It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Kings Head, Wells

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Steve on 8th August, 2008

Add your review
King's Head landlord here. I've finally got around to looking up my own pub on the internet (after 9 gruelling months of improving the place) and, my, what a lot of unhappy customers this place used to get! If you're one of the people who had a bad experience in the past then please visit us again, the place has changed beyond recognition; I'm confident you'll be pleasantly surprised...

Date visited: 8/8/08

Review by Jane McKinley on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
What a transformation - the new owners have really done a good job. The place is now clean and welcoming, the food is excellent, the staff friendly and on a cold day there is a welcoming real fire burning in the grate. Well worth a visit.

Date visited: 2/12/07

Review by Graham Livings on 28th November, 2007

Add your review
This mediaeval inn has improved beyond recognition,under its new 'young' host & hostess! The soup was excellent, the beef succulent, tasty & good portion, similarly the vegetables; congratultions to the chef. Good enough for Michael Winner & Geraldine, by appointment! Graham E Livings sometime 611th Mayor of Wells

Date visited: 25 November 2007

Review by andrew willerton on 18th November, 2007

Add your review
I first walked into the kings head on the 16/10/07 and my first reaction was to how dirty and grimy the place was,i soon ralised that myself and others had our work cut out to change the pub that my boss had employed me to be head chef of. after two weeks had work from a team of people some of who i now call friends, we were now ready to open the kings heads doors once again. since opening again the feed back has been amazing, the pub is clean the staff friendly, the landlord and landlady a lovely couple, and our food simple, fresh and served in no longer than 20mins unless busy. i do apologise for the serves in the past that you might have recived from the old team at the kings head, and i do hope you will be pleasantly surprised by the new new feel to a once very sucsessful and well loved pub in wells.

Date visited: 16 november 2007

Review by Ren Jackaman on 20th April, 2007

Add your review
This pub really lets down the otherwise lovely town of Wells. The staff are rude to the point of being argumentative and agressive; the service was unacceptably slow (45 minutes for a sandwich!) some of the food was acceptable, some of it was uncooked! The standard of cleanliness in the pub, beergarden and toilets was very poor, so much so that I would argue that they constitute a hazard to health. In short, if you are a visitor to Wells for the day, do not go here; it will ruin your experience of the place.

Date visited: 09/04/2007

Review by Graham Williams on 19th April, 2007

Add your review
I had a dreadful visit here. I was with a group of around 10 people. We ordered lunch around 2pm. The guy behind the bar had a few problems with the till. At around 3pm the food arrived - at least some of it did. Mine didn't. I asked where it was and was told by a very impolite young waitress that I hadn't ordered any. I replied that I had and that I had also paid for it.She stalked off to fetch the manager.He was quite aggressive and repeated the girls' answer. I asked him to check the till. Reluctantly he did so and had to admit that, after checking the till roll, I was correct. He offered to cook the food for me there and then. I replied that as it was 3.10pm and that I had an appointment at 3.25 that I wanted my money back.He did not accept this.After shouting at me in front of my party and in front of other customers he returned my money and threw me out. I am a 52 year old professional man and this was the first time I have ever been thrown out of a pub in my life. It is certainly the worst treatment I have ever witnessed or received in a pub. I am the musical director of a choir which was singing in the cathedral on that day. There were 55 of us. We were all looking for somewhere to have an evening meal. No one went there in the evening.I shall be taking the matter further with the appropriate authorities. It is a great pity that someone with the attitude of the landlord of the Kings Head in Wells has such a negative impact on tourism within that city. Graham Williams Bmus, FTCL, GBSM, ARCM, LRAM Musical Director The Callington Singers

Date visited: 9.04.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Electric communication will never be a substitute for the face of someone who with their soul encourages another person to be brave and true. - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Flannan Isles Mystery Born - 1900, Retreat from Gallipoli - 1915, Bosman Ruling - 1995
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages