Selsdon

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Selsdon Park Hotel, Croydon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by denise white on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
we arrived booked in very cold welcome went to room very nice clean comfortable.went straight to spa , we had contacted you by phone to make sure robes were provided, you returned the call to confirm they were. spa manager says this was not possible as there were not enough to go round ,after some discussion we were told they would get us ome, we were sent back to the reception and waited about 30mins for 6 robes how long does it take to get 6 robes from a cupboard.to our horror the spa was in a dreadful state jacussi was filthy the stairs to sauna and steam room were filthy the shower head laid on the floor broken so were the hairdryers.due to the condition of the spa we were relunctant to use it so we thought we would have a nice lunch,oh how wrong we were, the sandwich was meant to be toasted the ham was meant to be home cooked the onions were a soggy mess on the side cheese was dry and curled at edges,he bread was so stale and dry. the manager was very sorry and took it of the bill but we wanted a nice pool side lunch, so that was completly spoilt.over all the spa starting with the mangeress who was not at all dressed like a spa manager was agreat disappointment,the treatments were ok maybe you could instead of leaving us laying there while our face packs set you could offer a hand or foot massage .the evening meal was fine apaert from cold coffe,breakfat ws lovely, i must the hotel was very nice just let down by spa and the kitchen

Date visited: 15/02/08

Review by Ann Flain on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
The suite was nice and clean, but not what we booked! Wasted the first day of our stay sorting out beds etc to acommodate our family. The food was expensive and awful, the vegetarian option was unimaginative and undercooked. The service was abysmal, we waited an hour for our after dinner coffees despite being asked by three different waiters if we wanted coffee. When they arrived they were liqueur coffees minus the cream! We didn't bother to return them. No mini bar in the rooms, and not geared up for children, room service and soft drinks/water very pricey.Staff were unfriendly and many didn't speak english. We won't stay there again.

Date visited: 15.09.07 -17.09.07

Review by Tom Atkins on 28th May, 2007

Add your review
This is an appalling hotel. It is pretentious, unfriendly and abysmally run. Four of us went to the bar for lunch and 3 paid £15 each for burgers which, when they arrived, turned out to be a lukewarm supermarket burger with SIX pretentiously arranged and very small chips. One of us had soup which was completely inedible. The staff were rude and snobbish when we complained, and refused to accept that it was in any way unusual to charge such ludicrous prices for sub-Wetherspoons food. Breakfast, if anything was even worse - we waited for 10 minutes to sit down and had to fend for ourselves when we did, as the staff were either absent or ambling around filling out checklists. I would advise anyone considering staying here to save themselves a significant sum of money and an immeasurable amount of stress by staying at the Travelodge down the road.

Date visited: 26 May 2007

Review by suzanne on 19th May, 2007

Add your review
Great room and ervice! great value for the money! lovely food and fantastic atmoshere in the bar!,,,,,the girls and i enjoyed our beauty treatments but felt that the health spa facilities required updating and the outdoor pool was too fsr to walk to in a bathing suit!....A great time was had by all and we would certainly stay again. Thankyou.

Date visited: 18th May 2007

Review by the robinson family on 9th March, 2007

Add your review
for a 4/5 star hotel we all thought dinner was very poor. hotel itself quite nice but as it was a celebratory dinner the food rather spoilt it

Review by R. Mills on 15th August, 2006

Add your review
Nice hotel in very pretty surroundings. Initial impressions are good on approach to the hotel and the service was efficient and effective at reception. Being an old building there is only one lift which, like all lifts in the UK, is slow but effective. Finding the stairs is not obvious initially but once found are the easiest route to get around. Our room was a family room overlooking the back garden and golf course. Clean, tidy and nicely appointed. Only comment is the bathroom could do with a bit of updating as the fixtures were a bit tired. We stayed two nights for a wedding. Service and quality of food was good throughout. Breakfast is good quality and the cooked English option at the buffet is ideal start. We did order room service and I would say that this is expensive especially as there is a 3.50 GBP delivery charge on top. Nearly 9 GBP for a sandwhich and a few crisps is steep even if the portion is generous. Service in the hotel was good and the only time I was disappointed was at breakfast one morning. I asked for some help from a staff member only to be told to ask a waitress. As all were wearing the same outfits I must have missed some other identifier of job segregation. All in all a very nice location and a good quality of service and product if a little on the expensive side.

Date visited: 11th-12 August 2006

Review by Suzanne, Walton-on-Thames on 12th August, 2006

Add your review
General Review: Did not like the long walk to the room (G50). Check-out was very slow - kept waiting 10-15 minutes.

Date visited: 2006-08-12

Review by Julie, Saltash on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: food very good. Bad Points: light bulb broken,no cold water and room very hot General Review: Would have expected mini fridge in four star hotel and air conditioning would have been good. Exterior grounds looked as if they needed some maintenance. Fan in room but corridors exceptionally hot due to high number of bulbs and no ventilation. Accept that British Weather unusually hot at time of stay though. Staff good and food good.

Date visited: 2006-08-02

Review by Anonymous on 17th May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The room was clean and had recently been refurbished. Bad Points: Although there was a small fan provided in the room, it was very warm and quite uncomfortable to stay in due to the heat. Toiletries provided were basic for this type of hotel. One would have expected to see Molton Brown products in the bathrooms. General Review: The hotel is findamentally a golfing venue, and therefore geared towards the golfer. The bar is adequate for that putpose but not really suitable for other groups and certainly not families etc - there's not even an outside terrace attached or non-smoking area. More attention to detail is required, and more value for money needs to be provided as it is not inexpensive. General waiting staff should be able to speak English. On a positive note, concierge deserve commendation; very polite, courteous and helpful.

Date visited: 2006-05-17

Review by Anonymous on 22nd April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Our room was nice and clean and well equiped as you we would have expected. Bad Points: N/A General Review: As above really, the hotel was nice and the bar staff were very friendly when we arrived and returned again after our evening out.

Date visited: 2006-04-22

Review by Karen, Valley Springs on 14th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The buildings were beatiful and well mainained. The staff was superb. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, a bit pricy but within range for an upscale resort. Bad Points: We were unable to regulate the heat radaitor in our room and it was a bit warm and stuffy. We just left a window open and were comfortable.

Date visited: 2006-04-14

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Every man over forty is a scoundrel. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages