Highfield

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Highfield Grange Holiday Park, Clacton-on-Sea

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lynn @ Carl on 6th June, 2013

Add your review
We booked a gold plus and my garden shed is cleaner than the holiday home. Dirty pots and glasses. Hair in the sinks work tops were so dirty with food stains. Where is spiderman coz he spun a lot of webs in the van. The other big issue we have is cars going fast on the park. The workers going round in there work vans and on mobile phones went and complained to reception and was told too take reg numbers. Hang on isn't your job to reassure the safety of children. It was that bad I didn't let my two children play with out us with them. The outside of the van was very bad with bird shit all over caravan windows in and out were dirty. Well high field grange we will not be back i don't live like this at home and don't expect to live like it on holiday. How long before you go bust. Only a matter of time.......

Date visited: 3/6/2013

Review by Anonymous on 19th November, 2012

Add your review
The way highfields treat there long term owners is disgusting!! Camp is filthy and most staff are rude, and there is no loyalty at all they are all about money I would not advise any one to have an holiday or buy a van there.. The only reason I'm still there is because to buymy van back they offer 50 pound and then sell it for ten thousand, their words not mine....

Date visited: 2012

Review by michael collins on 22nd October, 2012

Add your review
just brough a caravan 10k they said 2184 a year site fees next year is free already theres trouble they sent me a bill 2309 i know i dont have pay this but how much is it going to be in 2014 iv been to court 4 times got off every time they try to rob me i will be going for a fifth time and by the way my friend whos got a caravan there as well his t.v got stolen they just walk in no break in

Date visited: 22/10/2012

Review by Stuart Currie on 4th May, 2012

Add your review
I have had a Caravan at Highfields Holiday Park at Clacton. I gradually up graded until I purchased a top of the range caravan placed on one of their premium pitches. I now find that scrap caravans have been parked close to my caravan and the view I have from my windows is similar to a breakers yard. The park has gone downhill over the last five years and if I could I would move my caravan to another site. However this would cost too much. I would not purchase another caravan at Highfields.

Date visited: 08/04/2012

Review by Vicki on 27th March, 2012

Add your review
As an owner of a caravan on Highfield Grange I feel duty bound to warn other potential buyers. Last year we decided to rent our caravan through park resorts as the pitch fees are very high, everything went well with the letting and we went down to close the caravan up in October. (alarm on, windows locked, doors locked etc,)We went back to open up the caravan only to find that our 32" flat screen television, DVD player and Free Sat box had gone missing. No sign of a break in but the alarm was off (which needs a key to disable it)and the doors were still locked. When we approached the site about this they were not interested and told us to 'phone the police and claim on our insurance. I do feel that as whoever stoll our goods had a key to gain entrance the site should have taken this more seriously. When I demanded back the three sets of keys that you have to give them for letting they couldn't find any of them and consequently the locks on the caravan had to be changed. Whilst we were leaving the office I noticed a young lad tip out a shoe box full of keys and start to sort through them. What a shambles. We will be looking to move the caravan as soon as possible.

Date visited: owner

Review by mr miller on 25th September, 2011

Add your review
receptionist on arrival not very welcoming or friendly. booked a silver caravan which was nothing like the picture showed online. very basic, small. dirty stained carpet. curtains hanging down, no heating. broken kitchen blind.was kept awake by morrisons petrol fumes and lorries delivering all night, might as well had put a tourer in morrisons car park as caravan was right next to petrol station. caravan floor collapsing and caravan on an angle.booked in at 4pm left 5am next day as couldnt sleep. yobs in playpark and bingo, nothing for young children. be warned some of the caravans are very short in length and nothing like brouchure, would not recommend this to my enemy.

Date visited: 24th sept 2011

Review by a camp on 12th August, 2011

Add your review
EXTRAMLLY DIRTY CARAVAN WHICH WAS A GOLD SO GOD KNOWS WHAT THE SILVER & BRONZE WAS LIKE. LACK OF FACILITIES FOR TODDLERS, CHEWING GUM STUCK TO KITCHEN UNIT, CURTAINS HANGING DUE TO NO CURTAIN HOOKS, WINDOW BROKEN LARGE DRAUGHTY GAP, CARPETS WERE BURNT, BATHROOM WAS DISGUSTING, TOILET BROKEN, FRIDGE WAS FILTY, WILL NEVER USE PARK RESORTS AGAIN. FIRST & LAST TIME. WILL GO BACK TO HAVEN IN FUTURE

Date visited: 8/8/11

Review by Anonymous on 2nd August, 2011

Add your review
Highfield Grange is a lovley caravan park! Family friendly! Local stores, alot to do out of the park. Only problem i have is the speedbumps! They are rediculously huge! There more like hump back bridges! They would break your car unless you have a Galaxy! Thats the only problem i have because im constantly in and out of the park

Date visited: Owner

Review by Denise Simmonds on 31st July, 2011

Add your review
We read the reviews before we went so was a bit unsure of what to expect but i have to say this was one of the best holidays we have had to date. The caravan was great the entertainment was fab and Sparky and the gang were really entertaining. My kids absolutely loved it and so did we. I also must add that the staff there were by far the most enthusiastic and keen i have come across. Any queries we had were dealt with quickly. I would recommend this park without a doubt and will definately be going back again. The boat house and chippy sold good food and at a reasonable price. Super holiday.

Date visited: 23rd July 2011

Review by Sunderland on 10th June, 2011

Add your review
I booked a silver 3 bedroom caravan for myself my mother and 2 children aged 6 and 8. We had a wonderful time. We arrived early and were made to feel welcome and told to come back at 2 30 to check in. The play park and Boat house cafe kept us all happy to check in. The caravan was clean and near to the entertainment, as requested. The swimming pool complex was nice and the children went in daily, and it was disabled friendly. The entertainment was good, the kids loved Sparky and all the games and madness in the evening and the daily kids club. I think the holiday was great fun and value. I would recommend it to friends.

Date visited: 30 05 2011

Review by wymondhamboy on 6th May, 2011

Add your review
We have just come back from a week at Highfields and thankfully it only cost us about 70 with The Sun 9.50 holidays, because if I had paid full brochure price I would have been even more dissappointed than I am now. We checked in at around 5pm, no queues in reception although the 2 teenage lads on the desk were very disinterested in their job and not a happy smiley meeter and greeter as you would expect. We had a bronze 2 bedroom which was ok. It was an early 2000 model and showed some signs of wear and tear especially on the carpets and sofa's in the lounge. The shower/toilet room bizzarely had carpet on the floor which was water stained and constantly got wet again everytime you got out of the shower from the residue of water that sat on the glass. The beds were made up for us on arrival, the bedrooms were small, but we could cope with that. The kitchen was adequately equipped and clean, although we were missing a grill pan handle. The tv in the lounge was ok when watching terrestrial channels but if you changed over to digital channels there were only about half a dozen that worked (even after retuning) and then these would pixalate and freeze. The Grange (The Complex) was nice. A decent sized arcade with various different gaming and arcade style games. The main bar and evening entertainment venue which had plenty of seats and tables free although I would expect it hard to get a table in peak periods. The swimming area looked ok, but we didnt go in, so cant comment. The Boathouse showed football matches on the big screen and housed what looked like a nice bar and restaurant, although we didnt eat here or spend anytime in The Boathouse, so again cannot comment. The evening entertainment was poor. After the first night, we never bothered getting to the complex until after 9pm as before then it was bingo and kids club stuff. The main entertainment didnt start until 9.30/10pm. The female singer on the Monday night had a decent voice, but in our opinion had a very strange choice of songs, jumping from pop, to country to Disney in a random fashion. The Teamstar show "Rockstar supercar" was ok, but didnt seem to flow well and didnt all gel together to give it that "show" feel, also the team only consisted of 6 people and with one controlling the lights and sound in the box (and presumably one on a night off), there really isnt much chance of staging a more spectacular show with just 4 people on stage to bring it alive. Wednesday night saw duo Tide of Sound take to the stage with a collection of hits from the 60's right up to the present day. And finally Thursday evening saw The Balloonatic, a very clever and talented man who makes balloon animals/hats/etc but he plays to the whole audience, young and old alike, making models to music and finishes up by making the largest balloon dog you have ever seen. On the Wednesday evening we decided to try the onsite fish and chips, but it was closed despite a sign saying open 7 days a week. We finally got our fish and chips on Thursday after a 30 minute wait (and it wasn't even that busy) for the one member of staff to take everybodys orders and payment, cook the fish and chips and then serve it. The park itself was very untidy. They moved a caravan from the plot next to our caravan on Tuesday and left the decking they had removed from around it scattered around our caravan, making it very dangerous coming back late at night. The housekeeping staff finally tidied up the decking (a little bit anyway)on Friday morning just before we left. Security were on site in the evenings, but to my knowledge never made any tours around the site, they appeared to just staff the main gate (on one occasion I had forgotten my pass card and waved my credit card at them through my car window and they opened the barrier and let me in!?!?!?) They also staffed the main entrance to The Grange, but they were not bothered about checking passes and besides you could always get into the Complex via The Boathouse that never had security on the door. And on many occasions during the evening, all the Security would leave the main entrance unattended and be in the main show bar watching the entertainment. To sum up, I am glad we had no young children with us and that we only used the camp as a base and spent most days out and about. Would I holiday here again? Only on another Sun 9.50 holiday and only then if I cant get a Haven camp (which in my experience are far better). Would I recommend to friends and family? Definately not.

Date visited: 2 May 2011

Review by S Thomson on 28th March, 2011

Add your review
Wow what a difference!!!!! We have been to highfield before and found the staff unhelpful and basically the place was filthy, however this weekend has been amazing. The new team stars are fantastic and professional. The reception staff actually smiled and were helpful. Even the lady in the chip shop looked happy. The site was much cleaner and you could feel the positive energy. We are already planning to book in the summer. Well done to the new manager because he has saved that site.

Date visited: 25th march 2011

Review by scott on 6th December, 2010

Add your review
it nice holiday park we got a caravan there.

Review by Kelly on 11th November, 2010

Add your review
AWFUL! AWFUL! AWFUL! ENDED UP HAVING TO REFUSE TO LEAVE RECEPTION WITH TWO OTHER FAMILIES WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS AS US AND STAFF WITH ABSOLUTELY ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS! WE EXPECTED A BREAK IN A BASIC CARAVAN, BUT NOT A BREAK IN A SMELLY, DIRTY, UNSAFE CARAVAN!

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Diane on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
A warning, unless you are really sure of becoming an owner please check what you are letting yourself in for, not only is it VERY expensive the service you receive is rubbish from all angles, they always quote the small print if you complain. All overpriced and you will receive virtually nothing back when you leave, so be warned. I am now sorry I became an owner in first place (financially) but not for the relief from a nightmare of a neighbour. Over the years things have gone from bad to worse, no longer an ice cream parlour, no bowling, no seperate kids arcade, no sea food shop, no nick nack shop, no seperate owners bar, only one entertainment area with kids allowed to run riot instead of the three that were there origonally. Owners in fact are a nuisance as all Park Resorts want to do is make money.

Date visited: 2002-present

Review by Sophie Allen on 7th September, 2010

Add your review
If you just want a small break, this is the right place to go. I went with my family, and it was the best. Our caravan we stayed in, was really good considering we bought this holiday with tesco vouchers, so we would of expected something low standard. But no we had a very decent caravan. The staff there and the bluecoats were very nice and helpful. Onl bad thing was the staff in the reception were quite rude and not as nice as the other staff members! It was a really nice holiday break and hopefully we will be going back there in the future. The swimming pool was nice, and all the acade facillities were great to! Thanks for a lovely time! Hopefully go there again soon!!!!!!!

Date visited: 3rd September- 6th September 2010

Review by June Barnes on 19th August, 2010

Add your review
The site was full of riff raff, and I suppose that is only to be expected when you have cheap sun reader holidays.

Date visited: 28/06/2010

Review by Utterly dissapointed on 31st July, 2010

Add your review
After having a great time last year i booked another holiday in the same place even though i had a feeling that i shouldnt go back to the same place because i would be dissapointed. Last year i stayed in a bronze 3 bed caravan but it was too small so this year i booked a silver 3 bed (NEW, HA HA!!!) caravan. It was way smaller than a bronze it was right next to the service area with cars and vans slaming thier doors and speeding past the caravan window. The beds were so small even a 13 year old got tiped off and he isnt a big lad. There were pipes showing in the double room there was no room in the kitchen to prepare food. There was no storage what so ever.The pools had dirt and slime resting on the bottom and the life guards just sat there and did nothing. After all this we will not be going back ever again!!!!!

Date visited: 26-07-2010

Review by kelly on 25th July, 2010

Add your review
I have recently brought a caravan on this site, The service I recieved whilst in the process of choosing to buy was outstanding... free tea coffee cold drinks for kids and even food... However since buying it we had nothing but problems with chasing up work that needed doing, we got the van in May and has reported 8 TIMES that we need our outside light repaired as this has NEVER worked. Infact im so sick of it now Im complaining to head office,the staff there have so much cheek they even call me to show potential customers around MY CARAVAN and yet cant fix my problems. I have also noticed that on the gate it states that passes should be shown AT ALL TIMES!! what a JOKE anyone can drive on and off the site as no one is NEVER asked unless u play bingo in the club and have a win then they want proof that yr staying there obviously because they are giving away cash, U have alot of local kids/familys walking on to the site without even being asked. there seems to be alot of fights with kids and we have had things stolen frm around our van, I WISH I HAD NEVER BROUGHT A CARAVAN ON THIS SITE.I am putting in a formal complaint to the head office and will be taking this alot further if I am not happy with the response I get. I am happy to go all the way to the national papers to high light the reasons as to why people should not buy on this site or even with this company.

Date visited: owner

Review by Gary Wood on 19th July, 2010

Add your review
After being given this break by a friend who could not make it and after Reading some of these posts on here I was dubious of what it would be like. My worries were unfounded apart from a couple of gripes. My partner found a member of staff in reception, rude and unhelpful, that was as soon as we hot there. But special praise must go to Hayley who was one of the red waistcoat girls, we found her very helpful and fantastic with the kids. The caravan was quite dated but it had everything that was needed, apart from the ants that frequently appeared on the kitchen unit over the weekend. The site itself was clean and tidy. The entertainment is not too bad, the 90's boyband 911 appeared while we were there, not my cup of tea but the ladies enjoyed it and the kids entertainment was good too. Security was virtually non existent, they were only visible in the evenings at the doors to the grange to keep the pikeys in order. Anyone can just drive on and off site unchallenged which I found rather worrying with all the children present on site. All in all despite my gripes, we will be going back next time on a "sun" break as it is a lovely little place to go for a bit of peace and getaway from it all.

Date visited: 16-19 July 2010

Review by Madeleine Puzey on 16th July, 2010

Add your review
We only paid 99 for 4 nights the week before school hols started. This was a 6 berth bronze caravan. Ok so the bedrooms are tiny but aren't they always? we put our 15 month old in our double room where there was JUST room for the travel cot so he didn't wake up, see us and want to play - we slept on a very comfortable pull out sofa bed in the lounge, lots more room - and our 4yr old slept in a small room with 2 little single beds. Yes it was quite basic but it was clean and comfortable. Hubby moaned of a "smell" which may be as bronze caravans allow dogs. We had a shower that worked and had hot water. A tv that worked. The gas cooker's ignition didn't work so we borrowed a lighter from a nearby caravan where the lady said "the gas cookers never start, I always bring a lighter" - lesson for future. Baby pool was sooo warm it was almost too hot but my boys loved it. Big pool goes into outdoor pool (weather permitting) which was cold. But we had been in the "bath" first - probably like any other big swimming pool for temp. The pub served good reasonably priced food and drinks were reasonable with house doubles, offers on beer jugs etc. 5 mins drive from Clacton seafront, amusements on pier are good, few shops in the local town. Nearby Tesco and two Morrisons too as the resort shop is very basic tbh - you pass supermarkets on the way in, stop off and get some basics. Colchester zoo is apparently a great day out about 30mins away and plenty of other local attractions. Overall it was fantastic and for 6pp per night? value you could not beat elsewhere. It was after all only a base. My kids LOVED it and the grown ups had fun too.

Date visited: 12/07/2010

Review by tina jackson on 16th July, 2010

Add your review
just arrived home after a 4night stay at highfield holiday park,stayed in a bronze caravan every morning was woken at 5am to crows and pigeons fighting on the roof, if u have kids be very careful because bird droppings covered our whole caravan, not nice 2 look at when your eating breakfast.caravan was very dirty inside everything had 2 be washed. me and my husband both agree that park resort holidays are ruining the good british cheap holidays probably wouldnt have spent so much money if we had gone sbroad.

Date visited: 12 07 2010

Review by Jessica on 11th July, 2010

Add your review
I thought Highfield Grange was a lovely place. It was clean and tidy and lots to do around the park. The caravan coverd our needs, the toilet was a bit small for Dad but he managed to cope. We are coming back next year as it was so great. The service from the staff was exellent. The pool was nice because it was clean and it wasnt to busy.As for all the other comments are you sure it was the same place???!!!

Date visited: 02.8.2009

Review by kam on 17th June, 2010

Add your review
Never going back again, we use to stay in private rented 3-4 times a year until we were woken in the early hours of the morning by a lady be beaten half to death by her partner! The entertainment area is full of kids running round swearing and fighting,the pool got so full the children had to go in time slots,and it was dirty.Its a shame because the site is clean and looks nice.I would have given this review earlier but only just found this site.

Date visited: 6.2009

Review by DKasinos on 1st June, 2010

Add your review
Where do i start from. TV not working , Toilet leaking , taps would not turn off , full of cobwebs and leaf on the bed and under the bed, so dirty. I coplained and they fixed the toilet leak and replace the TV but in the process replacing the TV they stole my I Phone Charger ... Stay away if you want to have a nice holiday.

Date visited: 28th to 31st

Review by grimes on 16th April, 2010

Add your review
6 of us were put in a 2 bed caravan,we also had a travel cot ,which had to be up in the living area at all times because we had a toddler so there was no room to swing a mouse let alone a cat,the accommodation was also filthy,as the day we got home my toddler developed a nasty eye infection and we all became ill a couple of days after we came home,we asked on the day that we arrived for a 3 bed caravan because there wasnt enough room with a travel cot in the lounge and was told that we had booked a 6 birth caravan ,which we had booked a standerd caravan,for 6 people should have been a 3 bed their customer service was absoultly rubbish and they couldnt give a monkeys so we had to make do,we will never go back to highfield grange again,although the entertainment was fab

Date visited: 9,4.10

Review by graham on 2nd November, 2009

Add your review
SIX OF US WERE PUT IN A SMALL 2 BED VAN THAT WAS A WRECK.IT WAS DIRTY, SEATING WAS BROKEN, TV DID NOT WORK, SHOWER DOOR DID NOT SHUT, GLOBE MISSING FROM LIGHT EXPOSING WIREING,SIDE OF OVEN MISSING COULD NOT GRILL, RECEPTION STAFF WERE WORSE THAN USELESS. CAME HOME A DAY EARLY.

Date visited: 30 10 09

Review by anonymous on 29th October, 2009

Add your review
This was our second year at Highfield Grange, we were very disappointed. The entertainment in the mornings was disappointing, staff didn't get very involved, they sat kids down for 45 mins and told them to do colouring to build a rocket!! Very light hearted!! Staff did games last year but not this time. The outdoor pool wasn't open the whole time we were there as the bottom was full of dirt, outdoor slide opened only on occassions. (once i think the whole time we were there). Reported to security about drunk teenagers on childrens play area during the day who picked on our children, reported but nothing done. After 2nd year we wont be returning. Overall, not impressed.

Date visited: 31aug 2009

Review by Shaun dodson on 14th August, 2009

Add your review
We stayed in a gold caravan sleeping 8 and generally quite well appointed but smelt heavily of smoke! Overall impression of site was very tatty, lots of weeds around caravan etc. Resteraunt food ok if you got it hot which was not guaranteed, on complaining that one of our parties food was cold we were told " Well it is a long way from the kitchen!

Date visited: 10/08/09

Review by ed chambers on 29th May, 2009

Add your review
After reading the other reviews on this site we felt some trepidation about our holiday- we even tried to get our bronze caravan upgraded but nothing was available. So we took a deep breath before entering our bronze caravan- only to find that everything was fine. The caravan was clean and tidy, everything worked, there were 3 bedrooms and even though the kids' bedrooms were tiny they had one each so space wasn't a problem. The accommodation was far better than the supposedly 'platinum' chalet we stayed in at Pontins Camber Sands last August. The site itself was green and pleasant with lots of trees, and generally seemed well looked after. Swimming pools were less impressive- two indoor pools consisted of a tiny 'baby' pool and an almost as tiny fun pool which connected with the outdoor pool with the result that the water was far too cold. Changing facilities consisted of four small cubicles- completely inadeqaute. Restaurant appeared Ok although as it happened we didn't eat there- there's an enormous Tesco and a pizza hut right outside the site so there are plenty of food and drink choices. Evening enertainment for the kids consisted of the usual Sparkys Krew stuff- awful for the parents but the kids seemed to enjoy it and some of the entertainers seemed to have a genuine talent for making the children laugh. Bar prices reasonable. Plenty of parking space. Clacton itself doesn't offer an awful lot if the weather isn't on your side, but I'd say this is one of the better holiday parks we've been on over the last few years.

Date visited: 25/5/09

Review by mr jimmy medford on 9th November, 2008

Add your review
booked a bronze caravan for four nights,when we got inside are caravan found both sinks block,not to bad the kitchen,but the bathroom one had scum around it, phone deputy manager straight away get somebody out. got it done on a tuesday afternoon, not good.one of the quilts was torn,went to pool on tuesday morning,told open at ten,no lifeguard said pool needed heating up come back at eleven, came back at eleven,went to changing room with young daughter whos nine ,none avaiable, used disabled,no lock on door. stayed about half hour,got out no bloody shower working.getting a bit cold at night ask receptionist for heaters, surprise there is none all hired out sir, so all week stayed in living room with my daughters, where there is a heater. thank you thank you high feild grange for a wonderful time in your 4,yes 4 stars accommandation,should i come again.what do you think

Date visited: 27/10/08

Review by alan snellings on 31st August, 2008

Add your review
we booked this break as a last minute break as I had just come out of hosptial. When we arrived at the site we picked up the keys to the caravan and when we got in the van there was a hole in the wall, curtains hanging off the rail, doors that wouldn't shut, windows that would not shut, broken smoke alarm and lots of knobs on cuboards missing, so you could not open or close them. After three visits to the so called friendly reception ,a maintanence guy came out and fixed only some of the things that were wrong. The guy said the van should never have been rented out! We went to the boathouse bar for some food which came out cold and we had to wait 25 mins for some toast which we sent back and that was the last we saw of it and we did not get our money back! It also took some 15 mins to get a cup of coffee, the coffee was about the only good thing i could say about High field grange! The customer services manager was meant to come and see us but never turned up i wonder why? The recepeption has a notice saying they pride themselves on their customer services, unfortunately we found their customer services and site to be lacking in any kind of pride to their customers. The only memebers of staff who were helpful was the lifeguards and the teamstars and the maintenance guy. I cannot in all honesty recommend Highfield Grange holiday camp and we will not be going back there again. Out of a score of 5 I would give it 1.

Date visited: 23-8-08

Review by Tim Taylor on 28th August, 2008

Add your review
Wow it used to be great we all had fun so why not join Highfield holiday park on face book become a member like me maybe meet some one you knew or even had a fling with :)

Date visited: 1979 / 1992

Review by jane on 4th June, 2008

Add your review
I used to go as a child with my family and there was a lot more to do for children then than there is now. With modern times I thought that it should get better/stay the same not decline. One shop, chip shop closed at times that it should be open. Ok the indoor pool is a great bonus as it was only an outside one before.

Date visited: April 2008

Review by Emma on 20th April, 2008

Add your review
We've just got back from a 2 week holiday at Highfield Grange and we thought it was fantastic. They have spent loads of money doing the park up and they are still adding more improvements. The Teamstars were excellent and my children (5 and 1 yrs) had such a great time they didn't want to leave. The caravan was clean and I can't think of any complaints. Well, except for the weather but I can't blame the holiday park for that ;-)

Date visited: April 2008

Review by loraine on 20th March, 2008

Add your review
I agree with Tony, Highfield used to be a fabulous place to holiday and also to own a caravan but I definately wouldn't now. Park Resorts have ruined it. There is absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever. Nothing about it reminds me of being 'on holiday'. The entertainment apart from that in the Highfield Grange is appalling or non-existant. No adult bar left, been replaced with a 'new' bar which has no entertainment, just TV screens, which you can watch at home if thats what you want. Security is less than useless, all in all very very disappointing. May be OK if you have nothing to compare it with, but for those of us who knew it pre 'Park Resorts'a big let down

Date visited: august 2007

Review by LLEAHLOVE9@AOL.COM on 17th March, 2008

Add your review
I HAD A CARAVAN FOR 20 YEARS ON THERE SOLD IT, THEN GOT ANOTHER. WHAT HAPPEND TO THE POOLROOM, AND THE OVER 18`S BAR ITS RUBBISH I WILL BE SELLING MY CARAVAN ONCE AGAIN

Date visited: 2007

Review by tony on 13th March, 2008

Add your review
I feel that since this park has been taken over by park resorts it has steadily gone down hill.The security is practically non existant,you cannot even get your kids a proper ice cream on site,only one shop, used to be many ,the chippy is never open or ran out of chips.....what ever happened to great british holidays ???? who used to own it ,it was great then ..Anyway enough of my winging.

Date visited: 2004-2008

Review by sam wood on 28th August, 2006

Add your review
i felt the way they delt with te incdent was very good .........

Review by kaleigh nevin on 6th May, 2005

Add your review
well i have been at hyfields for 5 years and it keeps gettin better every year i am very proud of the way the park is turning out xxx

Date visited: 2000-2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Great discoveries and improvements invariably involve the cooperation of many minds - Alexander Graham Bell
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages