Delny

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Hazel Donnelly on 16th October, 2014

Add your review
After reading reviews before I went I was a bit worried,I needn't have been,I was pleasantly surprised Delny Ranch is a fantastic place,very relaxing and peacful The lodge was great, having WiFi was a bonus (for my son's), Had a meal in the barn which was lovely, staff very nice, my only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer, will defanately return again. My boys aged 15 + 10 also really enjoyed it and look forward to returning.

Date visited: 13/10/14

Review by margaret on 21st April, 2014

Add your review
I have finally got around to writing this review. There were a few positives but not many. I enjoyed the bar area but it closed rather early, however that wasn't my issue. My issue is that I use a mobility scooter- I had examined the local tracks and access and set off with my husband along the road to turn along the track which would take me back along to our lodge.. I was dismayed to find the gate locked, so we had to turn back.THIS IS NOT DISABILITY FRIENDLY IN THIS DAY AND AGE..if I had been a family with a buggy It would have been the same issue. I didn't bother complaining at the time given the previous reviews I have now seen about the owner I am glad I didn't.No-one want to go on holiday to be abused and upset do they? Ho-seasons should be ashamed of themselves sending people to a place like that.

Date visited: 12/06/13

Review by angie on 2nd June, 2013

Add your review
This holiday was a disastrous...it started off with us arriving late and not being able to find the place. when we did we we couldn't find anyone. eventually though someone did come and we were shown a damp lodge.Not at all welcoming. However the next day we found the local surrounding to be lovely until we went for a walk to the loch, it looked like a dump. It was so disappointing , I cant believe ho-seasons sends holiday makers to places like this. Yes the guy is rude and obnoxious, a right idiot in fact, so we wont be going again.

Date visited: august 2012

Review by Helen and ian on 14th May, 2012

Add your review
I agree with the lady below- DO NOT waste your money. We were cold and unhappy with the room conditions and when it was raised with the manager he was at the very least unhelpful and his behaviour was inappropriate in fact I would say aggressive. Never again for us and i advise don't waste your money on this.

Date visited: Christmas 2011

Review by Nicola on 15th February, 2012

Add your review
This is the worst holiday we have ever had and I would advise people not to stay in these lodges. As already mentioned by some of the other reviews, the lodges are very tired and dated and definitely need modernised. The photos on their website and Hoseasons website are still the same photos when we booked 6yrs ago and we complained to Hoseasons that the photos were very out of date and misleading 6yrs ago yet they have still failed to change them. The carpets were badly stained in our lodge and dirty (at the time of staying, our 11mth old son was only crawling and not yet walking so I was disgusted when I saw the carpets), the bathroom was dirty and not properly cleaned, the bedlinen had stains on it, there were cobwebs around some windows etc etc. - not what you want to arrive to when you have driven 8hrs to get there! We did complain, however as already mentioned in previous reviews the manager is rude and obnoxious and has an excuse or counter-argument for every point raised (even arguing that it wouldn't have taken us 8hrs to drive there as he knew where we travelled from and said he could drive it in nearly half the time it took us?! Not sure what this had to do with our complaints on cleanliness however, when travelling with a young child and dog, you do need to take regular comfort breaks and we also were stuck in traffic due to a bad car crash). Completely irrelevant to our complaints but shows you what sort of man runs the establishment. Please don't waste your money, there are lots of nicer accommodation available in Scotland for the same budget.

Date visited: July 2006

Review by S Stevenson on 16th January, 2012

Add your review
The lodges were peaceful and comfortable.The heating is great and we were never cold. The bottle of wine was very welcome. The roads in the site are full of potholes but it is not surprising after recent weather. Everyone was very welcoming and it was great to be able to take the dog for walks.

Date visited: dec 2011

Review by anne wotherspoon on 23rd July, 2011

Add your review
SECOND VISIT TO THE RANCH ENJOYED IT THAT MUCH WE HAVE BOOKED FOR NEXT YEAR . VERY GOOD FISHING, FOOD GREAT AND CHEAP. STAFF AND OWNERS LOVELY. ACCOMODATION VERY CLEAN

Date visited: 16th july/23july 2011

Review by Terry on 23rd April, 2011

Add your review
Nice place visitedsome great places loch ness etc .saw a deer or two. Track very bad damaged car on last day probably ok if you have a four by four. On the whole it was ok weather wasn't very good though and everyone got a bit bored.Place a bot tatty expected something a bit better for the money . Loved Inverness would get something nearer if we went Scotland again.

Date visited: April11

Review by sue evans on 3rd April, 2010

Add your review
On the whole this place was not worth the money, deer pen lovely, children liked this but the food area closed early and you could'nt get a drink after 9.oopm. owners nice in general but the manager was difficult when we raised our concerns over quality issues- def would not go again.

Date visited: october 2009

Review by Ross and Janet on 12th October, 2009

Add your review
Overall a very good holiday, very quiet and relaxing. Rowing boats and fishing at near by loch was excellent!!! Although was quite a fair treck when walked 2 or 3 times in one day. Very clean chalets on arrival...although bath VERY small and no showers. Did not eat at old dutch barn which is on site although there were some very nice restaurant a couple of miles down the oad which were very nice. Our chalet was over looking a deer pen which was amazing. Def will be going back next year....but more prepared....wellies and waterproofs are a must!!!!

Date visited: 6 October 2009

Review by sarah lynch on 4th October, 2009

Add your review
We have just returned from a short break at this park and thought it was wonderful! I took my 12 and 7 yr old for an hours trek and experienced no problems at all with the ponies. It was actually a very pleasant hour and the children thoroughly enjoyed it. We ate in the bar on one occasion and the food was good, plentiful and good value for money. My parents who were there for a week went to the bar one evening and enjoyed a celidh of sorts, they had a great night! The owners and staff were wonderful you can really tell they love the place and what they do. I would say that the lodges are a little dated but that was the only negative. Indeed, we have already booked to return next year in the summer.

Date visited: 26th September

Review by scott and Theresa on 17th August, 2009

Add your review
we spent a week in the Highlands and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff at Delny are pleasant and helpfull and the location is stunning. However we felt the lodge was in need of modernising/updating and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. We woke with aching backs! We spent most of our time outside the lodge. The Ranch provides horse riding and on our trip one pony threw a child to the ground twice. It was quite scary for everyone not least the poor girl. I would not allow my child to participate in this activity again if we return.

Date visited: 8th August

Review by anna davies on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
The lodges are situated in a beutiful area. Unfortunatly this is all that is nice about the place. The food served in the logdes is cheap fast frozen food a poor standard. The manager come onwer is the most arrogant man I had ever met. Do not go there if you have a problem his behaviour is appalling. He seems to think he is god or something. A total waste of money.

Date visited: 7/07/09

Review by Sanderson family on 2nd June, 2009

Add your review
We had a really lovely, relaxing holiday at Delny. The interior of the chalet was perhaps a little dated, but the beauty of the surroundings more than compensated. Everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. The childrens play area was fab and the pub food superb. We will be back next year.

Date visited: May 2009

Review by Hazel on 12th May, 2009

Add your review
Having read the last review by Catherine Miller I felt compelled to write about out experience at Delny Highland Lodges. We had a fantastic time and found the staff friendly and helpful. Our lodge was clean, tidy and in good order. Everything was working fine. The only negative was the bath was rather small!

Date visited: 2/5/09

Review by Catherine Miller on 4th May, 2009

Add your review
On arrival and inspection of this Lodge, I discovered that all beds where falling apart ( I have seen better in a dump) Springs were broken, material departed from base, duvets that were not in the least bit fit for humans to sleep on. On walking bare foot on carpets, I stuck to them - disgusting!!!!!!!. Gas cooker ignition not working - no impliments to light it - broken patio furniture, the list was endless. Overall this was a nightmare not a Holiday. Good money spent for below average expectations. Will be fighting for compensation as website has not been updated for many years as like furniture and bedding. I was not looking for luxurious but I was expecting standards well above what I received. Owner made no attempt to rectify problem stating over and over again it was clean. Hoseason I recommend an inspection of this Holiday Park if you are prepared to put your good name to it.

Date visited: 01 May 2009

Review by claire and martin on 26th March, 2008

Add your review
we had an absolute fantastic time at delny we have got three boys 9,7and 5 and they had a fantastic time also they loved the park and the pony trekking.Two of our friends came with us so we had 7 in our party so we opted for the larger lodge and we had plenty of space.The lodge was spotless and well equipped.The staff were excellent and worked so hard.We enjoyed ourselves that much that we are going back at the end of march 2008.

Date visited: april 2007

Review by Rosalind Francis on 26th February, 2008

Add your review
This accommodation is very clean, good views and relaxing atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Had a fantastic relaxing second visit and have booked again for April 2008.

Date visited: 14/10/07

Review by dean and karen on 2nd June, 2007

Add your review
Had a fantastic time, lodges were clean comfortable and had great views. The staff were all friendly and couldnt do enough for you, Food in the dutch barn was lovely and value for money.This is our 2nd visit and would recommend it to eveyone

Date visited: 26th may 2007

Review by MD on 19th November, 2006

Add your review
Beautiful place and staff but the main guy (owner) or manager is rude, inconsiderate and arogant. If he wasnt there the place would be perfect!

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A man of great common sense and good taste - meaning thereby a man without originality or moral courage - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles