Castle

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Castle Lodge Hotel, Ross-on-Wye

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gill & James Trew on 28th November, 2009

Add your review
What a gem!!! From the friendly relaxed atmosphere, superb accomodation to the excellent food - everything was just perfect from start to finish. Would definitely reccomend and hope to visit again next year. Well done!

Date visited: 17/11/09

Review by john lloyd on 23rd April, 2008

Add your review
My wife and I were travelling to Cardiff on business 21/4/08 when car trouble left us stranded on the M50 a few miles from Ross on Wye the pick up truck driver was very helpful and rang around to get us a room and he told us the only hotel that actually answered their phone was the Castle, obviously one would think in two ways is it because it,s so bad or because they actually are professional enough to make themselves availible at awkward hours as it was now nearing midnight we did not question. Anyway if we did have any trepidation it was removed as soon as we got to the hotel where the owner was there waiting for us with a sympathetic smile and a philosophical outlook which was refreshing and probably got us through the initial trauma of our situation,we were greeted booked in and shown to our room within minutes in a very efficient manner which helped no end as we were both very tired,the owner even mentioned that if we were late for breakfast it was not a problem "so dont worry about a thing" we have stayed in hotels all over the world and I have never stayed in a hotel that is not in need of some attention as after all they are at the mercy of us the guest. The rooms at the Castle Lodge are appropriate to the cost of a stay there and are comfortable in fact despite our reason for being there I havent slept so well in a long time, so for any prospective visitors to the Castle Lodge take our word for it the place is great the owners and staff are friendly warm and very helpful also the steak au poivre is to die for they also have an extensive fish menu which if the food we ate is anything to go by you cant lose. Many thanks to Carlos and Maria and their staff. Mr and Mrs J Lloyd

Date visited: 21/4/08-24/4/08

Review by Sue Earrey on 11th October, 2007

Add your review
Great value hotel, lovely friendly staff and a menu that is packed with so many choices it will take you ages to decide. I have never seen so many different types of fresh fish available in a restaurant! Worth a visit just to eat in the restaurant. Lovely riverside walk into the town centre.

Date visited: 26.08.07

Review by Mr Baxter on 14th December, 2006

Add your review
Thank you for a lovely weekend,the food and the presentation of it was 1st class.We have stayed at a number of hotels in your area but we must say this is the best by far both your self and your wife and staff made us feel realy welcome,we are lookin forward to our next visit and it can not come soon enough. Regards Mr.Mrs Baxter & Mr.Mrs Greenway.

Date visited: 8/9 12 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Good order is the foundation of all things. - Edmund Burke
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Hedgeley Moor - 1464, Robinson Crusoe Published - 1719, Treaty of Amiens Signed - 1802, Crick and Watson discover DNA - 1953
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages