Waterside

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by In on 3rd November, 2012

Add your review
Frankly disappointed really for a park resorts a let Dow. The was seemed to be maintained by young lads who seem more interested in the young ladies than looking out for children's safety, also note mould spores on the ceiling! Changing ridiculously small. Showers warm water damp with no heating not clean atalanta don't think it's ever seen bleach or disinfectant, clubhouse toilets really dirty more like a public toilet!!!! Touring electric pitches sodden with the new drainage making no difference. One more con was the rat infested chicken coup at the back Pros Great friendly helpful staff Cafe and shop got all that you need and I highly recommend the very readonably priced cafe with very good food Some short but nice coastal walks, sea fidhing

Date visited: 28 October 2012

Review by zoe straine-francis on 4th July, 2012

Add your review
DO NOT GO IF YOU DONT HAVE A CAR OR ARE WHEELCHAIR BOUND; we went on 2-july after and we ended up back at home by the wendays morning due to there was nothing there. if you dont have a car then it no good as the bus's are every 2 hours and thats if thay deside to turn up. thay said that thay had nite time enter tanement but thay dont. there swimming pool you have to book for plus its very small. there wheelchair freindly is apoorling as it ant wheelchair freindly. alot of things thay said thay do and it turns out thay dont so i would not say to any one thay its a good place to go.

Date visited: 2-july-2012

Review by waterside freeholders on 27th January, 2010

Add your review
Waterside Holiday Park is generally a peaceful Park with a small indoor splash pool for yound children, a friendly cafe and a bar with pool table which has entertainment on Saturday nights in the peak season. If you have children that need to be kept busy it is best you have a car to visit surrounding places which are mainly open between May - August so be prepared to enjoy country walks, or if camping the great outdoors. With low expectations you will not be dissapointed but it is not like Clacton On Sea or Brighton it is more like Carry On Camping you make your own fun so bring a BBQ, some cards and remember to visit Burnham-On-Crouch for and in the middle of the high street is a fish shop that also makes fish n chips freashly caught - visit the 1930's cinema it is trusely unusual in a fun way - the steam museum - the fullsize steam railway at Burnham.

Date visited: 10/11/2009

Review by jane on 1st May, 2009

Add your review
We stayed as part of the Sun £9.50 holiday promotion. Our caravan was clean, tidy and well appointed for two adults and a baby. This is a quiet site with a high proportion of static caravan owner occupiers. We didn't however go in the club room, use the pool(which is tiny), or the cafe. It would not be suitable for older children / teenagers as there in not enough to keep them occupied. We used the site as a base to explore the very attractive local area.

Date visited: 24/04/2008

Review by Dawn Kewn on 3rd August, 2008

Add your review
I stayed for a one week break at Waterside after booking the wrong caravan site, turns out there's another Waterside Holiday Park in Southern Devon. We booked a static caravan, a Bronze model, which we found to be very poor and dirty. The whole caravan was unclean and had a horrible stench. I usually stay in Bronze or Standard rated caravans, but I have never seen a Bronze caravan this bad before. I complained to the very friendly staff, and they upgraded my caravan to a Silver model. It was very clean and made up for the previous model, but I can't gaurantee that everyone will be compensated if they complain. After booking through Park Resorts, the website made it seem that there would be a very good choice of entertainment. It turned out to be very lackluster, with only one cabaret act on a Saturday night. There was no midweek entertainment, despite booking at a popular School holidays date. Children's entertainment was advertised to include breakfast with the site character, which never happened. Daytime activities were also included in the price, but never came to light. Fliers for caravan sales and other litter were scattered around the bar floor, and were left for several days before being removed. According to the brochure, the children's park was portrayed as being very large and expansive. Infact, the park consisted of two early children swings. My children, of course, could not fit on them. The rest of the park was shut off from the children, for reasons never explained. The pool was small, and unclean. The water was murky and needed to be decontaminated. The changing rooms were very cramped, and even more dirty. The female changing rooms were very "open", and provided no privacy at all for people inside.] The pool area also was home to several ants nests, which were obvious when in or around the pool. We rarely approached the swimming pool during our stay. The only thing credible about the site was how friendly the staff were. Don't go, or cancel your booking as soon as possible.

Date visited: 12th July 2008 - 19th July 2008

Review by Ian on 25th May, 2008

Add your review
We booked for two nights basic camping (two man tent). The site was tidy and the staff very friendly and welcoming. It is a good location for walks and views. Our pitch was quite a way from the reception which I thought would at least be quiet but I was between a large caravan and the road. More of a problem was that there is only one toilet/shower block on the whole site which appears mainly to be arranged for static caravans. There were no facilities for washing crockery etc other than the shower block sinks. It wasn't quiet because campers were using cars all hours to go the long distance to the toilet. We left after the first night. It really isn't geared for camping.

Date visited: May 2008

Review by b@w aldred on 22nd May, 2007

Add your review
we booked our holiday in February so when reading reports on web site we where perturbed,we decided to go ahead with the holiday, and move on if it wasn't alright,it would appear moaning is the thing to do in this day and age,found the site very pleasent, clean ,tidy and the views stunning lots of greenery and wild life and very quiet considering the number of children. Yes the club is small but very pleasent and people friendly,hope in the fucture they will extend,all staff helpful and friendly, so enjoy the site as it is and i am sure in the future there will be some good changes and additions made.As far as the boatyard is concerned you really had to go out of your way to find it and when you did ,it was what you say a boat yard but very tidy.

Date visited: may7th 2007

Review by Rachel MacPhail on 14th May, 2007

Add your review
We went to this site on a SUN holiday weekend.. The site overall was clean but they did seem to have a problem with dog poo by the sea wall which spoils a very nice area. I can see why a lot of parks do not allow people to bring their dogs if this is what happens! The swimming pool is tiny!!!! no bigger than a giant paddling pool, and our two boys of 5 and 9 were very dissapointed, you have been warned! The shop and cafe were nice but couldnt really cope with the amount of people on site, we had a takeaway from the cafe on our first evening and it took 45 minutes, although it was very nice when we finally got it. The clubhouse is small, more like a pub really which is fine in low season but I don't think you'd get a seat in high season. Now to the real reason I'm writing this review - I have never seen so many foul mouthed, rude teenagers (13-16 year olds) in one place, I think alot of them may go there on a regular basis as they all seemed to know each other. They were fighting and swearing (not mild swearing either), hanging around the shop/cafe and being generally intimidating. My two children are not saints but they were compared to these children and I count myself lucky! This site is in a lovely location so it's a shame it is spoilt by a minority of horrible children and irresponsible dog owners.

Date visited: 4 - 7th May 2007

Review by Lisa on 15th April, 2007

Add your review
we took our tourer to this site, we found it very clean and friendly, shop was reasonable, cafe was cheap with nice food. childrens entertainment was good, toilets and showers were cleaned regularly, bar prices was what you expect. all in all i was pleasantly surprised as we dont normally go to these type of sites.but, we will be going back.

Date visited: april 2007

Review by V Chalk on 8th March, 2007

Add your review
Fights in the clubhouse - static owners who obviously do not like tourers. Groups of teenages hanging about - no security. Wouldnt go back if you paid me.

Date visited: September 2006

Review by Amanda & Paul on 31st August, 2006

Add your review
We recently stayed at this campsite for a weekend in August 2006 and wonít be going back. The facilities were very poor. On arrival the reception was pleasant and friendly but there was some confusion as to which pitches were available and where we could go. Pitches were well marked out but there were caravans and tents all over the place and it was a while before we found an empty pitch with a free electric socket. We were then told there was no hot water as the site had run out of gas and the swimming pool would be closed all day as the water was freezing cold. The pitches were very uneven and full of cracks which made it difficult for a tent. Out of the three toilets in the ladies, only two were in working order and only three very dirty showers for the whole site. On the second night we were there the menís shower block was vandalised beyond use. My husband was told to use another block at the back of reception. This block was an old portacabin type and was disgusting; the showers looked neglected and hadnít been maintained for some time. He eventually managed to get one of the electric showers to work but the knob was broken and kept turning, there was no door lock and the water didnít run away. This is a fairly large site and many of the privately owned pitches looked as if they were permanent residences. Some had abandoned cars and various unsightly bits of junk on them. There was very little for children to do, the pool was so small it had to be booked in advance and the river was just a mud flat with no beach at all. The club house was also very tiny. Considering the amount this site charge per night, we feel it was money wasted and we wonít be going back.

Date visited: 19/08/06

Review by Hayley on 18th August, 2005

Add your review
Good sized pitches for camping, however pitches were ineven and bumpy- lots of holes which were very hazordous- especially for young children. Fairly quiet most of the time- only a small amount of noise at night. Although it was quite a nice setting, overall the sites facilities were very poor- only one toilet block for the whole site- which only had 3 toilets and 3 showers! Most of the time the toilets had no loo roll and were never cleaned properly. The take away food was nice, however took too long to cook - never very organised and jacket potatoes came out cold. The boat yard was a tip - rubbish dumped everywhere and there was no proper beach- only muddy wet sand. Club house was nice- drinks a reasonable price and entertainment okay. Most staff were very friendly howevere some did not know what they were doing! Swimming pool was very small- not big enough for a site of that size however the jacuzzi and sauna were nice. Would not visit site again.

Date visited: 14th August - 17th August 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The aim of a joke is not to degrade the human being, but to remind him that he is already degraded - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles