Tencreek

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tencreek Holiday Park, Looe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Brian Craker on 10th April, 2012

Add your review
We stayed at Tencreek For a long weekend break 30th March and all had a great time.The evening entertainment for a Family with two young children was spot on,Got Parents as well as the Kids up to join in the fun,We have been too bigger parks and the entertainment in the evening is over for young children very quickly with really chart music being played,Do they not realise that young kids enjoy joining in and having fun with such classics as "Superman","I am the Music Man" and "Big Fish,Little Fish",Also a lovely walk can be had to Looe down the back country lanes,Site was very clean and the staff very friendly,Caravan was also very clean and tidy.Overall a very enjoyable break,can't wait to go back.

Date visited: 30th March 2012

Review by george of the jungle on 8th April, 2012

Add your review
we stayed a full week in a static caravan it was lovely and clean sight was clean we went around the tent section and that was clean until certain people arrived and made the shower block filthy in 6 hours it went from excellent to very bad my friend went to complain and in mins they had someone in cleaning it up. the entertainment was very good for the kids and some of the caberets where very good and we would go again GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

Review by S.Allen on 29th August, 2011

Add your review
We stayed for 2 weeks in a tent with electric hook-up. Positives are the staff are very friendly, especially the entertainment team, shop assistant and reception team. The entertainment team put on a good show and our 3 young children loved the yellow coats, the kids club in the morning is very good to keep them entertained on the rainy mornings! The shower facilities were fairly new and very clean. Negatives were that it was a very noisy site with noise and swearing going on until 2am some nights. It was mainly teenagers causing the noise. The receptionist said that there was a security guard who patrolled the site, but it was hard to catch them, they were hoping to install CCTV to identify the troublemakers and then evict them after one warning. Also the electric pitches are small and you feel very close to the next tent or caravan. The pitches are very close to the roads which is not good if you have small children, there is no space to play ball games outside. We won't be staying there again.

Date visited: 15.08.11

Review by g.molloy on 13th February, 2011

Add your review
booked through national newspaper for 4 nights with our touring caravan-we were already staying in the area so called to see it first,glad we did-it was discusting,dirty-full of mud-abandoned cars on car park, never seen a site as bad as this-the staff were great pity the site didnt live up to the write up in the brochure-we paid in full before we arrived-but we didnt turn up-lets hope they used our money to try and clean it up

Date visited: oct 2010

Review by audrey on 9th November, 2010

Add your review
i went with my mum nd dad nd two sisters and we all really enjoyed it. the entertainment was good as well, the staff were more polite than in usual plce.

Date visited: 23rd October- 1st November

Review by caro on 16th October, 2010

Add your review
WE STAYED IN ONE OF THE STATIC CARAVANS. NEVER AGAIN, IT WAS SMELLY, DIRTY, MOULDIE AND THE STATE OF THE COOKER TOP NEEDED TO BE SEEM TO BE BELIEVED. WE EVEN HAD TO GO UT AND BUY REPLACEMENT PILLOWS. THOUGH THE LINNIN FOR THE BEDS WAS CLEAN.

Date visited: oct 2010

Review by ray steerment on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
Although me and my partner only had two nights camping at tencreek we had a lovely time. we met some nice people there. the staff were all friendly and willing to help. the food from the diner was of good portion size and good value for money. i felt the bar prices a little high but that is to be expected in this economical climate. the toilets and shower blocks were very clean and fresh (unlike some i have used sedgmoor services.) i am looking forward to next year as i will certainly be booking a caravan at tencreek but for a weeks stay this time.

Date visited: 15/9/10-17/9/10

Review by iain webster on 30th August, 2010

Add your review
tencreek is a decent enough site! we stayed with two young girls aged 4 and 6. all i can say is they had a whale of a time! entertainment was great for the little ones. bar prices were reasonable for alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks! food wasnt expensive either. the onsite corner shop was a little on the steep side but we used a supermarket 15mins up the road. both pools were fine as was the outside play area. the caravan (basic sunseeker) was clean and tidy, everything was in full working order. microwave, oven, hob, shower and tv with freeview was all spot on. access to the site via a single track road is a little narrow with little ones but nothing to spoil your stay! looe and polperro are lovely places to visit and have great bars and restaurants. out and about there is so much to see and do with most big attractions easily reachable within a 1hr drive! i cant for the life in me understand why this place is given a few bad reviews??? if you want butlins then go there and pay there prices! if you want a good site with decent facilities then tencreek it is!!!

Date visited: 21st - 28th august 2010

Review by D Jones on 8th August, 2010

Add your review
This is a small camp, with facilities sized accordingly. So, don't expect a Butlins! Good Points: Caravan (number 61) was clean & everything worked. A sea view. Kids liked Deano the Dolphin time (to be fair, they'd have liked Sammy The Quid or Peter The Plankton - Deano is a fairly generic, non-speaking mascot thing really). Looe is a nice place with plenty to do. I'd recommend a glass-bottom boat trip to the island. Not much over an hour away from Tintagel castle, which is a truly spectacular destination (I'd pick a sunny day for this though!). The National Maritime Museum is roughly the same distance away and worth a day out. Bad Points: Arcade area in the club is too small. The swimming pool is small - they have "adult swim" times set aside because at other times it's too full to actually swim. Some of the evening entertainment is a bit cringeworthy. The one where the entertainment team do "Songs of the Decades" and generally slaughter various tunes is particularly awful. Bingo is pushed more to the centre stage here than at other camps we've visited. Outside of Looe and Polperro (which is grim in the rain BTW) you need to drive a fair distance for really outstanding days out. Neither Good or Bad Points: Main presenter bloke, "Yo" Craig, is ok-ish, despite the terrible name. I say ok-ish because for a person spending much of his time talking to kids he doesn't actually seem to like them. Every night he was making fun of kids who came up on stage to receive prizes, "ooh look at meee, I'm aaaaiiiimmmmeeee, I'm on staaagee!" etc. Sort of funny for adults but he must get the odd one bursting into tears - was wondering how he'd handle that. Buy cordial rather than straight lemonade etc for the kids in the club - the latter is too pricey.

Date visited: 31st July 2010

Review by phil. wales on 1st July, 2010

Add your review
stayed at tencreek 12 june 2010,with my 20yr old son.reception staff good and polite. we booked and paid for a sunseeker and put into a arizona caravan,(dont know if there is a differance). good points: staff polite,helpful. club house-bar ok. bad points: narrow lane too site. caravan old. gas cooker not working properly. microwave rusted inside. cobwebs. one door difficult to open. prices in shop,high. dinner prices very high. nice enough to use as a base, if you have a car,dangerous if you have small children walking down the narrow lane too the main road.found the prices a tad high allround,but can be expected, it is holiday season. dont get me wrong,ideal for families with small children and large wallets. as for going again,not for us.

Date visited: 12th june 2010

Review by Ted on 11th June, 2010

Add your review
I went to Tencreek at Whitsun and had a great time!! I chatted to the receptionist(very friendly and helpful) at the site who said she was fed up with poor reviews when she knew most customers were happy Im a happy camper and can tell you Tencreek is a great site which I will be going back. All the customers I spoke to seemed satisfied Club and entertainment -- good Indoor Pool good Old caravans-- cheap New Caravans-- good New Toilet Block-- good Shop--well stocked -- dear Location-Location-Location-- Best

Date visited: 29 May 2010

Review by Lynnette Field on 17th May, 2010

Add your review
We were allocated this park as part of a cheap newspaper holiday deal. After reading the reviews by other people saying how awful it was we were dreading going and even considered cancelling. However, when we arrived we were really pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, and yes some of the caravans are dated but no more so than any other park we have stayed at, our caravan was very clean and had lovely views of the sea and countryside. We only really went to the kids entertainment with our 5 year old and it was fine for him and all the other kids seemed to enjoy it. We didn't eat at the diner so cannot comment on that. The swimming pool was great, my only grumble is that the changing rooms were so small I couldn't get my pushchair in and there wasn't a baby changing room, apart from that it was fine. The whole site seems well attended and tidy and it looks like there is a new shower block going up for campers. All in all, we had a good time and my son wants to go back!

Date visited: 14 May 2010

Review by michael perry on 20th February, 2010

Add your review
THANEveryone has their opinion,the reviews i read were mostly right apart from some bits and bobs.The site needs upgrading, which they are trying to do.MAIN concern is the HYGEINE of DINO'S DINER. I would only recommened the chips, after seeing how everything else was cooked.We were in number 28 caravan, clean but a bit tatty,ok as a base. Entertainment typical holiday stuff,not complaining about that ,BUT the entertainer himself Drinking while working with kids!!!. I know it was out of season, but still expected all facilities to be open. Prices as normal at sites whereever you go.Staff not to friendly. First impression of the site was OMG. The Plus side was that they do go around the site trying to clean up, and the club house is a good size. HIGH season, how Dinos Diner copes i do not know. Spoke to a few people on site, said more or less the same. BUT BUT they paid 150+, glad i was not one of them!! AGAIN my opinion, AND i will not be going again. ALREADY booked for SANDYMOUTH HOLIDAY PARK, near Bude for August.

Date visited: 15/2/2010 to19/2/2010

Review by Kerry on 4th November, 2009

Add your review
we have stayed at tencreek for a few years now. It is a good walking distance to looe (down the back road) for adults and we use it as a base. we went in the club once or twice but it was very spartan and not our cup of tea. The site is shabby and dated but they are upgrading bit by bit. The sunseeker vans are terrible, scruffy, uncomfortable and dated. we complain every time that budget should not mean shabby but they stay the same. In May our van was awful, it was dirty, and really tatty. I complained but was told there were no more empty.we went home early and I complained to Hoseasons and they upgraded us for september. This was slightly better but still far short of the standard you get on other nearby sites such as trelawne and seaview. We have had enough of it now and wouldnt stay again.love the location, hate the caravans oh and the touring site whcih seems to fill up with rough families for the weekend who let their kids run riot.

Date visited: May and September 2009

Review by Vicky on 11th October, 2009

Add your review
My partner, my 2 year old daughter and I stopped at this site for 2 weeks... when we arrived in our static caravan my heart dropped as weve stayed in other caravan sites this was the worst looking one weve stayed in. It smelt of damp as soon as you walked in. my daughter sleeps in a travel cot so we had to move a bed in one of the rooms and underneath it was a glass of orange juice and worst of all MOLD! our double room also smelt quite moldy but as the holiday went on i dont know whether it hadnt been stopped in a while or i got used to the smell over 2 weeks but it werent to bad in the end. i went to the desk and told them and the lady was very helpful and came and scrubbed the carpet mold free. i dont know whether they let animals into the caravans but ours smelt of wet dog and as im not a doggy person found it quite unpleasant. the grass was well cut because we saw them cut the grass 3 times in 3 days yet i thought instead of mowing the grass again they could of done something useful like clean the windows on the outside as they were filthy! the pool wasnt to bad slightly dirty, there was a young lad as a life guard and they do state as you go in that it isnt a lifeguard on at all times :-s the entertainment werent to bad infact there was a band called opium and they were fantastic! i was quite dissapointed one night as the only night we took our daughter to the childrens entertainment they didnt do it because there was only 4 children yet the night before i recalled talking to a gentleman about his grand-daughter quite enjoying the entertainment and laughing sayin there was only 2 kids there... hmmm something went wrong i guess?!? the food from the diner was errr.. ok i guess i recommend the chips coz u get loads lol but you cant really go wrong with them can you?, i saw one of the "chefs" wipe something up with his finger and lick it, must of been really yummy! on a positive note i would recommend this site (take ur own cleaning products) but not so much with buggys or wheelchairs unless ur willing to drive a mile to Looe, the walk down there is very steep in places, we walked down with the buggy a few times but got a taxi back which was about 6. Looe and surrounding places were absolutely beautiful! we went to a theme park for children called cornwall crealy which was absolutely fantastic and made our holiday! Looe is a beautiful place and I feel like its got a little place in my heart it was so lovely and had a very very clean beach not like the one near us (blackpool) I could go on and on about this place I hope it wouldnt put people off but its best to know what to expect i didnt mention that we went with my mother in law and her partner and their caravan had absolutely nothing wrong with it. enjoy your holiday happy campers :-)

Date visited: sept/oct 2009

Review by andrea on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
we always stay in Looe when we go to cornwall and on a previous visit we drove onto the site and turned straight back out. However it was a last minute decision this year and this site was the only one we could get availability. We arrived on site after a tiringly long journey being parked on the M5 for some 3 hours and reported to reception. we were allocated caravan No 60, to our suprise there was not a toilet roll left in the toilet as we have had on previous sites, after such an horrendous journey i would have thought this could have been supplied. We have two golden retrievers and this van could have pets in it. The caravan is directly opposite the play area for the children,i know that kids have a right to play but the noise went on from 7.30am till 10.00pm every day and balls were kicked against the caravan on a regular basis, there was just enough room between the caravan for the car, the shower area was cramped, the plug hole was blocked and on the first morning the shower filled up and allowed the soap scum from the drain back into the shower tray, the shower leaked and made all the main bedroom damp and the clothes in the wardrobe damp, the gas cooker is a joke only 3 rings on the hob worked, the grill took 1 hour to cook anything, the windows had so much space around them it was pointless locking them which in turn caused damp on the evenings with the sea air, the cushions of the seating areas were damp. As we have 2 dogs we take our own portable vaccuum with us and on the first morning we vacuumed and got the dirt off the carpet that was meant to have been done by the cleaners, every pot and pan and utensil in the caravan was greasy and needed cleaning prior to use. the fridge did not seal and defrosted daily. the bedroom carpet had so much dog hair on from previous occupants that you could not tell whether it was meant to be pink or black carpet. i actually scrapped some of the hair off the carpet as it made me feel riffy to use the room. on our last day we witnessed the cleaners in action, they were lads of 15/16 doing a saturday job so their standard of cleanliness was not upto scratch and they were not bothered whether the vans were clean or not. The site shop was very expensive, i wanted a single black bag and was told i could only by a roll which would cost me 1.50 for 8 bags, Deano's the diner is over priced, a jacket potatoe with cheese is 4.50, BUT you cannot buy potatoes in the shop as they do not sell them. The touring area is a joke it is so cramped it is dangerous, if there was ever a fire the whole side of the touring vans would go up in flames. We were lucky we had a car and was able to get off the site, the holiday was wrecked due to the constant noise and the caravan was a disgrace and for a price of over 500 for a week i think it should be a better standard. If anyone asked me to go back here free of charge i would refuse and if anyone has any sense they will reconsider their booking there are far better sites within 2 miles of this site and would advise they go there.

Date visited: 3rd August 2009

Review by jemma on 17th July, 2009

Add your review
awful to be avoided at all costs we went for one week and left 3 days earlt the caraven was disgusting the oven did not work the shower head broke whilst i was in shower the seating area looked like someone has pi***d all over and it had not been cleaned when we went to bed rooms there was one double cover for main room there were no sheets or cases for bedding and as we got there 10 mins after reception shut we had to freeze till reception opened the next day. the pool was shut and the entertainment was awful the games room was not for children only big slot machines which all did not work. also we had tea at the cafe on site which was ridiculously over priced and food tasted awful we hated it and will never go back the worst holiday we have ever had

Date visited: 11.07.2009

Review by gem and ryan on 5th January, 2009

Add your review
Overall not good. we travelled 250miles and would definatly not go again, we had a very old shabby caravan which we weren't expecting with paper thin walls, creaky floors, it was very poorly cleaned before we arrived. there was a cramped dirty shower and toilet which we dreaded using. its a very run down and dated site, with outdated entertainment and old broken arcade machines, out of about the 10 machines on site only 6 worked. there were abandoned cars on bricks in the carpark, mouldy, green, filthy, unusable pool. the onsite convience store was ridiculously overpriced which is probably due to the fact its the nearest accesible store for about a mile. i went on their website before going and its as farway from that as imagniably possible. overall very depressing, avoid this place

Date visited: august 2008

Review by A H on 12th November, 2008

Add your review
We have never used the touring/camping part of this site but the site also has a substantial stock of static caravans for hire and we have now visited three times. Many of the vans are older but stock is being replaced and on our latest visit we hired a 2008 model and it is perfect. Some of the older vans are naturally showing their age but have always been very clean and presentable when we have hired one. We have only needed to report one problem to reception (an accident on our part) and it was rectified immediately. The site shop is well stocked, has good opening hours and is not extortionate with it's prices. We have always found the site staff very friendly. The clubhouse is a holiday park clubhouse and whilst that's not our thing the entertainment always looks substantial and equals many of the larger park chains.

Date visited: 08th Nov 2008

Review by Lucy on 18th August, 2008

Add your review
worst campsite we've ever been to, flooded pitch no drainage, only shower inclean best avoided. left early, was book for two week last 4 days. had shower in van, entertainment shocking. kids on motor bikes, didn't let mine out of the van. tatty vans left all year round. abbandon cars on carpark, dirty cold pool list goes on!!!!

Date visited: 2/8/08

Review by K on 26th March, 2006

Add your review
Site appeared very nice on arrival. We were there for a weekend, every day there was fresh dogs mess on our pitch! Very dangerous for children. Also the bin in the ladies toilets wasn't emptied from the Friday until the Monday. The shower block is not heated so best to avoid the shower! The site charges the same prices as others that are open at this time of year so there really is no excuse for such poor standards.

Date visited: 12/3/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is only the dull who like practical jokes - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages