Crown

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Crown at Worthington, Wigan

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Food was very good, excellent range of beer and the staff were knowledgeable about it. Good directions to hotel. Bad Points: Room very warm. Shower dripped and had to be left on the bottom of shower cubicle to prevent this. There was a notice asking to ensure that the shower doors were closed when showering, but this was impossible because doors would not meet at the bottom. General review: Generally good.

Date visited: 2009-09-21

Review by Anonymous on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Food was very good, excellent range of beer and the staff were knowledgeable about it. Good directions to hotel. Bad Points: Room very warm. Shower dripped and had to be left on the bottom of shower cubicle to prevent this. There was a notice asking to ensure that the shower doors were closed when showering, but this was impossible because doors would not meet at the bottom. General review: Generally good.

Date visited: 2009-09-21

Review by Marianne Saxon on 16th March, 2009

Add your review
Phoned booking through Wednesday 11th March and asked for table in conservatory - been previously and knew it to be quiet area of restaurant - as we were taking elderly relatives. Were not told when booking that there was a large party booking and the conservatory would not be available. Seated in 'Lilac room' which although sat near window was quite a loud family room. When mentioned whilst paying was met with ' couldn't care less attitude!! Yes food was excellent but the attitude of senior management leaves a lot to be desired. Should take a leaf out of book of junior staff who were a lot more helpful.

Date visited: 14 March 2009

Review by Anonymous on 5th November, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: good value for money, bar reasonably priced, food good and very good choice. staff friendly Bad Points: bed sloped to one side !! quite dark in room

Date visited: 2008-11-05

Review by Naomi on 13th March, 2008

Add your review
We have stayed here 3 times and eaten here about 6 times. The food has been lovely and my boyfriend has enjoyed the real ale selection. You can eat in the bar (comfortable and scruffy) or the restaurant (more upmarket). The food is delicious but portions are very big. They do good but simple pub grub on the fixed price menu and more ambitious dishes on the a la carte. I had roasted monkfish wrapped in pancetta which was delicious . The rooms are modern and unfussy but comfortable . I prefer to have a bath as well as a shower but for 2 nights it's not a problem. It can be quite hard to find the pub especially in the dark. Better signs would be appreciated!

Date visited: 22/02/2008

Review by Michael Mercer on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
Stayed 2 nights.comfortable room.The Crown has a very good restaurant superb food, staff were friendly and helpfull.I will definately stay there again. M Mercer.

Date visited: 31/08/2007

Review by Liz Stevenson on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
Adequate accommodation - the room needed a good dusting and there was no trouser press or hairdryer. The senior staff were less than welcoming and there was no atmosphere in the restaurant although the young staff were friendly. The food was O.K. - I complained about my pie and were offered free deserts. Maybe we visited at a bad time but would only recommend as a place to lay your head.

Date visited: 3/4 March 2007

Review by Sarah Senior on 22nd August, 2005

Add your review
Fantastic Place - I could not recommend it more highly The service was impeccable, the atmosphere was excellent, the menu was extensive and tempting and the food was mouth-wateringly good. I recommend their restaurant for any steak lovers out there – they do what is known as a butchers block –you get to choose your cut of steak (they cut it in front of you), and then choose from a long list what kind of vegetables or salad you want, how you want your potatoes, which sauces etc. The wine list is excellent and the recommendations are spot on. My partner and I had an excellent two course meal, a superb bottle of wine (vintage Châteauneuf du Pape) dessert and a nightcap all for £65. The rooms are newly refurbished and spacious (we did not stay but the land lady showed us one when we were there - which miffed us as we were paying considerably more for a four star hotel up the road where we were having a terrible stay in a pokey room with bad service!) I can’t recommend it highly enough – go there!

Date visited: August 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is always time for failure. - Sir John Mortimer
More Quotes

On this day:
French Surrender Quebec to the British - 1759, Theatre Royal Covent Garden Re-Opens - 1809, Darwin Sets Foot on Galapagos Islands - 1835, Jimi Hendrix dies in London - 1970, Scotland Says NO - 2014
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages