It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Diggers Rest, Woodbury Salterton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Andrew on 29th July, 2010

Add your review
Although the food was excellent we had to wait 20 minutes until our order was taken and a further 40 minutes before it arrived. May be they were short staffed on the night but the restaurant area was not very busy. We were a party of 7 and dined in the bar area. The table was very sticky and requires a good scrub.

Date visited: 28 July 2010

Review by Everton on 5th November, 2009

Add your review
The steaks in this hostelry are the best around. Staff are very friendly, especially Corinne, who is absolutely lovely. If you like red wine go for Everton. First Class.

Date visited: 05/11/09

Review by kelly on 13th September, 2009

Add your review
This is a great pub with friendly efficient service and fantastic food. There is a good selection of dishes including a specials board and the roast dinner is delicious. You can eat in the bar area which has a lovely atmosphere or there is a more formal dining area which is well presented. If you enjoy good food and drink and great service this is the place to come.

Date visited: 16/08/09

Review by Tom on 13th September, 2009

Add your review
We wanted to treat our australian friends to lunch while they were visiting us and so decided to come to the Diggers. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the welcome that we we received by the staff. The menu and specials board offered a good range of choice and we were not disappointed when the delicious food arrived. The pub has a lovely atmosphere and we will definitely be back.


SUSPICIOUS POST - two positive reviews submitted within minutes of each other - no email left - EDITOR

Review by John Hedderly on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
This was our favourite local eatery. Unfortunately the brilliant Aussie management and staff have been largely replaced by locals. Service and food has suffered. Latest and last visit was marred by poor sevice, worse food and the inappropriate attention of the buffoon of a manager. To be avoided.

Date visited: 30.08.2008

Review by Ronald Alexander on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
I visited The Diggers with business colleagues fo lunch. The pub has a relaxing atmosphere, log fire etc. Staff are Aussies, very relaxed, friendly service. Food was excellent. I had a scallop starter and pork chops. Both were first class. Would visit again. Recommended

Date visited: 11th February 2007

Review by jane dalton on 4th January, 2008

Add your review
We went on the reccomendation of a friend and the great website looked extremely promising.I was quite looking forward to celebrating my 40th birthday there as somthing special to remember.The menu was limited and not as shown on the website, there where no specials to choose from.We started with bread and olives,the bread tasted great but the olives were not that special and worked out to be about 25p each olive. so not good value at all.we all had fish and chips and to be honest it wasnt good at all,fish was greasy and chips were frozen.But the worst was the deserts.Winter fruit cheese cake and sticky toffee puddings.The cheese cake was PLAIN and old(think it was hanging around since the new year)and came with one blackberry and one rasberry and on the plate was the usuall swirl of fruit coulis.When questioned about the winter fruits, apparently placing a single blackberry and a single rasberry next to a plain cheesecake constitutes a 'winter fruits cheesecake'!.It was disgusting and half was left.the sticky toffee pudding was the worst, it was supposed to be sponge but was saturated in something which gave it the texture of jelly !!.it also came with the fruit coulis and rasberry and blackberry !!!!!!Yuk.Topped off with the frosty behavior of the femail member of staff, it was certainly a birthday meal out i'll remember.

Date visited: 03/01/1968

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Advertising is the rattling of a stick inside a swill bucket. - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Marston Moor - 1644, Battle of Alford - 1645
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages