It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dukes Arms, Woodford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Megg on 4th December, 2012

Add your review
I visited the dukes arms and was VERY disappointed in the level of politeness towards the younger customers ranging from 18+ we were looking forward to having an evening in our local pub , when arriving we were ignored whilst waiting to be served by staff , staff were aware we were waiting to be served buy continued to serve other people behind us , one of the staff was very rude in particular stating we are treating the pub as a youth club and we were made to feel very uncomfortable - when asked to show my ID card I was accused of it not being me , and wasn't able to continue to be in the pub , customer service is very poor and wouldn't advice anyone to come here soon !!! STAY AWAY of your under the age of 3O ,!!!

Date visited: 12.11.2012

Review by sheryl on 24th September, 2011

Add your review
hello we went and it was really nice the food was brill we had a puupy food dinner that was nice you get it in bowl with yorkshire pudding andbubble and sqeak and roast potatoes

Date visited: 24 sep 2011

Review by Steve on 22nd October, 2010

Add your review
I have visited and eaten at this charming village pub on many occasions and have to say that the food is great, the value for money is unbeatable and the staff are wonderful. For the smokers amongst you there is a cosy open fire burning all evening in the colder months in a sheltered and comfortable purpose built snug. Very highly recommended!

Date visited: 12/10/10

Review by alleaffar on 20th February, 2010

Add your review
This is the second time I have visited The Duke in Woodford for a lunch and again it did not disappoint. Although currently the restaurant is undergoing a refurb we ate our meal in the bar which was buzzing with chatter from the locals and the homely welcome from the staff. We sat near the woodburner, which was going great guns . I ordered a cheesy jacket potato and mum order the renowned "Dogs Dinner" which was humongous and she could not finish it. My sister ordered the Long John sausage and onion baguette which came with potato wedges, and salad. With 3 cofees as well, the total bill was £22. The Duke also does a Monday to Friday lunch for £5 which includes a free pud. Try it sometime.

Date visited: 20 February 2010

Review by caz on 29th December, 2009

Add your review
Amazing food, dogs dinner is great, the pub has great atmosphere, good friendly staff and chatty locals i recommend to all! previous review is wrong

Date visited: autumn 2009

Review by Anon on 13th September, 2007

Add your review
We visited here following a rave review in the Evening Telegraph, for my Mum's birthday. We were really disappointed as the place was swarming with flies. They seemed to be attracted by the beams on the low ceiling and above our table, there were literally 50 buzzing about. There only seemed to be 2 people working, so our starters took 40 mins to arrive. Although the food tasted good, we could not eat it because of the amount of flies we were swatting away! There was an open indian buffet there and flies were all over it - it was disgusting! When I complained to the waitress, she said that it was due to the hot weather - we wore coats on our way back to the car!! Unless something was done about the flies, the heat and the service - I would avoid.

Date visited: 11/09/07

Anonymous Review on 26th January, 2006

Add your review
i visited here in november some time sorry i can not remember the exact dat and not only was the food amazing but the atmosphere of the whole pub was unbelieveable.

Date visited: november

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is a pleasure in being mad which none but madmen know. - John Dryden
More Quotes

On this day:
First Traffic Signals in Britain - 1868, Edward VIII abdicates - 1936
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages