Ashvale'

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Ashvale, Paignton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sarah on 29th May, 2012

Add your review
excellant entertainment plenty for the kids to do,friendly staff,caravans where nice and clean with everything that u needed. we have been going to ashvale for about 10years now and all i can say is it keeps getting better every year

Date visited: 14th may 2012

Review by tony wedgwood on 31st July, 2011

Add your review
just back home from another excellent weeks stay at ashvale. This is the third year we have been and we will be going again. Even though its a 6 to 8 hour drive for us we love the place, caravans are alwayys clean and tidy, reception staff very helpful and the entertainment team that have had 1 or 2 changes over the 3 years we have been going are still very good. Jack was new this time Joe & Jay were new last year, Simon, Matt & Becks have been there since we started going and every year they come up with new material. and away from the park theres no end of things to do, also this year we had brilliant weather what more can you ask, once again thanks to the whole ashvale team and we will be back sooner rather than later. Stunning part of the country

Date visited: 23 july 2011

Review by lyn on 5th July, 2011

Add your review
on the good side. club and entertainment.horrible old caravan.nowhere safe for kettle just placed in front microwave,very dangerous.telly old and not working very well.shower had to adjust with taps could not get correct temperature.old ..dated will not return because of rubbish caravan.have just returned from site next to this one called hoburne, excellent modern caravan.welcoming tea, coffee, wash u liquid, wash up clothes etc, very welcoming.lovely made all the difference. would recommend hoburne because of the excellent caravan(it was only basic) costed the same as ashvale .. oh yes and caravan at ashvale was opposite campsite stores room.not a very nice view. so if anyone off to ashvale make sure you dont end up with dated caravan opposite the stores room. check on booking....better still go to hoburne down the road. enjoy your holiday!

Date visited: may 2011

Review by J J Neil on 5th May, 2011

Add your review
All round excellent holiday park. The blonde reception lady was very helpfull (Kim I think her name is) and on occasion went out of her way for us which was very nice to see. The surrounding area is stunning and there's plenty to do around town to keep you occupied. We stayed in a new-ish caravan which was clean and tidy and well looked after. The shop was small which had the essentials but was heavily over-priced in some areas and too much 'tat'. The entertainment room is very clean and tidy although the carpet looks a bit ragged here and there and the colour on the walls looks like my grans flat - a bit of modernization needed here! The entertainment however was excellent with loads for the kids and the entertainers are all so happy all the time how do they do that?! (other than Matt he always looks a bit miserable and stressed out!) Bex and Simon are brilliant entertainers and thanks to our 9 year old falling in love with Jack we will be returning at some stage soon! Overall a top notch park with excellent entertainment in a brilliant area of the country.

Date visited: Easter 2011

Review by Chris on 14th August, 2010

Add your review
just spent a week here for the first time,caravan was nice and clean :) The club was lovely barstaff very friendly,entertainment was great although one of the girls(Jay) really shouldn't be encouraged to sing but she was pleasant enough !!Lisa and Simon are very strong singers and Mat and Becks are a couple of great entertainers.Open the box is great if you are lucky enough to win!! The park is very clean and pleasant and we will be returning hopefully :D All in all a lovely time and great place for a break :D

Date visited: 7th august

Review by Ray Frost on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
I have never been to this park before as we always have preferred to go to a larger site. Having said that what we found was very surprising, in the fact that for small park it has everything you need and the location is bang in the middle of the torbay resort, unlike some places we have been where you're stuck in the middle of nowhere. The caravan was lovely and clean, although i believe it was a new one and there did seem a few on the site that looked a bit drab from the outside. The entertainment team were superb and kept us all smiling. All of them have such talent and we'd like to especially thank Simon and Becks for making our holiday! They do a sterling job keeping everyone entertained. Also a big mention to Kim in reception who went to every extreme to help us with all our needs. The cafe on site was the only let down, it is very nice inside but the food was a bit poor. 5*'s for Ashvale, despite the cafe and we will be returning next year.

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Ellen on 27th April, 2010

Add your review
Very clean and tidy park. The entertainment room and cafe have both just been redecorated and it looks very classy. The caravan we stayed in was a good standard and priced competitively. The area is packed with things to do and very close to a blue flag beach (goodrington sands). For those that like to stay on-site, the entertainment is excellent. The pick of the bunch being Simon and Bex, exceptional talent and great banter between them. Also worth mentioning I feel is Sam from the bar staff who was so helpful to us when we arrived late. A great holiday park, we will be returning no doubt. 5 stars *****

Date visited: 16/04/2010

Review by Lucy on 6th April, 2010

Add your review
I used to go to Ashvale every year from the age of 8 to 16 and have so many fond memories of park. The staff were always so friendly and the entertainment team were brilliant. I had some of the best times of my childhood there and I cant wait to take my children in the future. keep up the great work guys

Review by Joanna Downing on 8th August, 2009

Add your review
Well this was our first visit to Devon and our first time of holidaying in a caravan. I must say we cannot wait to go back. The caravan was immaculate. The staff we found very friendly, and the entertainment staff were excellent, especially Matt. It was nice to put a face to the name since reading the reviews before we arrived. I would highly recommend Ashvale. The only downside to the holiday is that it was too short. A fantastic holiday and definately worth every penny we spent on it.

Date visited: 20 July 2009

Review by Keith on 17th July, 2009

Add your review
I worked at Ash Vale on the entertainments team with Sean, Jo, Elaine and lots of other entertainers, think it was three seasons in all! I had a great time and it was a fantastic time in my life - seems like years ago now and the new crew look fab on youtube, It is an incredible park with a warming atmosphere - a place i will no doubt take my family eventually and personally i know the hard work that goes in from everyone there! Fantastic memories! Fantastic new friends! Fantastic people! FANTASTIC

Date visited: worked at ash vale

Review by ANNE MORLEY on 28th June, 2009

Add your review
my second visit this year plan to have more THE ENTERTAINMENT GUYS ARE BRILLIANT SOOOO TALENTED LOVELY GIRLS AS FOR SIMON &MATT WHAT VOICES WHAT COMEDY THEY ARE THE BEST &THE SITE &THE VANS ARE SPOTLESS WELL DONE ASHVALE

Date visited: 26 june 2009

Review by Gill Mead on 14th June, 2009

Add your review
We have been coming to Ashvale for years and we love it here. The owners have spent loads of money doing the place up and it looks fab inside the entertainment room, it's all brand new and the view of the sea from the bar is really good. The restaraunt has a good selection of food at reasonable prices and the staff are always happy and eager to serve. The caravans are sited well with plenty of space between each one although some could do with being replaced. It's such a lovely little site and there's plenty to do locally and the beach is about 1/4 mile down the road. Entertainment here is always a good standard with lots of competitions in the day and a good lively atmosphere in the evening. There is an entertainments team (6 of them) and they always produce the goods, especially the shows which are very good and quite a surprise considering the size of the park. The 2 boys Simon and Matt are like Ant and Dec! very funny when they are on the stage together and their Sunday show which features just the 2 of them had us in pieces. An excellent holiday every time. We will be back again next year at Easter hopefully.

Date visited: june 2009

Review by Helen on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
I have just read the 2 reviews that are slating the entertainment and I felt I needed to comment. Obviously the two reviews have been written by the same person as they use the same wording and the same spelling mistakes occur! Someone with a bee in their bonnet perhaps? Anyway, I digress, this little holiday park is the jewel of the English Riviera. It is spotlessly clean and the accomodation is first class. The entertainment team is out of this world, and I have seen the shows for the last few years and none of this year's shows are the same as previous years at all!!. Yes I agree Matt and Lisa are good entertainers and both have good voices but the brains behind the operation is Simon who has talent in abundance in many areas. Not to forget the other girls, especially Gemma who has the voice of an angel. Needless to say that the style of entertainment here will not be to everyone's liking but as far as holiday centres go, this is top draw. You only have to read down the page to see everyone elses thought's. We like to use the entertainment centres when we're away and let me tell you, this particular one is fun and lively and the shows are excellent. we have booked again for August and October.

Date visited: May 23rd

Review by Mrs A Claw on 1st June, 2009

Add your review
Just come back from our holiday at Ashvale. We have never been to this park before and we had a lovely time. The park was very clean and tidy the caravan was spotless. All the staff were very kind and helpful. And we loved the entertainment. The shows were amazing. Our favourite shows were the Space show and the 80's show. What fantastic talented entertainers they are. The whole team made us laugh so much and we would love to thank them for making our holiday!!!!! We will definately be back.

Date visited: May 09

Review by Mr & Mrs flangen on 23rd May, 2009

Add your review
We have been here many years, and think it is about time there was some updates to the entertainment team, we were very disappointed, after visiting 3 times last season, we could not get enough, what has happened? The team seem to have no idea what they are doing, and shows seemed unprofessional and under rehersed. They need to change things for us guests that return year after year, we are sick and tired of the same shows, same songs, game shows, music and the same jokes that are no longer funny once you hear them time after time. There is nothing to keep us interested, other than the work and vocals of both lissa and Matt, who seemed to be the only two putting in any effort where us guests were concerned, they are becoming as boring as Beverley park across the road, work needs to be done here!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date visited: May 2009

Review by kerrie on 18th May, 2009

Add your review
Entertainment a disappontment, clearly under rehersed, the girls need more work, we loved Mat Morgan, he never fails to entertain. i loved 2008 but was let down by 2009.

Date visited: may 09

Review by sue bridges on 13th April, 2009

Add your review
Can I just say: OH MY GOD! We happened upon this beautifully positioned park by accident really and I'm thankful we did. I'd never heard of this company before I came here and it was utterly brilliant. Due mostly to the wonderful entertainers who were excellent with the kids, kept me smiling and then when you thought things couldnt get any better they also perform - to standards I have never before witnessed in a holiday park. The shows were out of this world and the team are the best I've seen for many years. The park is clean and tidy and all the staff greet you with a smile especially the lady in the shop who had a run in with my tearaway 7 year old! The caravans are also a good standard and it certainly made a lovely change to be in one that doesn't leak or smell (Haven Weymouth Bay!). A lovely park, a sensational entertainment team and ideally positioned, what more do you need!

Date visited: easter

Review by Julie on 9th February, 2009

Add your review
Ashvale 2008 team are the strongest team to be on a park, and i can not wait to see all six of them back on form, Simon, Mat, Lisa, Rebecca, Charley and Olivia we can not wait to see you! All the best for the start and get the shows ready for us! These guys really make this park, with out you 6 we would not be returning this year, the team are a credit to the company x

Review by darian on 2nd November, 2008

Add your review
i would like to say the entertainments team are really good in ashvale club, the shows they do are brilliant, i will see them all agen next april. love darian xx

Date visited: 2nd november

Review by mike ellington on 1st November, 2008

Add your review
Well firstly I must congratulate the company on thier 50th anniversary this year....a family run business with such attention to detail is a breath of fresh air in this other-wise "cattle market-esque" industry. the parks were extremely well maintained and the location is superb. We were staying on the larger site, Beverley Park but we used the entretainment complex at Ashvale which you can find across the road. The entertainment here is far better than the larger venue. The entertainments team at Ashvale are all so talented and the shows are some of the best Ive seen at any holiday centre. We did give the larger venue at Beverley Park a look on the first night but found the house band to be very loud, disjointed and rather dated.....and rather crude in places, which was a little dissapointing, however, All in all I have to say that this private company knocks socks off its bigger rivals like haven and park dean etc...purely because its just a better class of park all round. Excellent facilites, excellent caravans, friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Date visited: October 2008

Review by Jason on 25th September, 2008

Add your review
I just wanted to let everyone know what a fantastic team of entertainers they have working for Ashvale (which is the smaller sister park to Beverley Holidays) They are absolutley fantastic, i have visited Ashvale a few times and if you want a holiday that has great entertainment and great shows this is the place you want to be. I can not say a bad word about them, they completely made my holiday. Just see what i mean by viewing there videos on youtube, You can find the whole team at www.youtube.com/AshvaleEnts Enjoy.

Date visited: August

Review by MARIANNE BURNISTON on 21st September, 2008

Add your review
THERE ARE 'NOT' ENOUGH WORDS TO EXPRESS HOW I FEEL ABOUT MY TIME AT ASHVALE. NEVER HAVING HAD ONE CARAVAN HOL IN THE 80'S I WAS SCEPTIC, BUT KNOWING THE COMPANY I WAS IN, I KNEW IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN BORING AND KNEW MY BROTHER AND SISTER IN LAW SAID HOW GREAT ASH VALE IS.(JIMMY AND THE RUSSIAN???THAT WAS A LOVELY THOUGHT OF YOU ALL PLAYING TO RUSSIA WITH LUV FOR NAT)I SLEPT EVERY NIGHT WITH MY WINDOW WIDE OPEN, NEVER FELT SCARED.ENTERTAINMENT WAS FANTASTIC. WE WERE TOLD 'BENSON' WAS NOT VERY GOOD BY THE DOOR MAN BUT THAT WAS SO NOT TRUE, HE WAS ENTERTAINING, FUNNY AND TRULY GIFTED.HE HAD MY GRANDSON IN FITS OF LAUGHTER. SIMON, MAT AND HIS 'TEAM' OF GORGEOUS GIRLS WERE FANTASTIC. SWIMMING POOL WAS IMMACULATE AND STAFF WERE WELCOMING.I WILL COME BACK NEXT YEAR MAKE NO MISTAKE...I END EVERYWHERE NOW WITH 'SHIRE' TO THE ANNOYANCE OF EVERYONE!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK SIMON MAT AND CREW, YR BRILLIANT XXXXX

Date visited: 3/9/08-13th sept

Review by Mrs C. Matten on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
Me and my family have just returned from yet another amazing holiday at Ashvale Holiday Park. Firstly would like to send thanks out to, Simon - what a great job this man does as entertainments manager - you have got a top quality team. Well done to Matt, Lisa, Becks and Charlie. The team never fail to provide top quality entertainment, what ever the weather, or size of crowd that are in. Even though we came just out of the summer season we still got the same program packed full of things to do and theatre style shows. I personally think all members of the team are wasted on such in such a small room, the talent is great here, an extremely strong team. The park is beautiful and always clean. The area is great and not far from high streets and shops, beachs and there are alot of near by attractions for all the family to enjoy. I would definatley recommend this place. We can not wait to return for halloween.

Date visited: 7th September 2008

Review by M Bates on 3rd September, 2008

Add your review
We had a good time at Ashvale and would consider going back again. It is the quieter sister park to Beverley Park which is only a couple of hundred yards away (just across a road). Ashvale seemed quieter and smaller than Beverley and the site was more sloping. Facilities at Ashvale include an outside pool and terrace, amusements, shop, launderette, snooker room, table tennis, kids outdoor play area, and Captain Jacks kids room. It also includes a cafe, bar and entertainment room. Whilst many from Ashvale make use of the Beverley facilities, e.g. indoor pool and steam room, and larger entertainments venue I'm sure that many from Beverley would enjoy Ashvale. The thing that impressed me about Ashvale and Beverley was the fact that these are family run sites and it shows in how well the sites are run and maintained. Everything was clean and well maintained and clearly a lot goes in to updating the site (in our experience this is in stark contrast to the larger chains such as Park Resorts and Haven). Also the staff that we met seemed committed to the park and I guess that many of them work there year after year. With so much to do and see in South Devon we used the car each day. There are some regular buses that take you between Torquay, Paignton and Brixham. I guess the only downside to the park was that it is quite a work to the local beach (Goodrington - nice with beach huts and a steam train running along the back) and the walk back up the hill would feel further. The positive aspect of this though is the views across Torbay from both Ashvale and Beverley.

Date visited: August 2008

Review by Chloe on 21st July, 2008

Add your review
Was un sure about visiting this park, We stayed on Beverley but used Ashvales club,far better and up to date modern entertainment, loved every minute of it, the entertainments team were outstanding, the quality of their shows was the best i have seen on any holiday park, very professional the full works vocals, routines, costumes, and lighting affects. The best team that i have come across, very friendly and welcoming and they made our holiday, all 4 girls were fab with our kids we couldnt of wished for any thing better. We are hoping to return 2009 and are hoping for the same line up of entertainments team as they were very strong. Thank you Simon, Matt, Lisa, Charlie, Becks for such a great week away. 10/10

Date visited: July 2008

Review by m. perrin on 22nd September, 2007

Add your review
my wife and i were very impressed with the cleanliness of not just the caravan but the site as well.the restaurant was good value but we found the bar rather expensive.the entertainment staff were exceptional with really good shows considering the size of the place.we had a very nice time and i would recommend it.just a footnote,we are both over 50 so it may not be to everyones liking,but i think its worth a try

Date visited: 15/ 09 /07

Review by june flanagan on 15th February, 2007

Add your review
hello i must tell you about ashvale holiday park i go every year and have loved it every time i have gone plenty to do and see the shows thay put on in the club is wounderful im disabled and the staff are just wounderful to me i would just like to thank them all for makeing my holiday stay very enjoyable thank you mrs j flanagan .

Date visited: 4 times last year april to september

Review by Natasha on 1st February, 2007

Add your review
I love this place i use to go every year for about 10 years then i then went every 2 years. I now try to go every year to see what has changed there but not much has changed. The part that has changed is the enternment team, i have now done nearly everything in paignton so just nice to go and sean and jo my friends that i have know for years. i miss u guys loads and i love ya loads. hope to see you this year

Date visited: last year in may

Review by m hobbs on 4th June, 2006

Add your review
just got back yet again we had nothing but fun the team at ashvale are great my 6 year old loved them already booked for 2007

Date visited: may 2006

Review by Lisa Vaughan on 9th March, 2006

Add your review
We had an amazing week. The entertainment team are top and we can't wait to take the whole family back next year. We'll be booking a five more caravans in 2006. Wait to be invaded 'Big Nose' We love Ashvale.

Date visited: June 2005

Review by Steph, Emma, Julie and Roger on 15th July, 2005

Add your review
Had amazing time.. Entertainment team couldn't be better and we definately want to go back!!

Date visited: 7-13th July

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
In heaven an angel is nobody in particular. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Dick Whittington Elected Mayor of London - 1397, World adopts Greenwich Meantime - 1884, Paddington Bear is Published - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages