It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Malt 'n' Hops, Taunton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jones on 12th June, 2011

Add your review
If you like steak then they serve a very good steak meal here, nice beer garden and very friendly people. On the down side the menu hasnt got much choice and it lacks a bit of atmosphere, was rather quiet for a saturday night.

Date visited: 11.06.11

Review by Lucy on 11th May, 2011

Add your review
Fantastic food and lovely surroundings particularly in the garden area. Paul and Ellie are great and always helpful. Love going there whether it's just for an afternoon drink, lunch or Sunday roast. Looking forward to going there for an evening meal to as have heard some great reviews.

Date visited: 09052011

Review by colin farmer on 17th May, 2010

Add your review
a meal for 16 people on my wifes bithday could not fault the service and the food was superb very hard to serve 16 people and the food to arrive hot but every meal served was piping hot good night had by all and will be going back again

Date visited: 14-05-2010

Review by m lewis on 13th January, 2010

Add your review
wasnt impressed back in 2007 but the pub has come along leaps & bounds. great food, wine & service had an exceptional evenin! also nice to see they have been awarded a 5th star for cleanliness & hygine. will be returning soon!!

Date visited: 6 1 2010

Review by Ian Pape on 10th July, 2009

Add your review
Great Food! The Landlord was very accomodating to us. The food was very good and they served Otter beer at the right temperature 5 Stars!

Date visited: 10 July 2009

Review by Mrs Lewis on 2nd March, 2009

Add your review
Booking of 12 pre-ordered all meals. 4 meals were homemade burgers & chips, all had to be returned as very rare. Meals returned with original chips (2 of which had sauce poured onto them)luke warm. We requested part refund on these meals. Totally declined manager informed us we were to blame as burgers weren't requested to be cooked anything other than rare. We weren't even asked how the burgers would like to be cooked and the attitude of the manager & two of the waitresses was very poor. Hence 12 customers won't be returning. Overpriced and limited menu.

Date visited: 21.02.09

Review by craig m on 3rd April, 2008

Add your review
Great beer garden, good choice of wines, friendly clientele and a good choice of food. Sunday lunch excellent value. Board games and newspapers available - a back street secret! Easy to find - perfect for Sunday afternoons or first port of call on a Friday or Saturday.

Date visited: Regular

Review by Robert Blundell on 30th August, 2007

Add your review
We visited as part of a party of 16 including 2 children. This meal was pre booked 14 adults + 2 children all meals pre-ordered. On ordering the pre meal drink there was only either Guinness or one other beer option on tap. I thought this was a pub/restaurant? Then after the round of drinks we were shown to the table laid up for only 14 places? The waitress was apparently not told about any children and so had not catered for them. The surly waitress suggested quite curtly that we should all shift up & find a couple of extra seats but we weren't to use those over there, as they were for ordered customers. What were we then?? We then had to request cutlery none appeared so we shared out what was on the table. After some further disagreeable dialogue we located our own chairs etc and seated ourselves ready for the meal. I had scallops to start with. I was not expecting a plate full but 3 scallops the size of a 50p disappeared quite rapidly. Main course was breasts (as per menu plural) of duck. Well it arrived was tender but not far off raw about 5 slices a breast not breasts. The accompanying veg was meagre and mean. What was provided for 4 would have been a normal meal for one at home approx 10 thin slices of carrot 2 minuscule florets of broccoli and new potatoes which were about sufficient. I would estimate that all the veg provided for 16people could have been purchased in Tesco for about a £1. The children had a chicken pasta meal at £10.99 followed by ice cream. This consisted of 3 small ice cream spheres in a sundae glass with biscuts at the ridiculous price of £4.95 each! The coup de gras was on receiving the bill and sorting out payment we had been overcharged on the bill by £15! My wife spoke to the proprietor about the surly attitude of the waitress and he had the audacity to argue that everyone loved his girls? Well not us on this occasion! A very expensive disappointing and once only experience. We would have been far better to have paid a fraction of the price just down the road at JDWetherspoon where the food & drinks are always first class, served with a smile and at a very reasonable price. We definitely do NOT recommend this place to anyone for either food, drinks, service or price.

Date visited: 23/08/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Sooner or later everyone sits down to a banquet of consequences. - Robert Louis Stevenson
More Quotes

On this day:
Flannan Isles Mystery Born - 1900, Retreat from Gallipoli - 1915, Bosman Ruling - 1995
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages