It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Boat & Anchor Pub, Bridgwater

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr Richards on 11th April, 2011

Add your review
I have read with fascination the review by the Edneys which miraculously mirrors that of the Banks'. This is either an incredible coincidence of opposites or something far more fishy. I must say the landlord's behaviour on our visit was woefully short of manners and he would not even try the food when the legitimate complaint was made. Avoid this place.

Date visited: 2 April 2011

Review by Bob on 8th October, 2010

Add your review
Room was excellent, nice and clean with lovelly view over the canal and beyond. Our evening meal was excellent and represented really good value. Served by the most courteous staff, who went out of their way to ensure everything was was satisfactory. I would certainly recommend, and friends of ours have booked a room for a couple of nights in November. They will not be disappointed. Bob & Kaz

Date visited: 14/10/2010

Review by MR J L EDNEY on 4th August, 2009

Add your review
Me and my wife visited the boat and anchor for four nights, the last night being our anniversary.We found the landlord Mr Rodosthenous to be an absolute gentleman. We were made more than welcome throughout our stay.The accomadation is warm and clean. Biscuits,tea,coffee and towels replaced every morning.The food was delicious,and there was always plenty of it,i can recommend the whole rack of ribs, and the 10 0z rump steak but as gorgeous the starters are you may struggle to eat both.The waiting staff could not do enough for you,checking your meal was ok and did you require anything else.It was fantastic,we will definately be going back,sooner rather than later.t was fantastic.Thank you to all at the Boat and Anchor for a very memorable and enjoyable stay.

Date visited: 31/07/09

Review by Mr C & Mrs M Banks on 13th May, 2009

Add your review
Stayed in bridgewater and this was the recommended local eatery and it looked perfect for our wedding anniversary. After choosing our meal we paid first in cash and was not offered a receipt. The £10.50 rump steak arrived. At least 2/3rds of this was grissle and fat. We approached the landlord Mr Rodosthenous who totally disagreed with our comments and left us to return to his meal with no offer of a replacement or refund. When we questioned him again he just used his size and posture to intimidate us to leave. If you do go don't pay first as you will not like what turns up on your plate. My meal, costing £8.50 was a microwaved fish and chips. Go to the White Lodge Beefeater in Taunton and eat properly for the same price.

Date visited: 11/05/09

Review by Russell Catlow on 15th December, 2007

Add your review
I often eat out in the local area approx 2-3 times a month and am often satisfied with the food and service I recieve from local eateries. However this is not the case at the Boat & Anchor, where the food was very very poor and the service no better. Not only was the food poor but also insultingly expensive - £12.95 for a chicken breast. Prices like that deserve quality dishes. When I asked to speak to the management he was more than unhelpful and totally un-interested in my complaints. Avoid at all costs!!!!!

Date visited: 14/12/2007

Review by Peter G Gibb on 23rd October, 2007

Add your review
Quite Astonishing! Arrived for a main meal en route from Plymouth. They will not serve you unless you 'surrender' your credit or debit card to the barmaid - as they explain "Our rules - and if you don't like them .... " Why? they do not trust customers to pay before leaving. So, we appear to be untrustworthy??? How nice. Dogs in the eating area . . (!) The food was okay ... but we, and other diners left after the one, main course otherwise we had to queue at the bar to order other courses. Quaint? Not in our book 'Rubbish!' more like.

Date visited: July 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Farce is tragedy played at a thousand revolutions per minute. - Sir John Mortimer
More Quotes

On this day:
Start of the Great Smog - 1952, Opening of UK's 1st Motorway - 1958, The Civil Partnership Act comes into force in Britain - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages