It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2018: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Black Swan, Andover

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Audrey Huddleston on 14th November, 2010

Add your review
A lovely evening out with friends unfortunately spoilt by indifferent staff and a misleading menu. Salmon roulade starter was made with smoked salmon (raw fish ugh!) a friend swapped her scallops starter with me, it was nice but very salty. Main meal was good. Pudding was a huge disapointment. I ordered chocolate brownie but what arrived was a pale square looking a bit like flapjack with no flavour. Apparently it was made with white chocolate. My plea to all chefs- if you are going to mess with a recipe then give it a new name.

Date visited: 11th November 2010

Review by Ken Ashworth on 16th June, 2009

Add your review
On arriving at the pub, neither the landlord nor the two locals at the bar acknowledged us. On ordering drinks, the landlord was about as warm and welcoming as a prison door. The lady who was also working semmed a lot more pleasent. We ordered and waited. And waited. And waited. The starters eventually arrived and were basic, coarse and hanging off too small plates. Perhaps this was the chefs night off, as the landlord seemed to have dissappeared (into the kitchen?) and the lady was left to serve food, drinks and take orders. If the landlord WAS cooking, then suggest he doesnt. because he cant. We ate what we could of the starters and they were eventually cleared twenty minutes after we had finished. Then we waited for the main course. And we waited, and we waited. Then appeared what were probably the worst two dishes we have ever seen. Slow roast pork belly, nuked in the micowave until it nearly came back to life. Rubbery, dry and laughing back at us. Chucked onto a bucketful of purple cabbage and all swamped with dark brown 'gravy'. Gross and inedible. the other- A main coarse of fish in soggy, half cooked pastry and dumped onto some watery med veg mess was equally disgusting. We werent asked if we wanted side orders. Perhaps some chips would have rescued the meals? Doubtful. We walked out paying begrudgingly for the starters and drinks only. We have read other (good) reviews and think either the chef had topped himself earlier in the day or there had been a total change in management and the house was now being run by former civil servants. Nice lady, let down by kitchen that quite frankly should be shut down and a miserable landlord who should join the chef on the gallows. Shame on you.

Date visited: june 2009

Review by dianne and david weeks on 12th August, 2007

Add your review
we were recommended by friends to eat here and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the choice of food for all courses was varied and enticing. The starter of warm brie tartlet was very tasty and huge and the pate mouthwatering. The sea bass on crab mash with mussels was an interesting mix of flavours that really worked. The steak, however, was too thin to be able to be cooked to taste. The vegetables were cooked to perfection. As for the mars bar cheesecake - that was to die for! The Black Sheep ale was cloudly and headless but the barman was happy to replace it.All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience and would recommend it to others.

Date visited: 11/08/07

Review by I. Bryant on 30th November, 2006

Add your review
Very disappointing service. Having been served meals, we wanted some drinks and wine. When waitress was asked we were told to go to the bar and queue up. When asked to have the waiter take an order at the table, she refused and again told us to go to the bar (letting the food go cold)

Date visited: 30/11/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Oh, what a shock. My career must be slipping. This is the first time I've been available to pick up an award. - Michael Caine
More Quotes

On this day:
Henry VI Crowned as Henri II in Paris - 1431, Oliver Cromwell becomes 'lord protector' - 1653, The 'Bill of Rights' established - 1689, Boston tea party - 1773, Battle of the Bulge Begins - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages