It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Hare at Loddington, Kettering

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by john on 30th July, 2012

Add your review
booked table for birthday lunch 1pm arrived on time meal ordered by 1.05 food was reasonable when it arrived at 1.45 and I must say that the service was not even second class

Date visited: 29/07/2012

Review by Martyn on 2nd May, 2011

Add your review
went to the hare for a birthday meal with wife and our friends four of us we had not been for about three years,we were not dissapointed food was excellent,before we went though we had been wondering why we had not been for so long because we had always had a lovely meal.all was revealed when we payed our bill.The bill came to 123 and a few pence can't remmember exact pence,we always split the bill whatever and always leave a reasonable tip,so we put 65.00 each couple this meant we intended to leave almost 7 tip.The landlord soon came and took the money but never returned with the change which we intended to leave as tip this reminded us why we had'nt been for sometime as this happened last time we went so if you do not intend to leave a tip make sure you leave exact amount or of course ask for your change which we could have done but we intended to leave it as a tip anyway.This will not put us of going back though as i said before we had excellent meal would definitely recommend it,next time we go though we will leave bill 7 short and see if they come and ask for it so we can say you had that last time we were here ha ha

Date visited: 30 april 2011

Review by Jakki on 5th October, 2010

Add your review
Fantastic quality and quantity and love the landlord!

Date visited: Various

Review by nadine on 30th July, 2009

Add your review
I've been in Australia for 6 years but am returning to the UK in 10 days time. I purposely looked up the Hare on the internet and was delighted to find not only is it still going, it's cheaper than Oz! Stop your complaining people. The Hare is magnificent for culinary experience, charm and ambience. The prices are amazingly good. I always thought Mike was OK once you got to know him. We can't all look like Cheshire cats and working with the public is difficult to say the least. I have missed the Hare and nothing in Oz compares so I am looking forward to returning. Please say the saddle of roast pork is still available?

Date visited: 2003

Review by gentledill on 15th March, 2009

Add your review
Went to see if any thing had changed at the Hare. Mrs Crook worried me. Mikes still there and the food is as good as ever! Watch out for the newset summer menu he has promised.

Date visited: 8.3.07

Review by chris again on 14th March, 2009

Add your review
good again though this time the venison was grisly. nevertheless booked another table for motyer day while i was there!!! very polite and stillexcellent

Date visited: march 2009

Review by Hester Crooks on 2nd March, 2009

Add your review
Went to the Hare at Loddington.So looking forward to this.Well how disappointing.Hubby enjoyed his starter which was venison pate I had prawn cocktail.Main course we both chose beef & yorshire pudding now bearing in mind this was 13.95 a head for the main course we didn't expect to be served frozen roast potato's or frozen yorkshire pudding!.The veg consisted of one carrot sliced, 6 asparagus spears & 4 new potato's between us.With starters the bill came to 34.85 without drinks.What a rip off.Won't be going again.

Date visited: 1st March 2009

Review by Keeto on 14th February, 2009

Add your review
Just got back from The Hare, this was our first visit and i am blown away. I can't believe i have never been here before. The food is resonably prices for the quality. All coked fresh and not out of a packet and such a choice. We all went for the 3 courses and the bill came to 30 a head. Its true, the landlord doesn't smile much but the overall atmosphere was superb. We will be regulars at The Hare from now on

Date visited: 14th Feb 2009

Review by Alex on 17th December, 2008

Add your review
Excellent food, great service, extensive menu - friendly and efficient staff - portion size huge!! Well worth a visit. Landlord very welcoming. Champagne not too badly priced either.

Date visited: 7th December 2008

Review by Ian on 15th November, 2008

Add your review
Heard aboout the Hare from one of my wifes friends, read the reviews and decided to try for ourselves. The starter was a generous helping and nearly a full meal in itself.Unfortunately no rabbit or hare available Very Dissapointed but the Venison Pie and the Duck was delicious, with ample meat on both. For those of you who like desserts, can i suggest you don't have a starter as we couldn't finish our meal, and i was so looking forward to the desserts. The host was amiable and the atmosphere cosy. Like previous reviews there weren't many beers on offer. Would i go again, yes but for special occasions only. Slightly overpriced but well worth going back. Thanks

Date visited: 15th November 2008

Review by chris on 13th September, 2008

Add your review
2nd visit to the Hare with 5 others. What can i say, excellent. That was my review previous from when I went in march time. Went back again and the food was cooked perfectly. Came with asp[aragus, carrot and plant of potatoes and chips that were cooked as they should be. The choice of food was excellent and all was cooked fresh. Hare was on the menu which is rare for most resturants around here that tend to have the standard dishes. The Hare had Game pie, venison, Hare, Fresh fish etc etc. i highly recommend the Hare at Loddington. Also had 50s music playing in teh background which oddly enough was nice to hear and made the place quite pleasant. Service was good.A agin the humour was dry but extremely polite. 20 out of ten.

Date visited: september 2008

Review by cb on 11th September, 2008

Add your review
The food was well cooked the atmosphere was OK though there are cosier places to eat. Service was welcoming. The Landlord owner does not have a sense of humour but so what, he was friendly and polite and brought out nice chips, something most restaurants dont seem to be able to get right. Anyway going back tomorrow so we'll see. Could do with more ales. Atmosphere 6 Food choice 8-9 Quality 8 Service 9 Ales 3 Staropramen 11

Date visited: march 2008

Review by I.K. Reed on 23rd July, 2008

Add your review
Having never been to the Hare before, we read the reviews and decided to try it out. Whereas the food was acceptable and the service was Ok-ish, it was just an ordinary pub serving ordinary food.Nothing special.Wouldn't really bust a gut to go back. There are much better places locally to eat that are far better.

Date visited: 13th July 2008

Review by elizabeth on 16th April, 2008

Add your review
The hare at loddington is the best place around not only for the fresh home cooked food but value for money as well. The steak and kidney Pud is to die for ! and fresh fish choice is great one thinks that Vicky and Alan only like brewers fair rubbish 2 for a 10 crap which comes out of a deep freeze and cooked in a microwave. they do not know good food and value when they see it. the owner has a dry sense of humour and is a bit deaf, but the worst thing you can say about the place. WELL DONE THE HARE, NICE TO SEE FRESH HOME COOKED FOOD WITH FRESH VEG

Date visited: 11.04.08

Review by Alan on 24th March, 2008

Add your review
I must say overall the experience was rather disappointing and this was mainly down to the unfriendly service from the landlord and some incompentent waitress service. The food was ok but I prefer my roast beef to have some moisture content!

Date visited: 23/03/08

Review by Mike Hoi on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
Back to the Hare again! They are now producing home made steak and kidney puddings! Thay are the best I have ever tasted. You can not beat this on cold Feb night! Served with fresh asparagus carrots and potatoes cooked to perfection. No wonder I keep going back!

Date visited: 10.2.08

Review by quentin lowe on 1st July, 2007

Add your review
We were told by friends that the Hare was about the only place to get a decent meal in Kettering so we thought we would try it. The sunday lunch menu was excellent value for money. The portions were over generous and prepared to a high standard. Get a life Vikki ! We would die for a pub like this in our village! Quentin

Date visited: 1.7.2007

Review by Mike Hoi on 25th June, 2007

Add your review
When in the UK I take my family to the Hare, its the only place my wife will go. She feels safe here other pubs can be intimidating.The food is always excellent and freshly cooked. We recommend the Crispy Duck! The prices are very reasonable for what you get. Mike Hoi

Date visited: 23 June 2007

Review by vicki on 17th May, 2007

Add your review
Good food but rather overpriced. Pity the landlord is such an unwelcoming miserable scrote, I'm not suprised the place is emptier each time we visit. The village wont miss him.

Date visited: various

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Auld Ayr,whom ne'er a town surpasses for honest men and bonnie lasses - Robert Burns
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hastings - 1066, Battle of Old Byland - 1322, Caerphilly Pit disaster - 1913, Winnie the Pooh Published - 1926, Balham Blitz Tube Disaster - 1940, Fifty Pence Coin Issued - 1969
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages