Waterside

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Waterside Holiday Park, Paignton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by janet maddox on 4th April, 2013

Add your review
I have visited other Park holiday sites and have not had cause to complain until now. When we arrived at Waterside I thought that it looked scruffy and unkempt but put this down to it being early in the season. I had paid for an upgrade from bronze to silver and found that i had been upgraded from a 10 foot two bedroom with no heating apart from a gas fire in the lounge to, you've guessed it, a 10 foot two bedroom with no heating except a gas fire. When i questioned this i was assured it was a silver caravan. after some consideration i returned and asked what my upgrade had paid for. The booking manager was called and brusquely told me it was silver as it was pet free and not as old as some caravans on site. I had cause to complain several times about a pile of rubbish behind the caravan which included soiled nappies. This was not removed until the third afternoon by which time the wind and the grass cutters had spread it over a wider area. The blinds were mouldy and there were dirty socks in the caravan, which we had to dispose of ourselves, the tv had no signal and when this was rectified we found that the manual buttons on the tv only worked sporadically and we were told that there was no remote as it had been stolen and there were no other remotes or tvs available. The entertainment staff were very friendly but hampered by the fact that only one had a decent voice and they appear to have forgotten to learn song words or dance routines. I'm sure they'll improve later in the season. Smugglers had pleasant staff, as did the bar in the Yacht club. The site is in a pleasant area with access to the coastal path and local beaches and the steam train passing the site was a bonus. Overall this was a disappointing holiday and the company has not as yet replied to my email outlining my complaints. Would not go back.

Date visited: 25/03/13

Review by MARILYN TANTONY on 24th September, 2012

Add your review
Impression of the Park needed a general spruce up.CARAVAN Silver 2.this should have been a Bronse 0,Blinds fell down, curtain's would not pull across mould and mildrew on them,grill not working,fire not working,bed would not stay down,after buying several fresh air sprays caravan started to smell a little better,left after 3nights would never go back there again.

Date visited: 15th september 2012

Review by teresa on 8th July, 2012

Add your review
Had a sun holiday and was allocated a bronze caravan as we had a dog... the caravan was filthy and smelt awful cooker didnt work no maitenance had been done mattresses were old with springs showing curtains dirty parking very bad couldnt park close had to manhandle cases quite a distance grass very long no paths leading to caravans we booked in monday evening and we booked out tuesday morning....we will not be going there again and we will not be recommending to our family and friends. What a waste of money

Date visited: july 2012

Review by dani on 29th June, 2012

Add your review
Very,very disappointed with my stay at Waterside.Bad points below; 1. Caravan dirty/smelly 2. Ignition on fire not working 3. TV colour saturated red 4. Sink Leaking 5. Oven door not shutting correctly 6. Shower door not shutting correctly 7. Part of pool cordoned off due to tiles broken away from side All in all it was pretty shocking. The entertainment was poor too and I definitely will never book with ParkHolidays again. To all the people assuming I'm expecting too much for my budget I say this, I've experienced budget stays with Pontins,Haven and Butlins and can say that Waterside is by far the worst holiday I have ever experienced. You have been warned!

Date visited: 25/06/2012

Review by mary derrick on 9th October, 2011

Add your review
after going in the summer holidays with our 6 children, the caravan was not the best, nothing to much to worry about. the kids loved the park the staff were totally fantastic kids swam every day made friend and had a great time... after one of the children winning the talent contest we went back for the weekend finals,the staff remembered the children made us feel very welcome. we had such a great time thank you all at waterside... see you next year.

Date visited: aug 2011 and october 2011

Review by Jim Tampin on 15th August, 2011

Add your review
Six years ago we visited the Waterside Holiday Park, Paignton and had a wonderful time. So we looked forward to our return this month. How wrong we were. 1 The caravan STANK of urine, and dirty feet on the carpet,after our complaint the caravan was given a supposed good clean, it did not take the smell away. The zoo smelt better!. the seating was frayed and smelt of wet dog. The toilet was beyond hope in spite of us cleaning it with flash and disinfectant we would not return and would not recommend it to anyone.

Date visited: Aug 2011

Review by Amanda on 1st May, 2011

Add your review
Just a very quick oversight. First caravan so filthy had to be moved. Then we had the sink in the bathroom flood the floor twice. FLEAS biting us, given a can of industrial strength flea spray by reception, and told not to let the ginger cat on the site into the caravan. Boiler break down no hot water. I would not recommend this site, for reasons above. Also a shame the manager could not be bothered to contact me, even though it had been requested, but then I am guessing perhaps he is so feedup with complaints from this caravan site, he chooses not to respond !

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Arnold on 27th April, 2011

Add your review
Stayed in April 2011, and I would not go back to Waterside Park, Paignton. Reasons being:- 1. First caravan so FILTHY we were moved. 2. Next caravan,Sink leaked all over the floor. 3. Sink re-leaked at 10.45pm 4. Caravan infested with FLEAS. Handed industrial can of flea spray by reception. 5. Boiler broke no hot water. 6. General Manager could not be bothered to ingage. 7. We left before 48 hours of being there, hooray !!! I now leave this up to the readers of this if you think you would like to stay at Waterside.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Mr & Mrs Reynolds on 16th November, 2010

Add your review
Ignore the bad reviews from all the moaning snobs. Waterside was a lovely place to stay for our budget. The caravan was exactly what you needed for a family with children. We have three children and found that the caravan was a good size, well maintained, clean and tidy (bronze). Swimming pool excellent even in the rain and entertainment there if you wanted it. Didn't use entertainment facilities as not our thing, but pleasantly surprised by the quiet evenings we had (more noise from our kids!!. Sites and views around the area were excellent and the staff were friendly, chatty and very helpful. All beaches and coves were exceptionally clean and tidy. Will definitely go again next year. All these moaning people need to save up to stay in a 5 star hotel (what do you expect from a budget holiday). P.S Didn't want to go home!

Date visited: 17/07/2010 - 24/07/2010

Review by michael on 10th October, 2010

Add your review
love waterside, i dunno what the whinger`s are wineing about, it`s a caravan park what do you expect? make the most of what ya can afford and enjoy it.

Date visited: 04/010/10

Review by gilly skellon on 20th August, 2010

Add your review
On arrival our caravan was a little musty but didnt take long to air out. apart from that the caravan was clean. everything we asked for, like extra sheets and a duvet was given straight away. The site was quaint with a beautiful view over toward paignton and broadsands. We went to the club a few times during our weeks stay and thought the entertainers were really good. my little girl loved it with loopy rabbit. although my older boys of 10 and 13 had not alot to do as the arcade was their only escape with not alot else going on. I would still go back there as it made an excellent base for walking into goodrington sands and to be able to do more than just staying on camp.

Date visited: 6 th aug 2010

Review by paul on 9th August, 2010

Add your review
Our arrival was disappointing and annoying,the caravan had not been cleaned after the previous occupier,We had to wait whilst housekeepers cleaned it, I am glad that we didnt pay the extra charge to allow us to check in earlier,..it would of been a further kick in the teeth. After a one hour marathon cleaning session by two cleaners a £20 voucher was presented to us as a form of apology,redeemable "only" in the onsite bar or restaraunt. Some area's around the site were also a little dishevelled and neglected,in particular flower beds/Lawned area's etc and we never saw any litter pickers.The dog mess bins located near to where we had to park our car were not emptied during our 7 day stay and they stunk. The area outside the pool entrance is overlooked by the managers office and leads upwards to a kids play area, flowerbeds in this area were Two feet high with weeds The kids play area is a poor afterthought,one slide and a couple of infant bouncy items. Car parking was also very poor,we had to park our car approx 150 yards away and struggle with our luggage.The site is on a steep incline and the caravans are set on terraces.Some car park spaces have been reserved. The Dogs must be kept on leads rule is not enforced, also the signs asking dog owners to pick up mess after their dogs were ignored by the many,the results of this blatant ignorance are obvious, we had to dodge the dog mess left behind, Once outside the site on the coastal paths and tracks it became even more of a hazzard, we called it "Dog toilet alley".

Date visited: 31 july 2010

Review by Sara Williams on 21st July, 2010

Add your review
We have just cut short a week's holiday at Waterside thanks to the awful condition of the caravans. After a 7 hour drive we arrived at reception and were given the keys to our caravan. The caravan was on a slope with only a narrow path to the door. We had to park the car away from the caravan and lug the suitcases to the caravan. When entering the caravan, the stench of damp and urine was foul, curtains were torn and the kitchen had not been cleaned properly with fat that had run down the splashback in the kitchen, bread crumbs on the counter and dried blood on one of the duvets. The best was the wall between two bedrooms held together with silver masking tape! When we complained we were given another caravan which was only slightly better. No smell of urine this time but very damp. Also the only door out of the caravan stuck and you had to kick the bottom to get out of the caravan. On the Tuesday we had heavy rain and when we returned to the caravan the damp was so bad we could not sit on the settees as they were so wet. Unfortunately only three dining chairs had been provided for a family of four so we had to sit in the 'entertainment' area until they dried out a bit. This was the worst holiday that we have ever had. We have been to Paignton on previous occasions (different sites) and had a wonderful time but thanks to Waterside we will not be going back!

Date visited: 17 July 2010

Review by Stacey on 28th June, 2010

Add your review
What a fantastic holiday park, food was brilliant and the entertainment team made up of Mick, Ben, Nick, Sarah, Jade and Tommo were fabulous they have put a lot of hard work into their shows. They kept us entertained throughout the holiday. Our caravan was cosy but nice. Obviously the park have taken into consideration comments from before and put a lot right. I would strongly recommend visiting this park.

Date visited: 21/06/10

Review by Elle on 15th August, 2009

Add your review
Me and my family have just spent the week at this campsite and really enjoyed it. The site its self was beautiful and everybody was extreamly friendly. The entertainment was brilliant for adults and for kids as long as yu have a sense od humor and no how to have a good time. However food n the smuggerls inn wasnt very nice although everythink is priced well and given in big proportions sometimes chips was not cooked properly. But apart from that everthink else was fantastic and i reconmend it. I shall be vistiting waterside again later on this year.

Date visited: 08/05/09 - 15/08/09

Review by Jon on 11th August, 2009

Add your review
Just returned from waterside and I will never return, being visiting paignton for regulary for years, but this was the 1st time we stayed at waterside. I can honestly say that the accomodation is the worst I have ever encountered in the UK. Upon arrival at the park we were requested by reception staff to go to the Yacht club to collect keys to the accommodation. The sole barperson was friendly but had no information on when keys would be available nor which facilities were currently available to keep children entertained until the accommodation was available (though we knew accommodation would not be available until 4pm we were told upon booking the holiday, all facilities were available from 10am). When the keys to the accommodation were eventually available, (delayed for the cleaning of the accommodation to be completed), I think our accommodation was missed as the cleanliness was very poor indeed, in-fact I don’t think it was cleaned as belongings of the previous occupants were still littering the accommodation including the remains of a crab in the bathroom. When booking the holiday, pet free accommodation was requested because of health reasons as two members of the party suffer with asthma, which we duly received, although instead of pets, we had a damp and mouldy bathroom caused by a faulty shower door, which spilt over into one of the main double bedrooms causing the small non-functioning (broken hanging rail) wardrobe to become severely rotted. Alongside this, a heavily sodden carpet which squelched under your feet as you walked around the bed, and also left a pungent smell of damp. Alongside the damp the “self-catering” accommodation came complete with a non-functioning cooker grill, as well as, a toilet door without a door handle, all faults were reported, however only the door handle and half of the grill were repaired. With the amount of issues reported with the accommodation I would have thought, that a representative of the management team would have made the effort to have visited myself as a way of ensuring that the matter(s) were resolved to my expectations of what Park Holidays Uk, set out to achieve in their brochures/websites. The park itself is clean and tidy and has a fantastic view. However, the entertainment team try to pull off Butlins/thearte style shows, on a very limited budget that just doesn't work, theres 10/15 minute breaks between each item of entertainment, and on the one night the whole schedule was cancelled because as the entertainment manager put it 'none of you want to do it', perhaps the level of entertainment he was offering did not suit the audience or it may have been because the only person who won any of the adult games,was the same person who won the weekly talent competition to reach a national final representing waterside later in the season! The whole holiday was a major let down and not what was promised by Park Holidays Uk in their marketing if you are looking for a holiday park in torbay to take your family the i suggest you try Hoburne torbay.

Date visited: 1/8/2009 - 8/8/2009

Review by Sonia Baker on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
Just returned from Waterside Caravan Park in Paignton and would never go back... On arrival we were told our caravan was not ready so we sat outside it for 3 hours..no cleaner arrived but when we went back to the reception we were handed our keys. When we got in our caravan we found a dirty sock, the shower was disgusting, the bin was still full and we ended up cleaning it and buying products from their shop to do this.. Entertainment needs to be reviewed as boring for adults.. Pizza in the Club was disgusting and we ended up throwing it. Food ran out in the take-away in the Smugglers Inn... No real organisation anywhere....On the other side we are a bubbly happy family and were able to entertain ourselves outside of the park... Also noticed a lack in effort for people to clear up after their dogs using the carparks and footpaths as a toilet...

Date visited: 10th April 2009

Review by ang on 29th September, 2008

Add your review
Have just returned from Waterside today . The camp was lovely and well kept as was the bar area and restraunt - unfortunatly cannot say the same about the caravan . The staff were friendly. The restraunt was fantastic and i would recommend going half board to anyone as it was excellent value for money and the food came in large portions and the staff in the smugglers restraunt were superb . One down side to the whole stay was the entertainment - it was poor to say the least. If belching into a microphone constitutes as entertainment then i obviously have no humour . Apart from that a good stay !

Date visited: 26th September 2008

Review by s.parker on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
my family and i recently visited the park with some friends, upon arrival we were told our keys were not ready yet,but we could wait upstairs in the bar area. we were then welcomed by an energetic team of people performing a pantomime. panto is definatly not my thing but i have to say that waterside have gott'n it so right. i found it hilarious! a great start to my family break. our caravan was in a lovely location could of been cleaner but the view more than made up for it. the beach is a stones throw away and there are shops and general stores just around the corner. the evenings entertainment was brilliant, the team were great, really made an effort with the audience, dan,ben and djste have had us in stitches and jenni is a fantastic asset to the park, we have been visiting waterside for a good few years now and she has brought back the fun and friendlyness to the yacht club it has been missing. one thing that i must mention is the food in the restaurant was a little dissapointing,and i waited a very long time to recieve it. all in all the holiday was a great success and we have all thoroughly enjoyed it. i would definatly recomend waterside holiday park to anybody.

Date visited: 22/08/08 - 24/08/08

Review by debbie arrowsmith on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
we went to waterside last year but this year the entertainment team jenny dan guy michelle kirsty dj ste were by far the best had a fantastic holiday. you will have a good time if you go to a park and you get these guys as your entertainment team brill. the food in the smugglers bar was awful shop over priced but had more stock than the local co op

Date visited: 30 august 2008

Review by shelley cottle on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
we just come back and we had a really good hol we went there the year before and the entertainment was really good,but this years entertainment was outstanding,you good not have asked for more friendlier entertainers,well done to team2008 you done waterside holiday park proud,and the accomadation is outstanding as well.......

Date visited: 30 august 2008

Review by Karen Cottrell on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
Have just returned from Waterside Holiday Park in Paignton. What a dreadful site! The park itself is unkempt - patchy tarmac, worn out grass - not a flower to be seen. Such a shame as the top half of the caravan park with privately owned caravans is quite pleasant with beautiful views of the bay.

Date visited: 23 August 2008

Review by Mrs. Towler on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
This is our first visit to Waterside Holiday Park and we will definately go back. The swimming pool was lovely and warm. The shop on the site was a little over priced but you expect that. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. The entertainment team were absolutely fabulous. Jenny the entertainment manager can be very proud of herself they all certainly earn their money they work very hard. Can I also congratualte DJ Ste for the sound and lighting in the shows definately the best we have seen. Many thanks to you all.

Date visited: 23.08.08

Review by Gurdip Sidhu (Mrs) on 25th August, 2008

Add your review
Just came back from Waterside Holiday Park in Paignton. Agree with last review, food in Smugglers in was overpriced and dreadful. We had pizza one night and did not enjoy it. Entaintment was brilliant - a big well done to Jenny, Guy, Dan, Michelle, Kirstie, Ben, DJ Ste. We especially enjoyed the panto - well don to Dick Wittington and his gang. Ben was superb in the Bingo and kids club. We thought there should have been a bit more of Loopy Rabbit time for the kids and my little one found the dance moves very difficult. We're glad Michelle went through the moves on the last day though. Caravan was not as clean as I expected and this was the first time we chose a caravan instead of a chalet. The sofas were not very clean either. We will write to the park about this. Thank you for a good holiday and we hope to come back next year and hopefully see the same entainment crowd. The entertainers made the holiday a great experience. Weather was awful. It rained most of the week.

Date visited: 16/08/08 - 23/08/08

Review by Ruby Sidhu on 25th August, 2008

Add your review
We have just come back from waterside holiday park. It was the best ever. The entertainment at night was brilliant my fav was Dan. I loved the little beach next to us it was not exacly a beach but a stony sort it was toatly safe! The pool was great but i think they should have a indoor pool too just in case it rained but me and my dad still went even though it was ching it down(crazy). The caravan was brilliant and i loved the smugglers inn chips but never have the pizza duiscusting. At entertainment at bigo time the entertainers made such funny noises. Like for example for number 17 thewould sing " she was just 17, you know what i mean, i would never dance with another oooh" i hope to come back to waterside and hope to see the same entertainers. Love you all entertainers(especily Dan) love ruby

Date visited: 16/08/08 - 23/08/08

Review by mr m brailsford on 21st August, 2008

Add your review
We have stayed at this in 05 06 07 and now in 08 ant this year is by far the best year. The entertainment team this year is by far the best. The food from the smugglers takeaway is overpriced and not very good you are better off going to the takeaways on the main dartmouth road 5 mins walk awaydown the hill. Park is very clean with great views over the bay to Torquay and Brixham. Kids club is great for the little ones with things to do between 10am and 11am and 7pm and 8pm every day.

Date visited: 02/08/2008

Review by The Evans Family on 5th September, 2007

Add your review
A beautiful campsite in the heart of the English Riveriea. Excellent on-site entertainment by Ricky Lee and his Gang of Showcoats. Nice to have a outdoor swimming pool and to see the train running passed. Quality food in the Smugglers Inn. Fantastic Kids Club thinks my daughter! Kids Bar sells a good selection of food and drinks such as slush puppies, popcorn etc. A lot to do in the local area and in the arcade on site!

Date visited: August 2003, 04, 05 & 06

Review by siobhan on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
gt back from here yesterday was absolutely amazing. W

Date visited: 25th august

Review by siobhan on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
gt back from here yesterday was absolutely amazing. Went last year and although enjoyed last years entertainment this years team was fabulous. All very talented especially Bex! Hope their here next year!

Date visited: 25th august

Review by siobhan on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
got back from here yesterday and had an absolutely amazing time. The entertainment team here make your holiday all the better, they are all very talented especially bex the entertainments manager. Will definately be coming back next year so hope the team are still there!

Date visited: 25th august 2007

Review by Amy Patrick on 26th August, 2007

Add your review
i had the most amazing time there. There's loads to do for everyone and the evening entertainment was fantastic. All the entertainers, Mandy, Russel, bex, jon, sarah and jade were fantastic and put on a great show every night. coming again next year. See you all again then

Date visited: August 07

Review by Lorna Roberts on 17th April, 2007

Add your review
Brilliant holiday, could not of asked for better.Going back this year

Date visited: 1st august 2006

Review by emma on 26th September, 2006

Add your review
Hi Ricky and gang hope your well just wanted you to know that i loved the grease prodution and i will be down nxt year with Grace and Roy. And i really enjoy ALL your shows and by the way two of my teachers at my school think that ricky and simon are really cute catch you later!

Date visited: 16/9/06

Review by jade on 26th August, 2006

Add your review
i love this holiday at watreside carven park it was wicked i am going to miss all of my m8s that i met there i will miss the best life guards ever. i will also miss lucy, jade , ricky, and all other other ones there all good singers n dancing. hope to see the all of u again soon in about 2 years maybe. anyways the carven was nice the pool was good. love u all jade downham that girls who dance street n come 2nd

Date visited: 18th - 26th august

Review by laura on 18th August, 2006

Add your review
Just wont to say my hoilday was great i love the perosn who do shows there like SIMON (who is very gd looking) and rickylee who is just the best really! i go there every year for 8 years and i just love it there every one is so friendly and nice you cannot go wrong. And i have met so many new friend there! i go there twice a year and no some of the bar staff and there great!! im looking forward to octber when i go there agen just 10 weeks to go and counting! love u all laura xx

Date visited: 5th august-17th

Review by Hollie & Hannah on 6th August, 2005

Add your review
We found the holiday park highly enjoyable and our stay there was exciting and fun-filled, we especially found the pool invigorating as the life guard; Neil, is well gorgeous and brightened up our holiday. Thank you for a brilliant stay we hope to visit again very soon.

Date visited: 30th July 05 - 6th Aug 05

Review by rebecca on 28th June, 2005

Add your review
i whent to waterside caravan site and i oved it i was inthe swimming pool every day i all so went on the beach you anly have to walk there i all so went on the steam train and on the side of one of the carriges it said my name. i loved going to the club at night and whaching the shows (greece was best) i am going again on 13th august 2005 can't wait

Date visited: 14 august 2004

Review by jade waterman on 18th May, 2005

Add your review
stayed at waterside holiday park and had a fantastic time. plenty to do, daytime and night time, the entertainment team provide plenty of family daytime activities, all of which can keep the holiday fun, and theres even prizes at week end. the night time entertainment is phenominal... the shows are excellent and put together really well. the team seem to be very talented. the park itself is in a fantastic location with seaviews from almost every direction. the caravans are amazingly spacious and very nicely decorated. all in all this park is fantastic!!!

Date visited: 19/03/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
This lady is not for turning. - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
Alfred Becomes King of Wessex - 0871, English order of knighthood founded - 1348, Birth of Shakespeare - 1564, Death of Shakespeare - 1616, Charles II is crowned - 1661, First Broadcast by British Monarch - 1924, Death of Blair Peach - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages