Park

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

January 2020: Get Fit on the North York Moors

January is the traditional month for regretting the excesses of December and promising yourself and others that this year you are definitely going ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Park Hotel, Preston

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 23rd March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Beautifully maintained period house Bad Points: Poor shower General review: Enjoyable

Date visited: 2009-03-23

Review by richard on 4th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: very clean and cosy would definatley stat there again General review: the staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was very good, nothing was to much trouble for them.

Date visited: 2007-10-04

Review by Roy Scott on 14th August, 2007

Add your review
The Twin Bedroom we booked online whilst available was being refurbished as a result of an earlier flood, and the corridor leading to the room in an annex was very unpleasant. We settled for a double room in the main hotel block The famous resturant is only open from Monday to Thursday so after a day on the motorway we had to go into Preston (too far to walk) to find food and drink. Not the best start. Staff friendly but not very helpful regarding local information.

Date visited: 11/13 September 2007

Review by laura eccles on 6th May, 2007

Add your review
Stayed at the most brilliant little hotel in Preston last week The Park for 3 days and I have to say it was wonderful. Everything was excellent from start to finish, my room, the staff, the food, the place was spotlessly clean and I was made to feel very welcome. As a lone woman traveller on a course for 3 days I was not looking forward to staying in a hotel and dining in the restaurant every evening alone. When I arrived the staff instantly put me at ease and said they would look after me seeing I was a bit apprehensive at the thought of being alone. Got to know the new owners and staff quite well and have to say they are doing a great job. They have had to lose the 2 rosette status in the restaurant, that goes automatically with the previous owners apparantly, but belive me the food is still terrific, for example portobella mushrooms stuffed with spinach, walnuts and brie,duck with bourbon, maple syrup and pears, homemade creme brulee etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I for one will definately be returning, hopefully with my husband next time.

Date visited: 1st may 2007

Review by Steve Bonnici on 21st February, 2007

Add your review
Mixed feeling about this hotel. Arrived after 4pm to find owners out and a friend holding the fort. Was directed to my room found it okay even though it was a bit like a maze. The room was freezing upon entry. It is situated in the extension and the heating clearly was not on in that part of the building. An additional heater is supplied and room was up to scratch with 20 mins or so. Only 1 powerpoint provided for Kettle/Heater/Mobile Phone charger etc. Room was lovely, comfortable however the onsuite bathroom had an overhead extraction unit which was noisy and clearly never cleaned. A welcome book was provided with lots of local info as well as a menu for the main restaurant and an extensive room service order. Decided to eat in the restaurant and chose 3 things from the room menu. I was the first in a dinner, and soon found out that the menu was different. When I raised this I was told not to take any notice of the menu in the room as it is not supposed to be there. Also appararently the room service menu has been discontinued since the new owners took. I ordered for starter the wild mushrooms Risotto and spinach.. Service was good, but when the food arrived. It appeared to be tinned mushrooms and rice with a bit of spinach thrown in. At nearly 7 it was well over priced especially for a very water based product. Duck was the main course, on a bed of mash and parnsips. Well Parsnips must have been out of season, as it was purely mash. The duck was poorly cooked, raw one side, cooked the other. Half of it got spat out as unchewable. I brought it to the waitresses attention who went off to the kitchem. She appeared about 10 mins later with a question - would I like desert. No thanks enough money waster. The duck was about 17, probably could get better food at the local chinese. Breakfast the next morning - well I was dreading it. Arrived there was 3 other tables. Nice waitress, but after 20 mins of waiting for my cooked breakfast I asked the waitress if there was a problem. Sorry she said but we are dealing with Room service orders. Two othe chaps came down and got their cooked breakfast with 10 mins. Mine took 23. However it was excellent, well cooked, not too greasy and the mushrooms well funny enough like last nights starter. On checkout I compalined but was met by an ignorant overweight woman who moaned that she cooked it. Got a 10 discount and they forget to charge me all my bar bill. Nice hotel, but avoid the restaurant you can do better locally. Incidentally I went to visit my client who was local and they told me that they booked a birthday meal in there and the food was the worst.

Date visited: 20th February 2007

Review by nicola Kay on 18th April, 2006

Add your review
Had a wonderful stay. very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and spotlessly clean. Happy to recommend this hotel.

Date visited: 15th April 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The finest landscape is improved by a good Pub in the foreground - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Botany Bay Founded - 1788, Rugby Football Union Formed - 1871, Gordon Killed at Khartoum - 1885, John Logie Baird gives first demonstration of television - 1926
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages