Plough

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Plough & Flail, Mobberley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by John Ellis on 11th December, 2010

Add your review
We have just enjoyed a family birthday party at the Plough and Flail. We had a most enjoyable lunch,the food was excellent and the room was attractively decorated for the occasion. The staff were warm,friendly,helpful and attentive. Everybody had a great time which was quite an achievment for three separate age groups between 3 and 73. Would recommend the Plough and Flail unreservedly and when the opportunity arises will certainly visit again.

Date visited: 4th.December 2010

Review by Maggie Gore on 26th September, 2010

Add your review
I'd read an article in a magazine that recommended the Plough and Flayle and we were not disappointed. Everything from the decor, attentive staff and food were excellent. Our meal was of a very high standard and we looking forward to returning in the near future.

Date visited: 23 September 2010

Review by Jackie Taylor on 21st February, 2010

Add your review
We have been here a few times and unfortunately have always been kept waiting. The atmosphere is great, the food is good but the service is not so good. Each time I have been I get the impression that they look after their regulars and these are the people that get the best service. We were celebrating my mums birthday and the fact that her cancer treatment was working. Although they accomodated us with the choice of dates for the meal, when we got there we waited over 45 minutes to be seated. We had the conservatory which is a lovely place to dine but yet so cold.

Date visited: 30.1.2010

Review by laura on 30th January, 2010

Add your review
We celebrated my Dad's 60th Birthday at the Plough and Flail. We had a room in the conservatory to ourselves which created a lovely party astmosphere. The food was excellent and the service fantastic -the staff went out of their way to fulfill all of our requests. Would definately recommend for an excellent sunday lunch or a special family occasion!

Date visited: 17th January 2010

Review by A Sutton on 28th October, 2009

Add your review
I am never going back! The staff were so rude to me, not to mention apathetic and lazy. What happened to service? While the setting is nice, it is nothing special. The food is average. There are better places to eat, such as the Roebuck- and the staff don't act like they are doing you a favour, nor do they lecture you like a child when you have a (legitimate) complaint (asking staff to provide service)

Date visited: August 2009

Review by Oliver Johnson on 21st August, 2009

Add your review
Without doubt the best place to eat in Cheshire. The customers who have slated this place obviously have no style or taste. The service was of the highest quality and the food was perfect. I will definitely be attending this restaurant again. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a first class meal with first class service. 10/10 OJ

Date visited: 13/6./09

Review by Louise on 31st July, 2009

Add your review
Delicious, great atmosphere, excellent service and a lovely setting to relax and in. Myself and my family come here for all of our special occasions and have never once been disappointed. The food is served with very generous portions and is always cooked to perfection. The menus change daily so you almost never have the same thing twice…..which can be a shame as I’ve enjoyed certain dishes so much I’d like them over and over again! Sunday lunch is particularly good. On this particular visit I had grilled monkfish on a bed of spinach and a potato gratin. Absolutely mouth watering! I cannot recommend the Plough & Flail enough!

Date visited: June 09 & many other times!

Review by Dave on 19th April, 2009

Add your review
What a bunch of pompus, good for nothing snobs. Reading these reviews gives me a glimpse of your sad little world. You all need to get a grip. I pity you.

Date visited: Never been

Review by Allan Wiseman on 11th March, 2009

Add your review
Further to your last 2 reviews , I assume staff have been to charm school or been given their P45 !!We had a very good meal and the servce was excelant ,I have 42years in the catering trade and would not hesitate to employ any of them .

Date visited: Monday 9th March 09

Review by MRs S Thatcher on 17th November, 2008

Add your review
I visited the Plough and Flail on saturday night as part of a party of 9. One of our party was an American one an English lady married to the American so you can only imagine the level of service they are used to in even the cheapest of outlets. Let me enlightent you to the dismal no, no, I should say embarrasing and appalling service received. We had a table at the far end of the bar, nice a private really but just behind a pillar which contained the specials board. My husband asked what was on the board and the oh so overlly waitress pointed to the back of the pillar and said its on there, whilst walking away!! I take it her memory or reading ability was not the best! After finishing our meals and the coffee arriving a good 10 mins after desert whilst finishing the coffee the bill was handed to us, the waitress said, i need to give your this, i asked are we being asked to pay up and leave, she said yes, you only get 2 hours and off she went again. We paid the bill leaving no tip as the service didn't qualify for a tip except this - We will never be back and if you are reading this and are thinking of going, save your money go somewhere else, Anywhere, McDonalds, some of the staff there are proud of their jobs!

Date visited: 15/11/08

Review by mike butcher on 17th November, 2008

Add your review
Arrived at 6.30 table for 9 people pre booked. The Female wait person had a very sloopy attitude in her manner when addressing customers eg Drink no introduction poor manners. When asked about daily specials stated I cant remember look on the board yourself surely she should have made notes at the start of here working evening. The main course was served with her shouting Fish anyone charming I thought. I had Haddock and Chips Haddock from Fleetwood poor I thought not worth £12.00 plus. My wife had Salmon on Croute swimming oil detracked from salmons flavour again over priced.We were pushed out of the Pub as we were only allowed 2 hours before next lot of people arrive as the Waitress informed all at the table, so we left £200.00 lighter. If I were you reading this go else were over priced poor service from wait staff.

Date visited: 22/11/08

Review by Grahame Rothwell on 24th June, 2008

Add your review
Party of 8 birthday dinner. fantastic food, lovely staff, very accomplished set up with truly great food! All agreed it is an excellent place to eat and I will be back there soon for sure! The open hatch to the kitchen was of interest as I watched the team not only working but they all seemed to be having fun as well. well done P&F GR

Date visited: 22/06/08

Review by Poppy Smith on 21st April, 2008

Add your review
Quite possibly the best Sunday lunch in the world. I cannot fault this place at all, for so long now I have been searching for a decent place to eat on a Sunday only to be disappointed with microwaved sloppy dinners and poor customer service. The Plough and Flail is far from this with outstanding customer service and food to die for! I had Roast Beef which was pink and tender and came with a huge Yorkshire pudding, mash, roast potatoes and crisp veg which had been cooked to perfection! More importantly,the plate was hot and the food was served steaming hot, something simple which most pubs/restaurants find too difficult to achieve. I cannot rate this place more highly, I would dine their every night if I could, but then again I'm not a WAG (which isn't such a bad thing, after all who wants an orange face and yellow streaky hair?)

Date visited: 20/04/2008

Review by Charles Rowe on 27th March, 2008

Add your review
Our party of four were very disappointed. When we phoned to book a table for a Tuesday evening rather than us asking for a time that suited us we were given the option of 6 pm or 9pm. As 9pm was rather late for us we opted for 6pm. But we were then told that they wanted the table back by 8pm, as we did not want to be rushed out of the restaurant we decided to cancel our table

Date visited: N/A

Review by IAN MOSS on 17th October, 2007

Add your review
the manager alastair and all the staff make you feel so welcome and to me make the place, the food is excellent,clean and prices very good, in a lovely location, inside and outside very roomy, credit to the manager and staff.

Date visited: 14/10/07

Review by MAIRE EATON on 21st September, 2007

Add your review
Last Sunday we dined at the Plough and Flail, a rural, stylish, yet relaxed gastro pub in Mobberley, Cheshire. Although tucked away, off the beaten track, accessed via country lanes, it is well signposted from the main road and not at all difficult to find. We arrived without a booking but were squeezed in by a very accommodating manager provided ‘we finished by 2 pm and choose the suggested Sunday Roast’. This presented no problems and left us with lots of time to eat. We were seated without delay and although very crowded, both inside and outside, had our orders taken and drinks served without fuss. Although we choose to dine inside there was ample room to dine in a spacious, airy Garden Room and Lounge. with a glazed canopy extending from the Garden Room out over the decking terrace where one could drink or dine 'al fresco' whatever the weather. Throughout our meal the staff were accommodating and friendly without being fussy. We had the traditional roast beef lunch with butternut squash mash, a bed of cabbage (cooked to perfection), roast potatoes and a huge Yorkshire pudding. Both the beef (deliciously pink) and the gravy were terrific and as good as home cooked. We were too full to try the puddings! The bill was a modest £40, including drinks. A discreet, but visible LED display, separate from the till, showed the bill being itemized. The service was unobtrusive and efficient and the ambience, although busy, very pleasant indeed. We have eaten here in the past and, as always, the combination of, delightful rural setting, excellent service, fresh ingredients and local produce together with an interesting and varied menu has tempted us back and will continue to do so.

Date visited: April 2007

Review by chambers on 11th April, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I came for lunch with my father having previously dined at The Plough and Flail on many occasions. The food and service were as always superb,the ambience excellent and the clientele delightful.We shall return on Saturday for dinner with friends. This is a lovely establishment in a charming setting and cannot be too highly recommended.

Date visited: 10th april2007

Review by Vic Lyte on 15th November, 2006

Add your review
Went today for lunch. My wife had prawn & advacado sandwich. I went the whole hog and had mushroom soup, sirloin and creme brulee. Excellent. I guess we will be changing our patronage from the Windmill to here. Have a few friends coming over from New England wanting to try a good 'English' gastro pub. This will be on the to do list!!

Date visited: 15 Nov 06

Review by Robert Edwards on 13th November, 2006

Add your review
I'm just writing with regards to the comments by a GF below. This person obviously has to write in capital letters and cannot type properly, let alone get a point across. I was actually in on the night in question (14th August). My statement actually starts with "I am writing with reference to the review below by Georgina Booini on 4th September, 2005" so that is why I stated the 4th September at the bottom, which, I will admit could cause confusion. I am actually a very busy individual and would not dream of making such an ridiculous story up and I have no links to anybody working in the restaurant. In a fine restaurant like this you will always get members of the public who have no manners or not accustomed to fine cuisine. I can only say that there have been no more incidents of this nature on my recent visits so it must have been an isolated incident.

Date visited: 14th August 2004

Review by G F on 13th June, 2006

Add your review
BEEN HAPPY WITH SERVICE AND FOOD IN THE PAST. INTERESTED IN ROBERTS EDWARDS REVIEW OF 25TH APRIL. HE SAYS HE WAS IN THE RESTAURANT THE SAME TIME AS GEORGINA BOONI ON 4TH SEPT 2005. SHE WAS IN FACT IN THE RESTAURANT 14TH AUG 2005. DO I DETECT A ...... HERE! We should accept critisism as part of improving our customer service not ignore it. We all have bad days, take critism and improve.

Date visited: A WHILE AGO

Review by Robert Edwards on 25th April, 2006

Add your review
I am writing with reference to the review below by Georgina Booini on 4th September, 2005. Myself and my Wife were actually in on this night in question and I have to say that this woman was particulary rude to the delightful and most helpful Alistair Black and once they had been told to leave the restaurant everybody applauded. It is worth noting that this is the only bad review of this restaurant and obviously this lady is not accustom to the find food and clientele of this superb restaurant.

Date visited: 04/09/05

Review by Miss Edwards on 4th April, 2006

Add your review
I regularly dine at the Plough and have always received excellent service from pleasant staff and in particular from the manager who is fabulous. The food is superb and always to a high standard. No complaints from me nor my family and will definately continue to eat there!

Date visited: 3rd April 2006

Review by Sharron Sweetnam on 15th February, 2006

Add your review
As we have eaten at the Plough and Flail often, we can say without fail that the food has always been remarkable. The service has always been of a high standard and with a smile. Highly recommended.

Date visited: 15 February 2005

Review by Georgina Booini on 4th September, 2005

Add your review
Very good refurbishment but the food and service was diabolical. Certainly not up to the normal Deckers standard. The manager Adrian or Alistair Black has no customer service skills and was down right rude. The waitress knocked a bottle of wine over on the table. The sea bream from the specials board was not cooked through and was still opaque part way through to the bone. When we asked to speak to the manager his only comment was 'all I can do is take your food away and not charge you', no hint of apology, no eye contact and no sign that he even cared one jot!This together with an overpriced wine list will mean that my family, friends and I will not be visiting the plough again. If only that manager realised the cost of poor customer service is not just the cost of the food he lost that night but goodwill of patrons that have eaten at Deckers group eateries for numerous years. Come on Deckers, get your act together. Get rid of Mr Black before he damages your reputation beyond repair

Date visited: 14 August 2005

Review by Sue Armstrong on 2nd June, 2005

Add your review
Impressive! I have eaten at the Plough & Flail on many occasions prior to the recent renovation work that has been carried out and it has always been a favourite venue of mine! Last night I visited for the the first time since the work has been carried out and I was very impressed with both the superb food and refurb! The eating areas are light and airy, the decor is elegantly simple and the whole experience was fantastic! The food was delicious and well presented. A superb refurbishment, exellent menu... very impressed!

Date visited: 1st June 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
What is easy is seldom excellent. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Archbishop of Canterbury Martyred by Vikings - 1012, Drake Attacks Cadiz - 1587, Cook reaches Australia - 1770, Waco Siege Ends - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages