White

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of White Cross Bay Holiday Park, Windermere

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Phil and Family on 20th December, 2010

Add your review
We've just got back from a fantastic Holiday at Grasmere 1 Lodge at White Cross Bay Holiday Park. The lodge was very spacious, clean, tidy and had everything we needed for our stay. We booked our holiday directly with the owners through their website welovethelakes.com and it couldn't have been easier. As this is a privately owned Lodge, the owners also provided those extra little touches that make all the difference and it was great to wake up each day and have nature on your doorstep. The Lodge also has a beautiful balcony and decked area with a picnic table which was the perfect place for a morning coffee and a glass of wine on the evening! Whilst it's easy to have a relaxing time, we found that the park also had plenty for the kids including sports courts, play areas and a swimming pool. There is also a sauna and a gym for the grown ups. It's a self catering park, but there is a great pub and restaurant on site that has a great menu and of course Bowness and Ambleside are only a few minutes away in either direction with plentiful choice for all budgets and where you'll also find lots of shops, places to eat and drink, family attractions and lots more. We wish we'd booked to stay longer, but it means that there's still lots more to see and do next time we come. We took our dog with us as well and he had a great stay also. There are loads of beautiful places to walk in the immediate area and White Cross Bay Holiday Park is very pet friendly and must have one of the best woodland walking areas of any park for dogs. We'll definitely be back next year and we’ll definitely go back to this lodge!

Date visited: October 2010

Review by Peter Hill on 24th September, 2010

Add your review
Just got back from white cross bay stayed for 4 nights.I was a bit put out that we had to wait in the bar for a few hours because the unit was,nt ready because we arrived to early, were as other people were turning up and getting their keys right away,it must work like the lottery,if your lucks in you get your keys right away and if your lucks not in you have to wait. Anyway the girl in reception was very sorry but i might add,very polite as were all the girls in reception,the bar staff were also very polite.the caravan we stayed in was spotless the pool was great and the sauna all in all it was a great 4 days. Oh and the sailing was great we will be going back next year.

Date visited: 20.September 2010

Review by Dawn on 18th September, 2010

Add your review
The site itself was fine but our log cabin was far from being fine. Don't know when the last time the owners of that particular cabin had been to visit it but there were cobwebs all over the place inside and out. Leaves and dead branches were all over the veranda. The cleaners don't appear to have been bothered to do a proper clean from the last visitors. Bed linen was still sitting wet in the washing machine. The pans were old, scratched and handles falling off. A smoke alarm that constantly went off as soon as you put the oven on or placed bread in the toaster. It didn't make any difference even when we opened the doors and windows. In the end we had to pull the battery out every time we used the kitchen to cook in! Shame really, as I cannot fault White Cross Bay itself as a resort but what lets it down is the privately-owned properties that are not cared for as well as the Southlands-owned properties. If we were to go again we would rent one of the resort's own cabins.

Date visited: 11th September 2010

Review by Adam Cray on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
We've just got back from a fantastic weekend break at White Cross Bay. We hired one of the caravans which was very clean, tidy and had everything we needed for our stay. It was great to wake up and have nature on your doorstep. As we had a picnic table outside our caravan (and the weather was good) it was the perfect place for a morning coffee! The caravan we stayed in had 2 bedrooms, which slept the four of us comfortably. The park has plenty going on for the kids including sports courts, play areas and a swimming pool. There is also a sauna and a gym for the grown ups. It's a self catering park, but there is a restaurant on site that has a great menu and the prices were better than we were expecting. White Cross Bay is close to Bowness, where you'll find lots of shops, places to eat and drink, family attractions and lots more. We wish we'd booked to stay longer, but it means that there's still lots more to see and do next time we come. We'll definitely be back.

Date visited: 16/08/2010

Review by Nick Kelly on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
White Cross Bay is the perfect family holiday park. It has plenty of things for the whole family to enjoy like a swimming pool, gym and sauna, kids play areas, a restaurant and bars and lots more. The park is friendly and the staff are very helpful. We own a holiday home at White Cross Bay and bever miss a chance to visit. There's lots to at the park and even more things on its door step such as Ambleside and Bowness which have lots of shops, cafes restaurants and pubs. White Cross Bay is not just for owners though, it has a hire fleet too. Much reccomended.

Date visited: 06/08/2010

Review by Ben Lockwood on 17th August, 2010

Add your review
We've just got back from a lengthy stay at our holiday lodge at White Cross Bay. We've had our lodge for just over a year and never miss a chance to get up there as the kids love it and it gives me and the wife some time to relax. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and the park seems to get better and better. The kids were never short of something to do as there is a swimming pool, play areas, an arcade and lots more. As White Cross Bay is only a short distance away from most of the Lake District's hot spots we were able to visit Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere taking in the sights and attractions. The restaurant at White Cross Bay is still one of my favourite places on the park, not just because the food is fantastic, but it also means I don't have to do the washing up :)

Date visited: 06/08/2010

Review by Mr Young on 14th August, 2010

Add your review
I have looked at the reviews of the park, I am very sorry to say that out stay did not come up to expectations. When we arrived the bathroom had not been cleaned for many weeks, with black mould in the shower, dirty towels were left in a bag in the cupboard that housed the boiler. In the kitchen the oven was cover in grease from the last visitors, All glasses and dishes had to be washed, there was a shortage of mugs 3 for 5 people. In all the lodge No.35 was very much needing a little money spent by the owner to bring it up to a better standard. We felt that to pay £888.00 plus £25.00 total £913.00 was not good value for money. We have spent many holidays in self- catering, and this is one we will not be returning to or recommending it to anyone.

Date visited: 31/7/10 - 07/8/10

Review by Jay Garrick on 22nd July, 2010

Add your review
White Cross Bay is a fantastic holiday park. We recently stayed there in one of their hire fleet which had everything we needed. There was lots to do within the park such as play areas for the kids, a sports court, a swimming pool and an arcade. It is near to all the main attractions in the Lake district so you don't have to travel far for other things to do. The staff were very helpful and polite and kept the park looking great at all times. We'll definitely be back.

Date visited: 09/07/2010

Review by Mark Hayes on 19th April, 2010

Add your review
We've just arrived home after a fantastic weekend at White Cross Bay and I had to log on to let you know. We booked the holiday from www.slholidays.co.uk, who are also the park operators, where we got a great deal on a holiday lodge for the weekend. The park had everything we needed for the weekend, including places to eat out, places to buy food to cook at the lodge, a bar and a swimming pool. The park was really close to Bowness which had loads going on. We chose to go for a boat trip on the lake which was lovely. We wanted a quiet gettaway for the weekend with a few activities thrown in, we got that and more at White Cross Bay. Even the weather held up for us! Will visit again.

Date visited: 16th April 2010

Review by Chris Palmer on 30th March, 2010

Add your review
White Cross Bay has to be one of the best places we had ever stayed at in the Lake District, which is why my partner and I bought a holiday lodge there a number of years ago. The park itself is fantastic, plenty of friendly holiday makers and other owners as well as helpful staff. There is lots to do at White Cross Bay ranging from the indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym to a family lounge bar, indoor amusements and a shop that has all the essentials for your stay. White Cross Bay is ideal if you're looking for somewhere to stay as a base to explore the surrounding area. Bowness is only a short distance away and is full of shops, places to eat and drink and lots of things to do for days out. We bought a holiday lodge at White Cross Bay as we thought it would be nice to have somewhere special to stay when we visited the lakes, rather than a B&B. The range of lodges are incredible and the staff at White Cross Bay were great in helping us choose the right one for us.

Date visited: 26th March 2010

Review by Darren Harding on 24th March, 2010

Add your review
What a fantastic park White Cross Bay is! It has everything going on, it's dead close to local amenities and attractions and is home to the comfiest caravan I've ever stayed in! My wife, son and myself went to White Cross Bay at the weekend and had such a wonderful time. There was lots to do in the park that kept our son busy such as the children's play area and swimming pool, which meant for an early night for him, not that we were complaining! Non-child activities include the rest of the leisure facilities such as the sauna, gym and bar, which has recently been refurbished according to the staff. The staff were very helpful during our stay, pointing out places we might want to visit, such as the South Lakes Wild Animal Park, The Aquarium of the Lakes and Go Ape. The caravan was spacious but cosy at the same time. The decor was modern and it made me wonder how much they are to buy. I love the idea of being able to go on holiday whenever I like, and to such a lovely park too. The local area is absolutely stunning and there are plenty of places to eat and drink and be entertained.

Date visited: 19th March 2010

Review by Eddie Brown on 18th March, 2010

Add your review
We hadn't spent any time at our holiday lodge at White Cross Bay since before the floods. The site seems to be back to normal now. The kids were excited to be back, and even with the children's play area being out of action while we were there there was still plenty to do, such as go swimming, go for walks in the woods, hire bikes and go for a ride and so much more. Owning a lodge at White Cross Bay means we don't have to think about booking somewhere to stay, we're right by the lake and a stone's throw away from Bowness. The staff have always been very helpful with us, from helping us choose the right lodge to keeping us up to date with what's going on locally so we can see and do things we might not have otherwise have known about. Our lodge is big enough for the four of us and is spacious yet cosy and very comfortable.

Date visited: 10th March 2010

Review by Paddy on 26th February, 2010

Add your review
My family and I stayed in one of the Superior caravans in November and had a wonderful weekend! Although the weather was a bit drab, we still had plenty to keep us occupied... The swimming pool and arcades kept the kids quiet, while my partner and I enjoyed the on park woodland walks followed by a few drinks in the family bar. The caravan itself was plenty big enough for the four of us and had everything we needed for our little weekend break. Again, like most of the other reviews mention, this park is geared towards people staying in the static caravans and lodges, rather than people bringing their tourers. Although from the people we met who had brought tourers, they said they were having a good time.

Date visited: 20th November

Review by Ron&Jean on 11th December, 2009

Add your review
Lovely place - stayed in one of the lodges, it was lovely and clean plus it had everything we needed and was comfortable. Staff were very nice and the surroundings great!

Date visited: 30th November

Review by Simpson on 26th November, 2009

Add your review
The place is fab - clearly geared up for a lodge holiday - this isn't a touring site so why the 'vanners come is a mystery.....

Date visited: october 09

Review by Matthew Barker on 25th November, 2009

Add your review
My family and I recently stayed at White Cross Bay for a week during half term. This holiday park is on the stunning shores of Lake windermere, and often in a morning my son and I would take a wonder down to the shore and have ten minutes watching the boats and chatting. The surroundings are breath taking and picture perfect. The accommodation was extremely nice, we stayed in a standard caravan, which was clean and tidy, with everything we needed for our 5 days there. There was space. The staff were very friendly and helpful with us, there is a wonderful swimming pool on site which both my son and daughter loved, plenty of walks nearby that we all enjoyed, and the food in the bar was good very nice. We had a wonderful time at this park and will definitely be going back next year! Fair enough it wasn't scorching hot sunshine but we didn't expect it to be in October in England.

Date visited: 26th October 2009

Review by The Cleaver Family on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
After reading the comments about this site we were very concerned about what we would find when we arrived. However, our lodge A74 was clean, spacious and equipped with everything we needed during our holiday. We did have to ask for some more pillows as these were a little "flat". Staff dealt with us courteously although we found prices at the bar were a little high. We had a FAB holiday regardless of the weather and found plenty of things to do whilst we were in the area.

Date visited: 15-22 August 2009

Review by A Birch on 19th August, 2009

Add your review
If you fancy a short break staying in true Shrek Style ,parking your expensive camper van on a dicrepid shingle and cracked flag base sourounded by bog land this is the place for you, the over priced bar starting from £3.40 a pint along with a £5 charge if you want to use the pool adds further temptation to those of you who like nothing better than throwing your cash away. The toilet and shower block was only a short drive from our pitch so we shouldnt have had an issue however seeing that they seemed no cleaner than a rustic Cumbrian barn it all added to the experience. The staff apeared to be board and unwilling to even carry out the most basic of tasks eg standing up. All in all if you want to be treated like a second class client go on tour to White Cross Bay and let the good times roll.

Date visited: August 09

Review by Christine Giles on 13th August, 2009

Add your review
I felt that i should write this review after staying at the WhiteCross Bay holiday park. Although all the reviews i have read on this site are for the lodges or static vans, my mother booked this site for a touring pitch and the location. We arrived on Monday afternoon, really excited to be back in the lakes. On arrival, my mum booked us in, the staff seemed very helpful, although you have to pay a £20 deposit for what were not quite sure. We proceeded to pitch up, the motorhome required water, unfortunately this filling area is on a slope and appeared to be the only water site around. The pitches are very close together, in my opinion the 3m rule does not apply here at all in various places. We went to have a look around the park and its facilities, to be very disappointed, the showers and toilet block was disgusting and filthy, A complaint was made regarding the cleanliness of this place,only to be told that it was cleaned twice a day!!! The showers did not work properly, when someone went to the toilet and flushed it, you were scalded by extremely hot water. The after 11pm does not apply to this park as revellers came back gone midnight extremely loud. Be prepared to pay £5 each for the use of the swimming pool ect this was not mentioned online or when booked,Although if you book in to the Fallbarrow Park the use of thses facilities are FREE. There is a very small park for the children, it is only really designed for younger children so the older ones run amock. Going back to the showers on the last night, there is no hot water at all!!! I only thank god for the beautiful weather we have had this week, as it meant we didnt have to spend anymore time in this disgusting hellhole. It is safe to say we shall not be visiting this site again. As members of the Camping and Caravan club, you pay less for better facilities at other sites.

Date visited: 10th August 2009 - 14th August 2009

Review by prentice on 8th August, 2009

Add your review
we have just had the most amazing holiday at white cross bay park. i would totally reccommend it, the children loved it , we loved it. could not fault a thing (apart from the food in the cafe/restaurant). we will definatly book again for next year. the lodge we stayed in was perfect..facillities, space and was a real home from home. a bbq would have completed the package !!!

Date visited: 1-7th august 2009

Review by The Falkinghams on 7th August, 2009

Add your review
I felt that i needed to write a review as there were so many negative reviews and we had the opposite experience. We stayed in a 3 bed superior caravan which upon arrival was spotless, everything was clean and tidy and it was very well equipt. We have 2 young children and with the 4 of us there was plenty of space to run around and play. The park itself is beautiful and also very well kept. There was a small childrens play area which was situated just outside the bar so we could have a drink and supervise at the same time. The shop was also small but again had everything you would need and all the staff we came across were very helpful and friendly. The pool and gym area were great and my children went swimming everyday. We throughly enjoyed our stay at this park and would certianly recommend it to others. Everyone is entitled to there own opinion but please dont let the negative reviews put you of booking or staying here like it nearly did us. Believe me it's worth every penny!!!

Date visited: 25th July 2009

Review by Yvonne on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
I felt I had to send a review as my holiday was polar opposite to the previous review (we were at the park during the same period). We were a family with a young child and stayed in a superior caravan. The park really impressed us. The caravan was spotless and had all the mod cons, we felt so at home and relaxed there. The shop kept stock of the essentials and the cafe/bar was great. The park is perfectly located between Bowness and Ambleside. Our child had so much fun running around the park, feeding the ducks, and playing in the playground (which sits behind the cafe/bar so mum and dad can have a drink and a bite to eat in peace whilst watching!) I really have no negative comments about the park, we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra few days.

Date visited: July 09

Review by Yvonne on 13th July, 2009

Add your review
After reading the reviews I had some concerns about staying at this park but I needn't have worried as we all had a fabulous time. We booked for a week but extended by 4 days as we were having such a relaxing holiday. We have a 2 year old child who loved running around the park and feeding the ducks. We stayed in a superior caravan with DVD player and felt right at home. The launderette got plenty of use so I can recommend that! The bar and bar food was absolutely fine, we were just thankful that it was child friendly. The onsite shop sold all the necessities. This holiday park is in such a great location between Bowness and Ambleside and there is SO much to do around the Lakes regardless of the weather. I highly recommend it for families with toddlers and have booked to return next year.

Date visited: 28th June 2009

Review by The Rileys. on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
We are currently stuck here in this over-sized shed (lodge),(this is only our 2nd night >.<) please help. It is dim, dull and dirty. We had to wash all the cutlery and stuff on the first day, which was fun. There are cobwebs everywhere, all around the windows, bathroom, by the beds...lovely. Pool closed, no reason for it. Pool/snooker table - out of order. That' about it. We just came back from the 'bar'/'pub'... where they made us feel very uncomfortable at 10:55 by bleaching the floors (Oh, so they DO have cleaning supplies, shame they didn't think of using them in the SHEDS!!), turning off all sources of entertainment (AKA - LIVE MADONNA ON TV) and staring at us. One particular woman behind the bar would just NOT break eye-contact with me. She was rude, stuck up and judgemental. As enjoyable as this was, at around 11:15, we decided to depart from this uncomfortable silence, and return back to the wonders of our hut. After watching (squinting over at) the tiny TV which, btw, doesn't come equipped with a DVD player, I got bored and decided to take advantage of one of the only perks of this place (free internet). I thought it my duty to warn all you people in advance...You don't want to do this to yourself. Go to center parks instead, it's much less gassy! This isn't a holiday resort.

Date visited: 4th July 2009

Review by Carole Park on 20th May, 2009

Add your review
Having just returned from a weekend break at Whitecross Bay I felt compelled to write given some of the reviews below. I could not disagree more with the comments below. Firstly, the lodge we stayed in was beautiful and the facilities were second to none - the television was brand new with DVD player which was really handy for the kids when we had a rainy day (or two!). The lodge was very spacious and above all clean - I don't think that they rely on previous guests to ensure that utensills and grills are cleaned properly which was unusual! Bed linen provided was fresh and we received two towels each. Yes there were other lodges and caravans around but surely this is to be expected at a holiday park? There was plenty of space around our lodge for the kids to play and for eating meals outside - without being too close to fellow holidayers. We had a lovely family holiday enjoying the facilities of the park - there is a supermarket near by for if you want to cook for yourselves - we did this most nights but had a couple of nice lunches in the park cafe. The food was good, decent choice for the children. Location was good for visiting Ambleside and Winderemere - I recommend taking a boat out if you have children, ours loved it. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, we wanted to especially mention the young lady who served us for lunch in the cafe, sweet girl very chatty. We would recommend this park to families who want a relaxing family holiday with all amenities in absolutely beautiful surroundings.

Date visited: May 2009

Review by Gav on 13th May, 2009

Add your review
The lodge was fine, seemed clean enough and apart from the kitchen tap breaking on the last day of a 4 night stay everyhting was fine, bedding was provided and ok, towels were clean and fresh, i have to say tho we stayed in number 75 and I have the impression this was a new(ish) lodge. The view wasnt great (overlooking the caravans ) but was at least part screened by trees. The restuaraunt is way overpriced, as is the bar. The pool and sauna etc look great (although we didnt use them) The staff were all friendly and the waitresses were pleasant and helpful. The shop doesnt carry a lot but has essentials. I'd probably visit again, if i was sure i was getting a new lodge or one at least like we had this april.

Date visited: 13/04/09

Review by James Harrison on 4th December, 2008

Add your review
We booked a long weekend for the fireworks, really enjoyed it, very good fireworks but weather abit soggy. nice clean caravan been coming here for years and love it, had had a few problems in the past but the site has much improved even in the last year. kids love it, nice warm clean caravan. only downfall can be the weather. but i think thats why they have lakes. Will definatly visit again, staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Date visited: 06 nov 2008

Review by Mike Smith on 6th September, 2008

Add your review
From the brochures & website, we had high hopes of this holiday park. We paid over £200 extra to ensure we got a log cabin 'lodge', rather than a caravan. The lodge they gave us initially was dark, gloomy and could have been anywhere. It was located close to caravans and was little more than one. The interior was tatty, but ABSOLUTELY FILTHY. We refused to stay and had to bypass the very unhelpful reception staff and speak to a manager to get any sense out of the park. They offered us another lodge after much bantering and told us they wanted another £100 for it. We were not prepared to pay any more but reluctantly accepted this second lodge. Again, it was very dirty - although not as bad as the last one. My wife & I sepnt over an hour doing some basic cleaning before we would let the kids into it. This included removing the spattered curry from the walls & appliances in the kitchen (but not the ceiling), washing all of the cutlery & crockery & cleaning out just enough coupboards & drawers for us to use. Bed linen & towels were supposed to be provided, with beds made up on arrival for you. Neither cabin had this and we had to repeatedly ask. We were told something about a breakdown at the laundry company, but could not get any answers so went out for a meal. When we returned at 9pm, we found our clean laundry ceremonially dumped in plastic bags outside the lodge and then had to start making up the beds. Not a good start at all! The park itself is well located, the swimming pool is fairly good but there are several facilities which could be improved with a little more thought & attention. I think they have a cheek to say 'no jeans or trainers' in the 'Restaurant' (more like a cafe) as people are on HOLIDAY and that's what modern-day families wear! Maintenance is sadly lacking - our shower barely worked and the knob kept falling off. All the taps leaked terribly and the drain from our kitchen sink leaked everytime we used it. Don't be fooled by the idyllic lakeside picture as there are about 5 (private) lodges which have this view only and all those lovely jetties for the boats are locked off and marked 'Strictly Private'. There is a small picnic area which has a lakeside frontage, but that's about it. In summary - there are far better places to go than this, especially for that kind of money. If you love cleaning other people's filth in a dropping down 'caravan' made to look like a shed, then this is the holiday for you!

Date visited: 17th to 20th June 2008

Review by sue on 24th August, 2008

Add your review
We booked our holiday at white cross bay, i flagged up comments from this review page to jeanette vaughan, reservations manager for south lakeland parks. She assured me she would make sure our holiday would be fantastic. It wasn't. Our lodge was on the main route through the park to the waterside, our lounge was overlooked by all walking past, the bedroom was too. I offered to pay to be moved to another lodge, but was told it was full up. The lodge was filthy, with no carpet sweeper, i was told at reception they were awaiting a delivery of sweepers, until then i could HIRE for ONLY £10 a hoover! I of course refused and insisted someone came and hoovered free of charge - which they did after 2 days and 2 reminders. The kettle was a whistling gas top kettle. The cooker was filthy, all utensils were filthy, and lots missing. The bathroom taps had to be repaired twice. The shower had to be repaired. The balcony was wobbly and not safe to lean on. The spotlight shades in the bedrooms get so hot we burnt our fingers on them, yes these are in the kids rooms too. The lounge lights are not bright enough to read by. The sofas were filthy. The gas fire made a awful noise, the gas cooker stunk of gas and gave off thick smoke from the grease in the bottom of the oven, and the smoke detector didn't work. The reception staff listened but their hands were tied. The pool was full of hair, the changing rooms are tiny, and have no cubicles. The food in the restaurant is basic and expensive. The laundrette only has 2 washers and 2 driers. The kids play area is tiny for the amount of kids on site, and there is only the one area. This is supposed to be a 5 star park, the sink in the bowl had a asda smart price sticker on it! As did the brush and dustpan I eventually begged for. We paid over £800 for 7 nights, I even tried to get moved to another park, but to no avail. The headboards are not fixed, the bolts lay under the beds in thick dust and cobwebs. The curtains didn't go all the way across the window, there were big gaps. Our neighbours went home 3 days early. Everyone i spoke to said the same about the filthy state of the lodges. The good points of our holiday? The lakes are a beautiful part of our country, and we were out as much as possible, spending limited time in our lodge. We enjoyed our days out very much, there is loads to do. And lots of alternative accommodation! Have a good search!

Date visited: 16.8.08 - 23.8.08

Review by Pat on 13th June, 2008

Add your review
Went to White Cross Bay for one week 30th May to 6Th June in one of their caravans. The caravan was O.K. it was clean, there was a welcome pack of tea coffee, milk etc. All these particular caravans were right under trees, each had picnic table and seats next to them but there was no way you were ever going to get any sun because of the siting under the trees. Had a very old telly with no remote control (they are stolen according to reception),with dreadful reception on sound with BBC 1. At night we discovered the lights in the bedroom and lounge were about 40w. There was only one light and you could hardly see to read. For a 5 star caravan park this was cheap and nasty. The park itself was reasonable but had a lot of wood lying about and there was gravel, not grass next to each caravan which is not good for young children playing. The bar and restaurant prices were high and when we were there there were not many people staying. I don't think we would be happy to go back to the same type of accommodation.

Date visited: 30th May 2008

Review by Colin Matthews on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
Have just come back from a two week stay in a Lodge at White Cross Bay. The first thing we noticed was a note pinned up in the bathroom which had been written by a previous resident alerting us to the fact there was a leak under the sink which had been reported on 3rd May. It soon became clear that the leak had not been fixed as every time we used the sink there was water all over the bathroom floor making it very slippy and dangerous. The hot water tap on the sink was loose and when you turned it, the whole thing moved and it was very difficult to turn back off again particularly with scalding hot water coming out of it as you actually had to hold the base of the ttap unit whilst you turned it off. Despite reporting this again, nobody ever came to fix it and we had to stop using the sink in the end. In the description provided for the Lodge it stated that there was a Fridge/Freezer - this was incorrect as all we had was a fridge which was a bit of an inconvenience. Also in the description it stated there was an Electric Fire however, there is a Gas Fire fitted. It did work but when you switched it on it gave off a horrible noise which was unbearable so we didn't use it. With regard to the TV - it said in the description there was Satellite TV (Selected Channels). I would have had no issue with this if all the channels had been available all of the time however, they were constantly going off with the message "this channel has a technical fault" and were sometimes unavailable for a couple of days. Again, this matter was reported twice again, to no avail. There was also no remote control for the TV which, incidentally was a tiny portable TV. When we went to use the Radio/CD Player we discovered that the speakers were not connected. A closer look revealed that the connectors on the wires were incompatible with the sockets in the rear of the Radio/CD also, the remote control for the Radio/CD was for a different machine - again, reported this at Reception but nothing done about it so we couldn't use it. The kitchen was supposed to be fully kitted out with all utensild however, half of these were missing. The kitchen itself was not in good repair with panels hanging off the units - having seemingly being repaired with the use of blue-tack. The second bedroom with the twin beds had not been cleaned properly - the carpet down the side of the bed was thick with dust and debris from previous residents. This was the room our 2 year old daughter was sleeping in - not ideal. In summary, the accomodation was very poor - the Park management and staff clearly couldn't care less about the residents. We used the Restaurant and Bar facilities only once whilst there. They were both very very expensive. The pool, sauna and fitness room were all ok. All in all, this accomodation was, in my personal opinion, very expensive and poor value for money and we left hugely disappointed after our two week stay.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by Darren Smith on 27th May, 2008

Add your review
I have not stayed at this park but my parents have a few years ago and ive walked around it. I cant believe how much Southlakeland Holidays want to charge for a 3 night break in June in a caravan, almost £500. Whats that all about. Would anyone seriously pay that price for 3 nights in a caravan. Doubt i will be staying here.

Date visited: NA

Review by mrs A Hinde on 20th May, 2008

Add your review
me & my family used to visit white cross bay 2 to 3 times a year.we found that they had lots of special offers which was great if you fancied getting away for a few days break.You could even book for a night,which we often did.since 2007 the prices have gone up quite a lot as the pool and gym are now included in the overall price.We really love white cross bay but we will not pay over the top prices.I bet you are not as busy as you used to be.

Date visited: sept 06

Review by h sutton on 7th March, 2008

Add your review
We have never visited the lake district before but as soon as we reached Cumbria, we found the scenery, the lakes and mountains breathtaking, the weather was on our side for the week aswell After reading previous holiday makers reviews of the park, I was a little worried and less than hopeful of the standards of cleanliness but was very pleasantly suprised when we found our caravan in the deer park section of the site, absolutely spotless and smelling fresher than fresh itself. Plenty of cutlery, plates, all kitchen implements and utensils you might forget to bring yourself had been included, the lounge included a colour television and cd/ radio player, the sofas were an excellent size and I had no issues with sitting on them, very hygienic We had two bedrooms which were also spotless and fresh, plenty of wardrobe space and a huge selection of clean towels and laundry. The park was visited several times a day by the cleaning staff in a van and a maintenance/ handy man. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the receptionist even went out of her way to lend me one of her pens from her stationery cupboard when I did not want to buy a pack of three from the shop. The shop has an excellent selection of food and drink for self caterers, daily newspapers, everything you might need basically. We used the swimming pool and sauna several times, the only complaint I have is that the deep end could have been a little deeper as while swimming lengths I kept stubbing my toes on the bottom of the pool :D

Date visited: 3 - 7 March 2008

Review by kathryn watts on 16th October, 2007

Add your review
Please put this review up urgently. We too thought the White Cross Bay looked beautiful, true its in a lovely position by lake windermere, but what a shock we got. Six adults in two lodges, one couple had a lodge to themselves so payed £500, other four shared lodge number 45, another £500. We had three dogswith us, Thats where the problems started, both lodges had not been hoovered, dog hairs everywhere, although we have dogs our dogs are clean, well groomed, and not smelly. It was as if the cleaners thought just because we have dogs we would put up with all the ingrained muck, carpets not cleaned for months!Not only that but....loges were shabby, filthy kitchen areas, grease under the kitchen bowls,no grill pan..no bacon! no toilet brush!! greasey pillows..yuk! carpet sweeper..what a joke full of thickly wrapped hairs. No microwave plate in micro. Kitchen doors hanging off, very poorly equiped kitchen, grubby shower cubicles....there not baths as stated in the blurb!!!tiny second bedroom oh and finally don't take any nice clothes to hang up you don't get hangers!! Yeh thanks White Cross Bay a really luxurious relaxing holiday ...NOT! never again

Date visited: 6.10.07 - 12.10.07

Review by b anderson on 13th October, 2007

Add your review
we arrived past midnight on the 8th and soon enough security showed us straight to our lodge.he then put on all the heating as it was quite chilly then left.the next morning we went to find the shop which considering the size of the park was way too small;however all the staff seemed really helpful and very friendly.our lodge was well equipped and very cosy with just a short walk to the lake.we would definately return to whitecross as it is in a great location and the staff were great.

Date visited: 8th-12th october 07

Review by S J Davies on 22nd June, 2007

Add your review
Having been to this park on a number of occasions over a period of several years the standards and quality are continually going down. So much so that I will never visit again due the appalling way in which my family were treated at our last visit. Our caravan was filthy, half the electrical fittings did not work, the gas rings were filthy and after complaining every day, even to the manager, nothing was done for our whole holiday except one replacement light.I tried to make use of the facilities provided only to find bits of equipment in the gym were broken, the swimming pool needed a good clean and the reception staff, bar two, were rude and unhelpful. If this is the sort of holiday that appeals to you then go there, but if you want an enjoyable relaxing break then go elsewhere.

Date visited: Easter 2007

Review by hannah earp on 16th May, 2007

Add your review
We were thrilled with our stay at White Cross Bay. It was just the family break we needed. We stayed in a 3 bed superior caravan which was very well equiped in a lovely peaceful setting next to the forest. My daughter and I spotted a deer. Lake Windermere was only a few minutes walk. Facilities on the site are fantastic with loads to occupy the kids. The indoor swimming pool is ideal for teaching children to swim (it's lovely and warm). Would thoroughly recommend it!!

Date visited: 13th April 2007

Review by Mr T Straw on 27th September, 2006

Add your review
We stayed at white cross bay for a week at spring bank. We stayed on a touring pitch. If you are thinking of stopping here. Think again! As a tourer you are definitely second class. The pitches are small and awnings are not allowed. Which was not on the web site when we booked. which made conditions very cramped for a family of 4. The toilet block is run down. The swimming pool is lethal the tiles around the edge. Are very slippy and the pool is unsupervised. The gym is a joke I had to fix three of the machines just to use them. These wonderful facilities cost an extra £60 for the week. As does the electricity at a £1 a go. Windermere is a lovely place to stay. Take my advice if your touring stay some where else.

Review by The Frosties on 12th August, 2006

Add your review
We stayed at White Cross only because the original accomodation booked was so dire we refused it and managed to get the only self catering place left in the whole of Windermere.We had never before stayed in a lodge or even at a resort and our first impressions were not good but being six of us including two kids and all being thoroughly fed up and tired we paid our £700 and took the key to our lodge.I have to say our lodge was in a beautiful spot,overlooking the lake and with a large expanse of lawn right infront of us,the lodge was clean and andequate,but £700 is way too much when you consider there is no toaster,washing machine,freezer or dishwasher.There is a launderette but on the two occasions we visited it was busy so our wet things were hung over the verandah to dry.We were told there was cycle hire,but were told at reception there wasn't.The pool was a bonus,but make sure you swim after 5pm when a pass is only £2,the pool does get busy and the sauna is just full of kids.The bar meals were very enjoyable,big portions and reasonably priced,and you can sit in the bar overlooking the pool keeping an eye on the kids.All in all,a well kept resort,but overpriced for what you get,and quite a few of the lodges could do with an update.

Date visited: 5th-12th August 2006

Review by fran & lolly on 10th April, 2006

Add your review
I have visited white cross bay many many times have been going for about 8-9 years i am only 13 and i have4 made loads and loads of mates i really enjoy it and want to live there everything is very peaceful and enjoy every minute you will see me there again plenty of times !!!!

Date visited: all the time !!

Review by Miss Val Duncan on 22nd August, 2005

Add your review
For 650.00sterling, we were located in a very unattractive spot with just gravel and no shrubbery or any kind of Lake View, although on booking we were led to believe the Caravan would be in a prime spot.Previous occupants dirty linen in Caravan upon arrival.Electric was payable daily.T.V. did not work.Oh, and the most scary thing of all was my sisters children went swimming, and had to pay another fee at reception for this, and when they got in the pool, not a lifeguard in sight.The children are 11 and 8 yrs old!They were let straight into the pool without question!The prices for drinks and food were ridiculously high (10.00)for a small lasagne.Not surprising that the restaurant was practically empty every night.All I can end with is the fact that I was with my family who are great fun to be with, and we made the best of the worst.The only plus point was the actual location of the park, which was easy access to Windermere and Ambleside.Please lower your prices and you may start filling the lots of empty lodges on site at this prime time of year!

Date visited: 19 august 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Never in the way, and never out of the way. - Charles II
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hedgeley Moor - 1464, Robinson Crusoe Published - 1719, Treaty of Amiens Signed - 1802, Crick and Watson discover DNA - 1953
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages