It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Portnadoran Caravan Site, Arisaig

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr G Robb on 18th January, 2013

Add your review
you can please some of the people some of the time but you cant please all of the people all of the time. Ive been going to one of the best places in west of scotland for a long time and I promised to take my grand daughter here as I took her mum when she was a wee lassie. I can only tell you that its a great site and I am only sorry I never re-booked. The sunset is spectacular but if you dont believe me look on you tube arisaig 2007 or 2009 and watch the sunset. make sure you go to MORAR beach the best ever.

Date visited: june 1978 onwards

Review by danny girl on 22nd September, 2012

Add your review
Had booked a caravan on here for a week but husbands health was not good so let daughter use it and I booked a lodge nearby. When went to visit daughter I was asked if I was going to visit her every day!!!We were trying to give my husband a good holiday as we knew he was very ill. He died a week after returning home but can't understand why the owner had an attitude problem with us all trying to be together. We used to go to this site years ago when her mother and father run the site hence we were trying to recreate the memories he held so dear.

Date visited: 14th July 2012

Review by Cammy on 16th September, 2012

Add your review
Been going to Portnadoran on and off since I was a toddler, Our family knew the family who run the site. Went back this year and was shocked at how i was treated by the owner now. The owner needs a course in customer care. Was so looking forward to the holiday. Going somewhere else next year.

Date visited: July 2012

Review by russell betty cameron on 23rd July, 2011

Add your review
where do i start,drive from falkirk to arisaig stunning all the way,campsite out of this world,the welcome great choice of 3pitches for our van,then came the awning,first 10mins not to good as had not put one up before,then came the neighbours 15mins later awning up and having a beer with them brill.everyone i spoke to on site was the same most had been coming for years.now for the beach its awesome spoiled for choice as there are so many,fishing, kyaking,sailing,its there to do if you want.me and the wife just chilled out for the week,a few walks a few beers a nice bottle of red,came home refreshed.oh and the sunsets not to be missed.will be back soon. thanks again for a great week. Russell Betty

Date visited: 17th to 23rd july 2011

Review by Sandy Edwards on 30th June, 2011

Add your review
We love the west coast of Scotland and, ever since we discovered this site, have stayed nowhere else when we are there. We miss it, having holidayed in Wales for the past two years, so will be travelling on from Wales for yet another stay. Unfortunately, we haven't been back since Alistair passed away, but I am sure his family will be just as welcoming. The views are stunning and even the children have no need for TV or technology.

Date visited: Multiple

Review by A Robertson on 1st March, 2011

Add your review
Very friendly and layed back welcome, not only from the owners but from other people on the site. Very clean toilet block and washing facilites great especially when you have small kids. We stayed in a static which was very comfortable and clean, Ideal location for kids as beach is a minutes walk and when tide is out you are able to walk over to other beaches. Our experience was majical. Recoommend this to young families.

Date visited: september 2010

Review by Roland Marchal on 19th September, 2009

Add your review
We arrived with our tent in early evening and were directed where to pitch by a no nonesense lady. We had our dog with us and the next day we realised that we had picked the perfect place to stay. Fabulous beaches, dog friendly and universally friendly people in caravans, motor homes and tents. Chickens and a lame duck wander about the site stealing the dogs food and anything else edible which is left for more than 30 seconds. There is a superb pub just up the road (dog friendly) which serves superior dinners and the metropolis of Mallaig is a mere 15 minutes drive along the most stunning coastal road. The only minus is that the showers cost 50p a throw and for that you get about 2 minutes hot water. Double the hot water time and the place will be perfect.

Date visited: 9th Sept 2009

Review by Stephen on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
The owners couldn't be more helpful and the location second to none. The view is the best in the west especially the glorious sunsets. Set on a working farm with hens,ducks,horses and all on the most fab beach. Informal, dog friendly and relaxed it attracts like minded people. The owners run a tight ship and don't take any bad behaviour. Chills you down straight away!

Date visited: July 2009

Review by steve and sue on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
great stay made very welcome by e&a lovely site lovely people the best place ever .can,t wait to go back in september exceptional facility,s and pitches all with sea views magic!!!!!! p.s hope dogs r well take time out ! sit down have tea on your new chair ????? hope golf is improveing c u soon x

Date visited: 19 may 2009

Review by Myles Vanessa and Anna on 28th May, 2009

Add your review
We're one week in and plan staying another. Site is popular but pitches spacious and no feeling of overcrowding. Owners extremely helpful even offered to help out with our awning! Site is pretty flat, grassy, hook ups and nice access to safe beaches, easy kayak launching. Been to arisaig area last 13 years. This is by far the friendliest place. Easy 20 minute walk to restaurant/bar. Book to be certain. Has laundry and shower block. Recommended!

Date visited: 23 may 09

Review by Elizabeth Brierley on 10th May, 2009

Add your review
Best place in the world for friendliness of the family who run this site and also people of Arisaig and its wonderful scenery.

Date visited: 1961-2002

Review by barbara roberts on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
i have been going to this caravan site since i was about one..the views and the beaches have got to be the best in the world EVER!

Date visited: since 1967

Review by robin collins on 13th July, 2008

Add your review
A very friendly welcome.Fantastic situation sea views to Skye. Well maintained site in excellent condition. Great sandy beaches for kids plenty of space to play and rocks to climb.Best food out Tea Garden in Mallaig. I am looking forward to my next visit

Date visited: july 2008

Review by Deborah on 27th June, 2008

Add your review
If your seeking a great welcome and stunning surroundings then there is simply nowhere to beat Portnadoren. Having been fortunate enough to spend a month here I cannot rate it highly enough. We have met fantastic people, heard even more fantastic local stories and seen more wildlife than Bill Oddie has dreamed of. Otters, Whales and Dolphins abound, (you don't even need to leave the camp site to see the otters!)We caught fish from our sit on top and sat eating it watching the most fantastic sunsets. thanks to everyone who made our time there so special! PS ask Ernie for golf tips!

Date visited: 6th May 08- 10th June 08

Review by caroline on 4th June, 2008

Add your review
I would definitely recommend this site to any one who loves a beautiful setting and a relaxing holiday. I first visited 26yrs ago ( when I was a baby) and then all through my pre teens and teens. We all loved it and were lucky to always have a caravan "on the rocks" I have some brilliant memories from my childhood that Greece and Spain haven't managed to overshadow.

Review by Samantha on 17th May, 2008

Add your review
Portnadoran is the place to be beside the sea lol Been going up every year for about 10years. And love it. Met some fab people, hav a laugh, great new friends.....and we all cant wait to go bak in the summer....and thers always tears wen we have to go home. Its definatly worth it!!! Wouldnt go anywhere else!!! xxx

Review by Phil & family on 12th September, 2007

Add your review
Fantastic setting, wonderful safe, soft white sand beaches 20feet from the pitch, fishing, canoing & indeed sea otters if you sit still & dont scare them. £9 night is great value for a pitch. Great walks & cycle runs locally, boat trips etc. Sheep & chickens about to entertain kids. Downside - 10 amp electric split to serve 2 pitches so it just trips out all the time. Loos ok but showers are a DIY nightmare - held together with string & they just dont work. If your in a tent there is only 1 dish wash facility but it did have hot water - there is a plug so take a kettle & charge your phone at the same time. Just our bad luck that for the few days there we were in low cloud!!!!!!!!

Date visited: Aug 2007

Review by Rachael on 2nd June, 2007

Add your review
I have been up at this caravan site for the past week and everytime i come to go home i just cry!! i have been going to this part of scotland for the past 9 years and i only ever go to portnadoran because of portnadoran my husband and i are looking into moving to the western highlands of scotland. we go to portnadoran twice a year every year and we love it with a passion it beats anywhere else on earth and i truly truly mean that!!

Date visited: 26th may 2007

Review by Paul Gregory on 30th March, 2007

Add your review
If you love pubs, clubs, noise, or yobs then this is not the place for you. However, if do do love a family friendly environment, breathtaking views, and a cost effective holiday where the whole family can enjoy, then Portnadorn is for you! Well recommended! See you there! Please bring a few bottles of vino as you will meet a whole group of new friends who will welcome you to Portnadorn - all of which are there to enjoy the pleasures that only Arisaig can offer!

Date visited: 01/08/07

Review by Danielle on 8th February, 2007

Add your review
We have being going to Portnadoran since 1998 and love it. We have made friends for life who also go up every year. My parents got married there and in 2006 our friends who we met there in 2000 also got married there. Also the facilities are limited they are fine and just to clarify the washing machine is not in the female shower block but behind it.

Date visited: 1998-present

Review by Linda Griffiths on 4th September, 2006

Add your review
We fell in love with the location. Stunning views across to the Isles Eig and Rum and easy access to beautiful beaches. Fantastic walking area with stunning scenery. Farmyard animals and fowl nearby keeps the family entertained at all hours! The pitches are well sited for tent and caravan, showers and ablutions basic but adequate. It's worth the slight inconvenience of the outdated facilities to enjoy the wonderful location at £8 - £10 per night. We will be regular visitors.

Date visited: 23rd August 06

Review by Denis Leclercq on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
Beautifully situated with silver sands and views of the iles.However,the most neglected sanitary block of all the camp sites I visited!!!I paid £8 plus £1 for a cold shower!!!!(hot in the ladies apparently!).Also,the washing machine/tumble drier was in the ladies block.

Date visited: July 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Oh the nerves, the nerves; the mysteries of this machine called man! Oh the little that unhinges it, poor creatures that we are! - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
William Wallace is hanged, drawn and quartered - 1305, LDV becomes Home Guard - 1940, Freckleton Tragedy - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages