Best

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Best Western The Royal Kings Arms, Lancaster

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 7th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Central location to Lancaster city centre and castle. Bad Points: Room was dark, very damp and smelly, bed was unbelievable uncomfortable, bath had hairs in, cups not clean. Hotel bar only sold 1 draft larger which was supposed to Kronenburg, but was undrinkable, bottle beers were warm. Mixers were not on draft and flat. General review: Very disappointing far too expensive what we got.

Date visited: 2009-08-07

Review by bill on 28th October, 2008

Add your review
Bad Points: Breakfast was very disappointing - under-cooked sausages, cheap cooking oil. Outside bedroom window a hoarding collected rain water, making a terrible noise all night. Parking inadequate.

Date visited: 2008-10-28

Review by joyce, barnard castle on 11th September, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The building (and lift)was interesting. Bad Points: We were allocated a smoking room after expressing awish when booking for a non smoking room. This only became apparent late inthe evening when we turned in. We were surprised by the lack of concern at reception the following morning and that we were not offered a non smoking room allocated on arrival. Surprised that at breakfast you had no marmalade!! General Review: The member of staff on duty in the restaurant on the evening of our stay was excellent. Please pass on our thanks to him. The overall stay was spoilt by the smoky room. It was fortunate we could leave the window open. We would not re-book because of this service. Are you intending to modernise this hotel? Keep the restaurant decor!

Date visited: 2006-09-11

Review by Anonymous on 11th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Convenient stop over while travelling down M6 Bad Points: Situated on busy road with traffic noise General Review: The hotel is centrally located and within easy access from the motorway. However, the one way system means a heavy load of traffic passing close to the hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff pleasant.

Date visited: 2006-07-11

Review by Anonymous on 31st May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Room very clean and tidy, decor of a good standard, everything very good, nothing to complain about. Bad Points: nothing General Review: Rooms very comfortable, clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities in room aswell as iron, board and trouser press. Bath with shower and plenty of hot water. Hotel of very good standard, decor of good quality. Close to all leisure activities in City, Castle just up the road. Full English Breakfast was very good. Plenty to eat with lots of choice.Staff very courteous. Car Park a bit awkward at times. You park up and leave keys at reception. Staff then shuffle cars around when someone wants their car out. It seems to work though. Was very pleased with Hotel in every way. Excellent value for money. Would stay there again and recommend to anyone.

Date visited: 2006-05-31

Review by Anonymous on 23rd May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Bed very comfy, staff very friendly, good breakfast Bad Points: The lift didn't seem to work and we were on the fourth floor! General Review: For a city centre hotel, the price was very reasonable and the standard quite high. For anyone who has a choice of dates to stay, try to avoid nights where there is a guest singer. The high decibels of 'Robbie Williams' reverberated all round the hotel and made conversation impossible in the bar during the evening.

Date visited: 2006-05-23

Review by Anonymous on 13th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Centrally located Bad Points: The hotel was noisy (no double glazing), very old furnishings, the rooms weren't at all soundproof (could hear doors slamming in the corridor). There wasn't much lighting in the room. General Review: The staff were very friendly. However I was quite disappointed with the room itself; there was no double glazing, there was a lot of noise in the corridors, all the furnishings seemed rather old. There was no atmosphere of comfort in the hotel.

Date visited: 2006-04-13

Review by Mark Hubblestone on 23rd January, 2006

Add your review
A reasonable hotel which looks very grand from the outside and tired on the inside. Is a hotel in need of money spending on it as it's seen better days. Not terrible but there are better hotels in Lancaster. Stayed for three days and probably wouldnt stay again.

Date visited: 15th January 2006

Review by Anonymous on 27th October, 2005

Add your review
central to the town lighting in the bedroom and better matresses Pleasant

Date visited: 2005-10-27

Review by Anonymous on 24th August, 2005

Add your review
We particularly liked the layout and architecture of the hotel - very grand! Decor, both in our room and generally, was a bit faded and dated. The hotel could do with a spruce up. Overall, we enjoyed a pleasant stay and would stay again. Good value for money. Just slightly disappointed with the room's general decor, but good facilities, toiletries, etc. Comfy bed! Friendly and helpful staff. Also, the hotel is very handy for the railway and bus stations.

Date visited: 2005-08-24

Review by Anonymous on 19th August, 2005

Add your review
In general the room was good value for money - a new mattress might be good as it is extremely soft in the middle. We are satisfied with what we received for the money we spent.

Date visited: 2005-08-19

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Long hair is an unpardonable offense which should be punishable by death. - Morrissey
More Quotes

On this day:

More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages