!!

Date visited: march 2010

Review by merle schwarz on 10th March, 2010

Add your review
very nice pub with a lovely ambience, great food, beer and service. the host was friendly and helpful and took time to talk to us which you don't always find. oh and the place was spotless! we hope to get back at some stage next year. thanks

Date visited: 7/3/10

Review by gwenda jones on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
had sunday lunch here yesterday with the dogs. very nice. food excellent, service excellent and a lovely landlord to boot.thank you - we will be back!

Date visited: 18 oct 09

Review by jenny burns on 26th September, 2009

Add your review
so nice to enjoy a good old fashioned county inn, they are difficult to come across these days. had a fabulous time there, lovely staff, great service, fab atmosphere. we ended up booking for xmas day dinner and b&b, sod the washing up. the place we normally go to have 3 sittings so you have to eat and run but here the table is yours for the duration! fab and worth the money (which i hear is the same price as last year, no increase, nice one!) most pubs pack as many as poss in at xmas and rush you out while your still chewing, but not here. looking forward to it!turkey dinner, few drinks, stones throw to bed, what more could we need. jenny

Date visited: september 09

Review by maureen on 23rd September, 2009

Add your review
Hi, I was going to write a good review of this place but my time has been spent cracking up at this Gazza chap. Obviously he wasn't happy but move on mate and get a life. Wonderful place and VERY DOG FRIENDLY!!

Date visited: 12th aug 09

Review by tommy and steven crowley on 22nd September, 2009

Add your review
we travelled from Ireland and have two dogs. we cannot thank the Wheatseaf enough for making us and our pooches feel welcome.the food was great the beer was great and we loved the impromptu singalong in the bar with the choir. fantastic...keep up the good work.

Date visited: 15th sept 09

Review by gazza on 2nd September, 2009

Add your review
you say in your review you simply sit a few tables away if someone is eating,i never got a chance to sit anywhere & iam aware its good manners not to sit next to someone whos eating.may be proper facts are required before commenting ?

Date visited: 05/05/09

Review by Martin Iddon on 8th August, 2009

Add your review
We had a excellent week all round in North Wales after travelling over from Otley and the Wheatsheaf really crowned the week perfectly. Bernard and Lisa are fabulous hosts and can't do enough for you. Don't worry about kids(of any age) and dogs as all are welcome. I'm not a Real Ale man so didn't sample the guest ales myself but range seemed impressive and the 2 other guys on our trip where impressed. We wrapped up our holiday with a meal in the Wheatsheaf and the welsh beef is as good as advertised. I eaten steaks around the world and its as good as I tasted. The sirloin (rare) simply melted in the mouth. Fabulous!! Everyone else in our had nothing but good things too say about their meals and we had a good cross-section off the menu. Betws-yn-rhos is easily accessible from Abergele, Colwyn Bay, Llandudno, Conwy etc. so if your having a day out /holiday around that part of the North Wales coast I'd whole heartedly recommend you take time to have a meal / evening at the Wheatsheaf Inn!!

Date visited: 22nd/23rd July 2009

Review by simon garside on 10th July, 2009

Add your review
nice pub. has anyone had the beer here from llanwrst brewery. wow ! stop by and try it. we had a few and were genuinely surprised with the quality. the owner Bernard, said he tries to stick with the local breweries if possible because it is decent quality and the local breweries need the local pubs support. most don't give it but he firmly belives in it. well done young man...the trade need more like you. Simon and Jean

Date visited: 8/7/09

Review by Helen on 28th June, 2009

Add your review
We had a brilliant time staying at the Wheatsheaf. We ate in the restaurant every night, the food was fantastic, and all from local farms. The rooms have just been refurbished and were very comfortable. This was our first visit to this beautiful village, but we have already booked our next trip. We were made very welcome by all the staff. Thanks Lisa and Bernard.

Date visited: 22/05/09

Review by BARBARA JONES on 6th June, 2009

Add your review
WONDERFUL! i am a regular and its great to see each visit presents me with an improvement which is what the new owners talked off when they took over. they are obviously working through their changes week on week and doing a wonderful job of it. keep it up, rome wasnt built in a day! ps. they are very open to feedback which is great, they even made a change that i had suggested in the early days, i almost feel part of the team, haha. babs.

Date visited: may 09

Review by kenny bell on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
fantastic sunday roast, highly recommended. slightly longer wait the previous saturday for our evening meal which i always love because i know its cooked fresh to order. the specials board is a MASSIVE improvement with wonderful fish dishes.

Date visited: may 09

Review by ben jarvis on 29th May, 2009

Add your review
Hey there, saw the place had new owners from xmas!! we visited last autumn from south africa - completely rubbish, needed to change big style. Am glad you have had a change of ownership. I had traditional fish & chips and it was blatantly frozen !! Forgettable chips! Some woman called Julie or junie? served us - seriously the worst service we ever received - it was as if we were taking too much time to eat our food. Rude woman. I wish this place the best as it is in a gorgeous village with a fantastic location. Hopefully back in the area next year. Saw the new website and can't wait to sample the 'hearty welsh' menu. All the best Ben

Date visited: 06/06/09

Review by james haker on 27th May, 2009

Add your review
wow..didnt know they had pubs like this left. great cask ale - chwaden aur from llanrwst brewery - made us a little tipsy, hee hee. great hearty food,yummy mash, although it took a little time... (freshly cooked always does though)we didnt book so cant complain! fantastic personal service from unpretentious staff etc...thanks diane! wonderful setting. i never thought caravaning would bring us to such a great place!! top top top !!

Date visited: 27/05/09

Review by Sarah and Iain Cook on 27th May, 2009

Add your review
What a brilliant, friendly pub, great place to relax and get away from it all. The owners, Lisa and Bernard, are incredibly hospitable and could not do enough for us during our visit. The food was outstanding, truly wonderful and all freshly cooked to order, which made the short wait 110% worthwhile! First night I had the pork special, which was delicious and my husband had the Welsh black beef fillet steak, which he raved SO much about, it made me have it on our second night, WOW!! His meal on the second night, steak and ale pie, was also wonderful. Generous but not OTT portion sizes, (I hate to see the ridiculous amounts of food waste that you get in some pubs/restaurants) and the cheesecake was just delicious. Accommodation was brilliant, clean and comfortable with Freeview TV, what a bonus! Breakfast, again freshly cooked to order, was gorgeous and set us up for the day ahead! We will definitely be back and will bring our dog too, it's nice to see that a pub is genuinely so dog-friendly. Thanks for making our stay so relaxing, we both felt like we'd been away for a week or so, rather than two days!

Date visited: 23/24 May 2009

Review by caroline smith on 26th May, 2009

Add your review
We went for a drive and just happened to pass this place so stopped for a drink. The sun was shining so we took our drinks to the beergarden - we werent alone. people dining everywhere!! I spoke with some of the locals who said the new owners are fab and are trying so hard to win back customers lost from the previous owner and management. Just then the new owner, Bernard came out and sat down for a drink with us.WhAt a lovely genuine guy. He told me its been very difficult for customers who were used to the cheap 2 for 1 deals to adjust to the new improved menu but that slowly the message was getting across. Eventually he sold us on the roast dinner, so we dived in! Lovely. new recipe roast potatoes are to die for, tender beef and loads of extra gravy. yum yum. Anyway, we don't normally do reviews etc... but I felt the wheatsheaf deserved a big thumbs up from me for providing us with a surprising yet wonderful sunday afternoon. well done. Caroline

Date visited: 24th may 09

Review by matthew labourn on 23rd May, 2009

Add your review
We stayed at the wheatsheaf for one night and I cannot stress how wonderful the place is. The staff are so friendly and the place has a great atmosphere. The rooms are of a exceptionally high standard and the food has to be tasted to be believed. I would fully recommend a stay as you won't be dissapointed, this is the perfect place to relax. We are looking forward to our next visit which will definately be longer.

Date visited: april '09

Review by Julie & Danny Robinson on 20th May, 2009

Add your review
Our stay at The Wheatsheaf was brilliant, the atmosphere brought us back down to earth and straight into Chill mode. You can not fail to enjoy the cosy surroundings, with the log fire chatting with friendly locals while enjoying a game of darts or pool. Alternatively spend a quiet evening with a bottle of wine and choice of amazing food on the Restraunt Menu, such a pleasant change to have fresh locally supplied food. The hearty breakfast will certainly set you up for the day. Lisa and Bernard the propriotors are work hard to ensure you are comfortable and nothing is too much trouble.The room was clean and bedding fresh and crisp,plenty of hot water and a lovely shower,relaxing in bed watching the T.V at the end of a busy day was treat too!! So if you are looking for good old fashioned service With Plenty to do and see on your doorstep the Wheatsheaf is the place to stay.

Date visited: 02/05/09

Review by Margaret on 19th May, 2009

Add your review
Not been for a while due to ill health. Was surprised to see the Inn under new management. Food not up to the usual high standard, maybe new kitchen staff as well as new owners...not sure, but something is different.

Date visited: 11 May

Review by leigh on 17th May, 2009

Add your review
i have to say i am very suprised at the the one of the reviews i have just read and felt i had to send in a review myself. firstly i go in to the wheatsheaf regularly with my dog and the new owners as soooooo dog friendly they always take time to stroke my dog, even bring him treats, and i am told have 2 dogs themselves. surely it is common sense that if someone is eating and a business is good enough to let you in with your animal you would use your common sense and not sit on top of diners!! why do some people need to be told surely even us die hard dog lovers understand not everyone else loves dogs and certainly dont want to eat beside them. the pub has gone from frozen burgers to homemade burgers which are talk of the town! need i say more. if the wheatsheaf was no good why could i not get a table last week!

Date visited: may 09

Review by mark senior on 16th May, 2009

Add your review
i have to say i am genuinely suprised at the other review i just read. i regularly go to the wheatsheaf with my dog and have never had a moments bother. the new owners are very dog friendly and have 2 dogs themselves! if people are eating i simply sit a few tables away, its only manners isnt it! not everyone loves our furry friends. the food is as good as if not better than before with the new bar snack menu being an addition not a replacement to the restaurant menu, the homemade burgers are to die for as are the homemade chips. fantastic!! bookings for the restaurant are required more now than ever which say it all doesnt it??!!

Date visited: may 09

Review by Louise on 11th May, 2009

Add your review
My partner & I have been here on many occasions and throughly enjoyed the meals there. However on this occasion the whole menu had changed. All you could get at the bar was burgers, jacket pots or sandwiches. We had fish & chips in the restaurant, they were not as before however.. Hard chips, cold mushy peas & there seemed to be no fish left inside all that batter. What has happened ? food used to be absolutly fantastic there. Very Very dissapointed.

Date visited: 11/05/2009

Review by mr davis on 5th May, 2009

Add your review
have sat in lounge area many times with my small friendly dog to enjoy a drink whilst people have been eating & never had a problem as its a DOG FRIENDLY PUB.But this day was served then asked to take my drink & dog into another room as people were eating ? why have a retaurant if you dont use it.When i rang to complain Mr Flynns attitude was very abrupt & not bothered.Will NEVER return there again.would rather take my custom to a genuine friendly pub who is concerned about customers.

Date visited: 04/05/09

Review by d jones on 22nd March, 2009

Add your review
ive used the wheatsheaf for sunday dinner for the last couple of years, lovely home made big yorkshire puddings, and fresh roast potatoes, but i was disapointed with todays visit, new owners , new chef i think , roast potatoe was solid hard, the yorkshire pudding was so small, and just One tiny one, i will miss going there, the food used to be great , but im afraid i wont go again

Date visited: 22/3/09

Review by john and mary kavanagh on 3rd March, 2009

Add your review
stayed two nights here - very comfy. straight from the guest room to our dinner table. had the welsh black beef t-bone steak...honestly the best steak i have ever had!! mary had the sausage and mash - fantastic! apparantly it is under new ownership...good start, will definately come again.

Date visited: 1/2/09

Review by Gill and Wayne Barton on 24th November, 2008

Add your review
Had a fab fillet steak on Friday night, one of the best I've eva had. The wild boar and pheasant pie wasnt bad either!!! Manageress lovely and the ?owner who let us stop and watch the footy on Saturday afternoon was brill! Have already recommended the place to my sister. Hope to see you again.

Date visited: 22-22/11/08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A mere copier of nature can never produce anything great. - Joshua Reynolds
More Quotes

On this day:
First Ever Use of Tanks in Battle - 1916, Invergordon Mutiny - 1931, Battle of Britain ends - 1940, 1st Edition of the Sun - 1964
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages