It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2018: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays Ė plural - destination. Itís modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Chequers Inn, Weston Turville

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Barbara White on 16th October, 2010

Add your review
Had lunch with our daughter and son-in-law from the £10 for two courses menu and had a really ovely lunch - well done! It was delicious and well presented. I think the sea bass could have had a bit of colour added to the plate in the form of one green vegetable but all in all we had great food, delcious wine and the service was excellent! Look forward to our next visit.

Date visited: 2nd October 2010

Review by Ben Brownlee on 9th November, 2008

Add your review
Our recent visit to the Chequers Inn was for Sunday lunch. Hearing that there was a new menu and new manager we were intrigued to find if there was any difference to our 8/10 visit earlier in 2008. The pub was described by the lady behind the bar as "not a bitter pub" after we saw the choice of bitters on tap was Adnams or Adnams, two less than our visit last time. Still it was good. We had Sunday lunch for five - one starter to share, five main courses and one dessert to share, with two glasses of wine and two bitters for £98.50. Service was a bit patchy at the start but soon warmed up. The food was in the main good - mussels, steak, risotto, salmon and potatoes with oodles of butter, burger and chips but the vegetables - carrots and broccoli - were terrible as they were well over cooked. Commenting on the vegetables, we were told that it was all pre-cooked in the morning and kept warm so our request for al dente vegetables was never going to be satisfied. Oh dear... This visit was more of a 6/10 to 7/10. With vouchers for one free main meal for every one paid for (Tuesday to Saturday), or a free bottle of wine with Christmas bookings, we'll be back but we were less impressed than last time. Veg lovers beware.

Date visited: 9 November 2008

Review by Joss Belcher on 29th July, 2008

Add your review
Happened to stumble across this charming little pub should imagine its hard to find but well worth the effort, best Sunday lunch Iíve had in years !

Date visited: 28-07-08

Review by Ben Brownlee on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
The Chequers Inn, Weston Turville has recently been given a make over by its new owners, and as fans of the old place we entered with a bit of trepidation. Our fears were put to rest though as the make over has been sympathetic, turning a well regarded rustic pub / restaurant into a modern gastro pub, still in touch with its past. The food was well cooked, came quickly and was presented smartly. I had the special, tempura prawns on linguini and my wife had goats cheese and beetroot salad. All food is promised as locally sourced. Desert - apple tart tartin with caramel - was delicious and the total bill with wine came to about GBP 50 for two courses. The wine list is extensive and we had a fine Sauvignon Blanc. The same food is offered in the bar and restaurant with, specials set out on a roll of brown paper. The bar has space for about 15 standing and 30 seated, so arrive early to get the best seats on the settles next to the winter fire, if you are not eating in the restaurant. Beer is limited to three bitters, plus the usual Guinness, Becks and Carlsberg, and bottles. There are plenty of soft drinks, parking spaces to the rear and seating outside, which we love in the late spring and summer. Overall a good 8/10 from us on this our first visit. March 2008

Date visited: 1 March 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I wonder if anyone will ever know the emptiness of my life. Personal Diary -- Last entry "Oh what's the point?" - Kenneth Williams
More Quotes

On this day:
Duncan Killed by Macbeth - 1040, Worst English Defeat in Ireland - 1598, First international Beauty Contest - 1908, British Troops sent to Northern Ireland - 1969
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages