It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Fox & Hound, Charwelton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sandra@David on 28th September, 2011

Add your review
We both happened upon this little hostelry shortly after Andrea had taken it over. The welcome we recieved was second to none, the food is wonderful, as long as you're not anal about calorie counting, and the real ales are in perfect condition. We've spent about four or five lovely evenings there, and hope to spend many more. I take my hat off to her and her staff.

Date visited: July/Aug/Sept 2011

Review by Julie Rose on 23rd July, 2011

Add your review
Having not been to this pub since the change of hands, we were very surprised and pleased. The welcome we received felt true and genuine. The menu was wasn't too long but covered all different taste pallets. The wait for food wasn't long and the service was good. When the food came out we were really pleased as it was hot, well presented and tasty. Family had gammon (great size and a perfect egg) and I had Barramundi which was tasty. The bill wasn't large either. The food wasn't fancy but it was tasty and a good sized plate. Definately will be back as food and the welcome are second to none.

Date visited: 22 July 2011

Review by lorna ellis on 23rd June, 2011

Add your review
I went to The Fox and Hounds and it was great. Big Fat Andi had put on a buffet even a dead obese person would be proud of. Well done son. See you soon you fatty x

Date visited: 11 June 2011

Review by Andrea Blewitt on 1st June, 2011

Add your review
This isn't a review - I just wanted to let everyone know that the Fox is changing hands - I am taking it over on the 2nd June with the opening night being Saturday the 11th June. I intend to make it how it used to be - a lovely, friendly pub with good simple home cooked food and great beer. Try us :)

Date visited: n/a

Review by emma on 14th March, 2010

Add your review
We visited this pub after having problems booking into other eating houses due to it being Mothering Sunday weekend and places being full. Our initial view of it was a bit run down and noticing how many light bulbs had blown outside the pub and how dark the approach to the car park was. Inside, the decor in the restaurant was extremely bland with no curtains up at the restaurant windows and pictures looking very dated making it look very sparse and the overriding factor was no heating and it was cold! They had compensated this with fan heaters. The table presentation was very basic with cheap white paper napkins which were just placed on the tablemats and not even folded. The food was alot better than I thought it would be but my overriding impression we all came away with was that the pub was near to closing it's doors and was on a bit of a slow down. This made the evening feel a bit strange and didn't give us a lot of faith about the whole meal thing! The landlord we thought also didn't look at all respectably dressed for serving food in a restaurant, however the staff were very polite. Needless to say the restaurant was very empty! Would we go back.....no I don't think so.

Date visited: 13 March 2010

Review by steve Allnutt on 12th August, 2009

Add your review
From our journey in Cornwall via Wotton Bassett en route to Linoln. We stopped at this delightful road inn, where all our needs were met. The food was good value and tasty both our small grand children enjoyed the break. Highly reccomended especially if avoiding motorway mush!

Date visited: Monday 20 July 2009

Review by Christine Davies on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
We phoned the day before to ask if we could have a meal half an hour before the kitchen usually opened - no problem. We had excellent steaks - so good to find somewhere that can and will cook them super-rare (blue). I could not manage to eat all the new potatoes (swapped at my request at zero extra cost), and my partner only just managed to finish all his chips. Our third person had Bangers and Mash, perfectly cooked with yummy gravy. No-one had room for a dessert. We had to eat in the bar: the restaurant was fully booked for Valentines Day, for which the special a la carte menu was only 30 per couple for three courses. We would not hesitate to recommend this pub for a really good pub meal. For the smaller appetite, try a starter and dessert or just two starters. They do not mind this at all.

Date visited: 14 Feb. 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Where there is no property there is no injustice. - John Locke
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages