Red

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2019: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red Lion Inn, Yeovil

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jo Timson on 29th March, 2012

Add your review
Sorry but we will not be returning. If you are a local it seems nothing is too much trouble but to us mere tourists prepare to be made to feel like an outsider. Food is pricey - not a problem if you get a good meal but one of our main dishes had to be returned as it was stone cold and the chips tasted like the nights before that had been re-used. How dare we send a dish back... clearly the Landlord was less than amused and treated us accordingly. Drinks (draught Lager) were flat and barely cold so to summarise we were glad to leave - albeit with a less than happy memory.

Date visited: 29/03/12

Review by Pete Berris on 8th November, 2008

Add your review
Having come here in March this yearwhile visiting a cousin in East Lydford we returned for more of the same friendly service and excellent food. We struggled to finish the large portions and the Home made ice cream for pudding was especially good. Highly Recommended. Pete B

Date visited: 7th November 2008

Review by Caffs on 26th November, 2007

Add your review
Went there on recommendation. My bowl of mussels at £6.95 (small portion) amounted to over 50pence per mussel. Pad thai was rice noodles with about 10 bean sprouts and a sliver of red pepper but no chicken or prawn or anything - at just under £10 that was a healthy profit of £9 at least. Oh and when we were asked for our order we said could it wait another few minutes whereupon we were told that the chef was getting a bit tetchy as he needed to know if he was going to run out of any of the items on the menu. (Given the fact that we were the third table in I thought this rather unlikely.) Don't bother - go to Corton Denham which is fab and far far better value.

Date visited: 26th November 2007

Review by Cazz on 5th April, 2007

Add your review
We've just got back from our 'meal' and we are so dissapointed. Staff lovely, venue lovely, wine fine, but the overpriced and totally unsatisfying food - never again. I suggest a beer or two on their lovely lawm in late summer - !

Date visited: today

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Time is but the shadow of the world upon the background of Eternity. - Jerome K Jerome
More Quotes

On this day:
Drake Starts round the world voyage - 1577, Battle of Alton - 1643, Battle of the River Plate - 1939, Jackanory First Broadcast - 1965
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages