It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Coopers Camp & Caravan Park, Edale

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by karen race on 31st January, 2011

Add your review
Nice clean site, owner was friendly and helpful. Great location right on the start of the pennine way. 15 century pub just across the road was a bit pricy but well worth a visit.

Date visited: feb 2011

Review by sarah on 4th October, 2008

Add your review
coopers is a great caravan site with a seperate camping field it has electric huckup and bathrooms hotwater and plate washing area and a cafe on the doorstep a post office and it isn't that far away from a family pub which has animals like goats chickens.But most of all it was a good laugh for all the family i definatley will go again

Review by M A S on 23rd July, 2008

Add your review
I've stayed at this site pretty much every year since 1996 but I still wouldn't recommend it for anyone. The toilets and showers haven't changed in the since I first visited - not a lick of paint, nothing in all those years. Water dribbles out of the showers while you stand on the exposed concrete floor and stare at the chronically unhealthy looking tiles - if you go there it is preferable to stay dirty. The prices get more and more expensive each time I go and you are forced to pay an up front deposit. It is now getting to the stage where for a few pounds more you could have a night in a b&b. As mentioned in other reviews, the owners are two of the most miserable, unfriendly and down right nasty people you're likely to come across. Despite my repeated visits they still insist on reading the riot act to you before they allow you on their steeply shelving patch of grass. They genuinely seem believe they are really doing you a favour and putting themselves out by allowing you in. Frankly it's just not worth it. So why do I go. I have no idea really Ė I guess Iím just an idiot. The surroundings are undeniably beautiful. There are plenty of walks and there are two slightly rubbish pubs Ė The Nags head is unfriendly (surprising considering it clearly wouldnít continue to trade without tourists) and serves some of the worst food I ever had the misfortune to taste. (Why in the middle of all those farms they canít put a decent roast on I have no idea. They seem to think itís better to server ready battered frozen fish!) The other pub The Rambler was even more unfriendly but has vastly improved in the past couple of years and you can even eat the food in there now (itís not great but us much better than the Nags) All in all: Go to one of the other campsites in the area. There are plenty of them and youíll enjoy it more than Coopers. I will be doing in the future.

Date visited: Yearly since 96

Review by Catt Leadbeater on 1st June, 2008

Add your review
Look ok!! you are the kind of people that shouldn't go camping wen you would much prefer to be in a hotel in ibiza! i have visited Coopers many a time and have thouroghly enjoyed my stay! the whole piont of camping is to get out of your normal cushy lifestyle and have an experience!! the showers do work and so what you have to pay for them camping is much cheaper then your ensuite hotel room so dont complain!! the toilet roll might be a bit hard compared to andrex but it is all budgetted!!! Coopers is a working farm and although they reap in the profets it gets used in the farm, the cafe or the on-site post office!! i have been to lots of campsites in my shoret lifetime and i am appauled to see the reviews about this only two other campsites i have visited are better than Coopers and i have visited alot in my short life!! So take it from me a 16 year old urban Girl who can't live without straightners i managed it so why can't you adults!!! you paid for what you got!!!

Review by Paul McLaughlin on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
Yes it was Aug bank holiday weeke end, yes it was busy, but the place is a health hazard, the toilets/showers are disgusting, many did not work and according to my partner the womens were even worse. Drinking water pipes were surrounded by nettles, with the money thet took just over this weekend the facilities could be improved dramatically. Wont be back

Date visited: 24 Aug until 27 Aug 2007

Review by Raffle on 8th May, 2007

Add your review
As a first time camper and having read many bad reviews regarding this campsite I was expecting the worst. However my family, friends and I were plesantly surprised. Although the shower facilities are old and in need of an update the place was fine. Superb location for walking and for a visit to the pub. The campsite was split so all families were put into one field. The charges were for the tent pitch, per night and not per head. We had a baby with us and he was fine. Would definately recommend and go back myself. Had a great time.

Date visited: 4 - 7 May 2007

Review by dustie on 11th August, 2006

Add your review
I WILL NEVER RETURN to this campsite. It was my second visit and the first was a long time ago. I thought it was useful to camp near to a shop and telephone because i have a 13th month old baby with me, however the owner Mrs X charged my baby adult price to camp!!! I asked why this charge and she replied that my child would be using the facilities. When i arrived my baby was asleep and by the time it took for the three owners to finish their conversation and acknowledge me, she had woken up and started to cry, and so i paid the asking price for 2 adults!!! Later a couple and their 1yr old camped next door to me and paid half price for their baby. On pointing this out to the woman she replied "they are a family and gave me a lecture on VAT". Babies dont pay on trains, in hotels, B+B's etc so i dont expect my baby to pay some rundown campsites VAT.

Date visited: 9/10/11 August 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Love in all eight tones and all five semitones of the word's full octave. - Stephen Fry
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages