Gurnard

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Gurnard Pines Holiday Park, Cowes

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by emma on 6th March, 2011

Add your review
I had my daughters birthday party at monkey mansion today 6th of march 2011 I was not impressed with the service that we recieved in the canteen the 2 girls who were working were both clueless about what there job and abrubt and rude and I had to clear away the plates ask for the childrens party juice 3 times before it came.and they didnt even ask they didnt once ask if everything was ok! the pudding (ice lollies) were given out when half the children had left to be honest the whole party was very disorganised.... I also got a sandwich for my partner which was over priced didnt come with the salad it was meant to come with when we asked the staff they said that was all they had again very rude!I had previously been to parties which were much nicer and much and more oranised than my daughters one! I have been a waitress in the past and and know what the job entails.... I think it is something you should be aware of.

Date visited: 06/06/11

Review by Mr hip on 22nd August, 2010

Add your review
After visiting this site for many years in the past, I must say that since it's take over a few years ago it has hit rock bottom. The accommodation is o.k but the site !!! There's only about three members of staff, they give the impression that there on min wage as they seem to do the very least possible. The outdoor play area was no better than something you can pick up from toys r us The indoor play area was great for the kids but very little to occupy the parents meanwhile. The pools are fine weather permitting and if it not filled to capacity. No evening bar, no evening entermainment , no arcade machines no local shop no laundrette no restaurant unless you like badly made homemade pizza or baguettes and at 26 for two drinks and two baguettes this is a little steep even for over priced holiday food. Would I go again obviously NO My kids were completely bored stiff and we spent a fortune finding alternative things for them to do including day pass's at other sites The worst site on the island without a shadow of a doubt

Date visited: aug 2010

Review by Claire Tooze on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
On arrival we were concerned that the place looked a bit run down (unlike the wedding and conference centre it is advertised to be!). We were however pleasantly surprised by our very large bunaglow, which even had an ensuite, full size freezer and fridge, and a dishwasher! However, apart from one restaurant (which mainly did Pizza) and a swimming pool there wasn't anything else we could do.... our 18 month old was too young for the indoor and outdoor play areas too, with no suitable swings/play things (the toddler swings had been removed) for the really little ones, we obviously couldn't play tennis, and the nature walk was very overgrown. Saying that though it was a nice and peaceful base for a holiday, with lots of wildlife, but not enough to keep you at the holiday park itself for too long.

Date visited: 19th April 2010

Review by Simon Giles on 14th April, 2010

Add your review
You know when you have a place you just keep going back too because you like it so much? Well The greenwood Tree in Lyndhurst is just that. For a few years now, on birthdays, anniversaries, mothers day.... in fact any day we want to good breakfast, we head out to Lyndhurst and visit the greenwood tree. The menu is good and uncomplicated, they cater for little ones sizes, you can adapt their set breakfasts to your liking (no tomato, toast instead of fried bread etc)and its all delivered by friendly staff in a pleasant atmosphere. If you are in the area and feeling a little peckish, visit The greenwood Tree. I have many times and I know you'll love it. They even have a loyalty card system. Get your card stamped to earn free beverages.

Date visited: Too numerous to pick a date

Review by Liz Convey on 2nd December, 2009

Add your review
We visited Gurnard Pines back in August and although we had a wonderful but restriced time on the Isle of Wight our stay was marred by an incident at the Park. My daughter 6 year old daughter was climbing on the rock wall and one of the grips was not properly secured and she fell around 10ft to the ground resulting in a undisclosed frature her elbow. This resulted in having to rethink our whole holiday as she was not allowed to move her arm at all. I wrote to the park afterwards and I got a standard reply back that they check the equipment (which they obviously hadnt)and it was reported in the accident book (which I was not asked to sign - so I have to take their word for it. The aftercare was appalling - no one from the site at all during our stay came to speak to us about the incident or even slip a note under our cabin door to enquire whether she was OK and they even suggested we stay at the park again. It is now December and my daughter is still suffering the after effects of the fall.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by L Jones on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
This was our first visit to Gurnard Pines and we thought it was excellent. We were hoping it would be more Center Parcs than Butlins and it was. The accommodation was more spacious than expected and had everything we needed. The fact that you could park right outside your bungalow was lovely and much better than the parking situation at Center Parcs. We were very impressed with the swimming pools. Due to the weather we didn't use the outside one much but it would have been perfect had it been warmer. The ladies changing room was like in a top hotel's but I hear the men's is not the same! The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our 5 year old daughter was impressed with both the outside and inside play areas and found lots of children to play with. We would really recommend it for families with children of a similar age. We plan to visit again soon.

Date visited: 18 July 2009

Review by Pamela Thompson on 12th July, 2009

Add your review
We visited Gurnard Pines for the 11th time last week, the previous visit being 3 years ago. Since our first visit 19 years ago we have seen many changes but the changes we saw this year were all negative. The cafe now shuts at 9 pm and is the only place you can buy bread and milk (at extortionate prices) and a newspaper (if they have any left). It is also the only place on the site that you can buy alcoholic drinks. (They do have a small cosy bar but it was not open to holiday makers). There is no longer a club with entertainment, or hairdresser or general store, or restaurant. The only improvement was the ladies changing room for the indoor swimming pool, which has been beautifully modernised. For Islanders this place is great for keeping fit but for holiday makers they show little effort in making your stay a welcome one. The cleanliness of the accommodation has also deteriorated. We will not be paying any more visits to Gurnard Pines, which is sad after so long.

Date visited: 4 July 2009

Review by moggymoggytigger on 20th May, 2009

Add your review
Visited earlier this year and loved it, thought the site with in an excellent condition, staff could have been slightly friendlier having said that we did arrive 11pm. The accomodation was amazing, we had only booked for a 2 bed place but when we arrived we were given 3 bed accomodation, was really happy about this, the kitchen was well kitted out and the lounge area nice too, everything had been well cleaned. Only negative side is the site I would say really isn't for children, I went with a fellow group of adults but there just didn't seem enough to amuse kids for any period of time. Side note, the tiger sanctuary down there is amazing and really reasonable too, a great visit for the day and it's right on the beachfront so afterwards there is a lovely walk down to the pier.

Date visited: 27/02/2009

Review by Sara Edden on 17th May, 2009

Add your review
I booked to visit Gurnard Pines with the Sun newspaper Holiday Offer this year. We are frequent visitors to the island and we have always stayed at the Park Resorts sites. This year I was pleased to see that Gurnard Pines was an option as I have heard that this site would be more to my holiday expectations. I stayed with my 8 year old son and we found it a refreshing change, the accomodation was superb for us, great for the two of us, easy parking outside and a good base to visit the rest of the island. We were slightly disappointed by the bar etc closing at 9 but this also meant that there were no drunks screaming and yelling as they passed your accomodation. Having looked at the prices to stay at this lovely site for later this year it really does compare well against Park Resorts because of not having to pay for the evening entertainment ( which in general is rubbish anyway). I would think that in the Summer there would be a definate advantage to extending the bar and cafe hours to 11. The food in the Brasserie was lovely but the menu was really limited,this does encourage you to leave the site and visit the local pubs etc which are great! All the staff were lovely and very personable and as helpful as they could be, however the site was not that busy. Another improvement could be the childrens play area as this was OK but not much variety, we didn't see many other children around as it was school term time. We enjoyed our time spent at the pool, the changing facilities are sublime! I will definately be booking with them again !

Date visited: 11.05.09

Review by Alethea Martin on 28th April, 2009

Add your review
Very pleased with accommodation and definitely would recommend. The information sent at time of booking (and repeated before travel) clearly said that there is only laid back eve entertainment in peak season. It told you to bring a torch and that kids/adult daytime activities could be booked (some have additional cost, our accommodation was with The Sun holiday offer, first time for Gurnard Pines). I received a text on mobile at 12.00 noon to say our log cabin was ready, and it was clean and very spacious. Lots of space between log cabins. I think people were there for relaxing time and day trips out as I noticed everyone had turned their lights out by 11pm in the three nights we stayed. Showers in swimming pool fantastic! Think they're called 'rainforest' showers, cleanest I've ever seen. And the staff WERE friendly! Lovely lady on reception, smiley and accommodating young girl in brasserie. The pizzas in brasserie traditional Italian and not too overpriced for the quality. Gym and spinning classes are used by locals so of quality to attract others in. We tend to go to different places each year but I would happily have another holiday here.

Date visited: 24 April 2009

Review by Jennifer on 28th December, 2008

Add your review
I stayed here in August for our first visit to the Isle of Wight. We came in Cowes Week and found it to be close enough to the town to get in easily but just that little bit out to make sure that didn't get inconvenienced by traffic. The accommodation was really clean and spacious, very surprising as most places we have been to the accommodation doesn't look as good as it does in all the marketing, here it was better than it looked. The facilities on the park were adequate but seemed to focus on being a base to explore the island. We got free use of the leisure club which had a really good indoor and outdoor pool, and a nice cafe. There was also a creche and play area but we didn't use them. The park is in a really pretty setting with lots of rabbits and squirrels running about. The one comment was that some of the roads looked like they needed resurfacing. It perhaps would have been better to have more for kids to do in the day but then again it did feel really safe and relaxed, not like some holiday parks that are full of topless men swilling beer and screaming mothers. We thought it was really good value and would go back again.

Date visited: August 2008

Review by A.J Toogood on 4th November, 2008

Add your review
Having been holidaying all across Britain for more than 30 years we found this site to be the worst we have ever visited. On our arrival we found the roads in a dangerous state of disrepair and poor or no lighting. The staff, were often rude and unhelpful with the exception of one lady in reception. The Monkey Mansion was unsupervised. There was no evening entertainment on site which was a surprise. Whilst the accommodation was ok, there were no laundry facilities either in the chalet or in the complex. Whilst the accommodation was self catering we found there was nowhere to buy food onsite except the inadequate Brassiere. Our friends and I will not be visiting again.

Date visited: Sept 2008

Review by Sarah on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
The accommodation was clean and better than expected. The facilities were in the process of being updated, and it all looked great. But there is no atmosphere. The staff were more interested in serving off duty staff, and chatting. The food in the brasserie was great, but the service was v v poor. We only ate once, but had a drink every evening only for an hour or so, as there are often so few people there you felt like you are keeping the staff up. Anyway even though the brasserie was almost empty the food was so delayed we witnessed a complaint every night. We have children 1, 3 & 10 yrs, there was little for them to do. The small outdoor climbing frame was only suitable for oldest, as to high for little ones. Monkey mansion good, but we were out during the days, and early evening was closed. So mum stayed in bungalow with kids, while we had a drink once kids asleep. Although bungalow lovely, would not go back. The staff did not smile, and not once did anyone ask if we were ok, or needed anything. Also lack of information in the accommodation about things like bins, and recycling rubbish. Goodness knows how they got there green award.

Date visited: 23/08/08

Review by L PEP on 28th August, 2008

Add your review
FOR MANY YEARS WE STAYED AT GURNARD PINES AND HAD SOME AMAZING HOLIDAYS.THE STAFF, ACCOMMODATION AND PARK WERE FANTASTIC.IT WAS WITH NO DOUBT THE BEST HOLIDAY PARK ON THE ISLAND.WHY HAVE WE STOPPED GOING? THE FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT STOPPED.WHAT A GREAT SHAME...MAYBE IT WAS TIME TO MOVE ON.

Date visited: AUG 2006

Review by lisa range on 29th May, 2005

Add your review
this park was the best we have ever visited. the entertainment team were excellent. they were friendly, polite and went out of their way to make our visit special, particulary good with the kids.the park was very clean and well kept. in fact every member of staff was cheerful and friendly. a must for familys looking for good entertainment from the kids to the parents. beautiful location, would highly recommend this park, in fact we are now booking a september holiday at gurnard pines

Date visited: 14 may 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is a mistake to look too far ahead. Only one link of the chain of destiny can be handled at a time - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages