Dalmeny

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel, Glasgow

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Amanda Curran on 7th August, 2009

Add your review
If you are looking for your dream wedding - you have found it!! The hotel staff ensured our day was special and everyone was treated like royalty. The hotel gardens were amazing for our wedding ceremony and pictures. The Dalmeny Hotel has given me a day that I will never forget :-)

Date visited: 5th July 2009

Review by Lisa on 3rd November, 2008

Add your review
My big sister had her wedding there. It was brilliant the gardens were amazing. The rooms were lovelly. The staff were brilliant i was ill in my room so the staff brought up free glasses of water and cola. I was sick all over the room but they cleane it happily. apart from that i had a great day and everyone was so impressed with the venue it was beautiful, there was another wedding on the same day but we never even herd them it was fine and we still had plenty of room. the photos were amazing because of the brilliant scenary. Who knew there was somewhere like this in glassgow !!!( and at great prices :O )

Date visited: 30/10/08

Review by Mr And Mrs Ross on 21st October, 2007

Add your review
We had our wedding here last year and had a wounderfull day. The staff were very helpfull. the rooms were big and comfortable, with lovely en suites. the gardens were lovely and we were lucky enough to have good weather which meant lovely photos in the surrounding gardens,also our guests enjoyed being outside aswell.There was also another wedding on that same day but we didnt even notice as everything was separate at all times. If its a wedding you are thinking of, this is a great place and we would recommend it.

Date visited: 26th august 2006

Review by Chris & Jane Carchrie on 9th December, 2006

Add your review
We were married on the 8th and held a small reception lunch at this hotel. The food was superb (and fairly priced) and the staff were very attentive. We had 3 children in the party and our waiter found paper and pencils etc to keep them amused. We left toiletries in someones car, but hotel provided complimentary. We stayed in bridal suite, and had a wonderful time. Would recommend.

Date visited: 08/12/06

Review by Andrea Sinclair on 7th October, 2006

Add your review
I was booked into your hotel for 1 night while attending a family wedding there. The hotel was superb, the grounds absolutely beautiful for the photographs, the rooms were very nice. The wedding meal was absolutely faultless, piping hot and very tasty. Our waiter was very attentive. Staff were very friendly, and the dance later in the evening was brilliant. Our scottish breakfast the next morning was freshly made and one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. All in all, anyone having a wedding there can rest assured they could not get anywhere nicer, with top class service and lovely surroundings.

Date visited: 30 September 2006

Review by Mr & Mrs Stevenson on 6th January, 2006

Add your review
We checked in here immediately after our wedding on 30 Dec 2005 for a 2 night stay. Still dressed in full Highland Dress and with my bride in her Bridal Gown we were accosted by a over eficient receptionist who insisted we pay our bill in full before allowing us access to our room. After an undignified search of our belongings while still holding our wedding presents my credit card was duly found and we were given our keys. We had booked the premium Kintyre Suite at a cost of £185 per night and also 2 tickets for the Hogmany Ball costing £65 each. Not unreasonable to be pampered in 4 Star luxury or so we thought. Our delux room was not quite what we were expecting, pealing wallpaper, obvious poorly applied Polyfilla, a trouser press that was not in working order and linen on our bridal bed with cigarette burns! Not to worry, off to our fantastic double jacuzzi. Fantastic it would have been if it were not for the missing tiles right in the front centre of it. A comfortable night was spent and we eagerly awaited our breakfast delivered to our room next morning, FULL SCOTTISH, full for a mouse perhaps. As for the Hogmany Ball this was infact rather good except for the fact the waiter could not wait to remove the complimentary bottle of wine from our table despite the fact we had not had the chance to taste it, perhaps it was to make room for our also complimentary whiskey to celebrate the bells which was strangely given to us at 8PM? Insult to injury, who were the pipers we had been expecting to hear at midnight? There was only one, we knew her, she was our waitress from the meal. 4 STAR - WE THINK NOT!

Date visited: 30/12/2005

Review by pickford on 21st November, 2005

Add your review
There is an old saying; you only get what you pay for. Well what I can say about my two day stay at this so called Country House Hotel. I am sure that under the Trade Description Act, the use of the words “Country House”, tend to be misleading, because the Dalmeny Park Hotel is situated 20 minutes by car on the North Eastern Side of Glasgow at Barrhead, a very run down location between Paisley and East Kilbride. I paid £40 per night for a double room complete with breakfast, ( half the normal rate) but to be fair, the breakfast was very good. Notices all over the hotel apologised for the renovation work taking place inside the hotel, however there was no obvious sign that any work was being undertaken at all. Before booking into the Dalmeny Park via “late rooms.com” on the internet, together with my wife we had examined the wealth of negative remarks and were at the outset a little concerned, particularly regarding the food quality. Never the less we went ahead and booked, paying a princely sum of £80 for the two evenings. Our room located at the far end on a long cold extension annex and over-looking a main rood was cold, with glass window falling out and having been patched over with a Perspex.sheet resulting in an annoying draft. The curtains were almost falling off a rickety wooden rail above the window. The central heating did not work, a sore point which we heard other residents complaining about. The temporary wall heater was held in place with a single screw and was almost falling off the wall. The colour television was faulty and was replaced by the manager on our second day. Overall the Hotel is well past it’s prime and is in urgent need of major refurbishment to bring the standard to something I would call acceptable. I would place the star rating at 2, but would argue that the £40 paid per night was high considering the shabby condition of the hotel decor generally. The gardens surrounding the hotel complex are in fact smaller than the two car parks. ; I will not be making a return visit in the foreseeable future.

Date visited: 19-20 November 2005

Review by Aimee-Louise Banks on 28th October, 2005

Add your review
Hello, This is abit of a late review but i thought you would like to know how pleased i was with everything about your hotel. My partner suprised me on the 11/3/05 with a room booked for 2 nights to celebrate my 21st birthday which happened to be the 12/3/05 the day i would say had to be the happiest day of my life well one of them for now.When i arrived at your hotel i was stunned by the beauty and style of the hotel it was i everything i could imagine and much more, everything was so perfect the staff were amazing they did everything to perfection it was brilliant. On the day of my birthday my partner presented me with the most beautiful ring ive ever seen which made my stay even more special i fell in love all over again and not just with my fiance' i fell in love with the hotel so on the 2/08/08 the day of our wedding i just hope the hotel is free to host it. Thankyou all very much Aimee-louise xxx p.s please could you email me some prices for weddings

Date visited: 11/03/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A slavish bondage to parents cramps every faculty of the mind. - Mary Shelley
More Quotes

On this day:
First Non-Stop Transatlantic Jet Flight - 1950, Launch of ITV - 1955, 10 Soldiers killed by IRA bomb attack in Deal - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages