It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Martello Beach Holiday Park, Clacton-on-Sea

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by julie ashley on 30th July, 2017

Add your review
campsite not too bad toilets were disgusting. no heated pool only allowed in it for twenty minutes a time showers were hardly on poor maintence on site clubhouse way to pricy

Date visited: 22/7/2017

Review by bert on 25th March, 2016

Add your review
Great campsite.

Review by Melissa on 13th November, 2012

Add your review
It's 2 years since I have been to this holiday park. I did not like the swimming pool at all. It was too cold in there and I was shivering. Plus, the outdoor pool was open and that was way too cold! It's a disgrace because pools should be well heated. The canteen was way too small with only a few tables and pretty much lame. The campsite was like a dump really. It was muddy and boggy! It was such a ugly sight with no flowers or trees. Also, the caravans were poor. We didn't have a working TV and some of the lights did not work. Also, the beds were too hard! The wallpaper was peeling off and the carpet was worn. The rooms smelt bad too. Yuck! Thank goodness it was a sun holiday so we didn't have to pay that much! The entertainment was the only good part of the holiday. But I do like Clacton though. Next time i go to Clacton, I shall stay at St Osyth's Beach Holiday Park.

Date visited: August 2010

Review by Fred on 26th September, 2012

Add your review
We stayed at Martello Beach for a week and I agree with Linz. We (Dutch) were also worried after reading the Reviews, but at the end of the Day it was allright. The Staff do their upmost best and was very helpfull and friendly. Not so nice was our Bronze Caravan, but what can you expect for just £ 200,00? For us a good lesson, we shall never rent a Bronze Caravan again.

Date visited: 1 july

Review by CarolAnne on 26th July, 2012

Add your review
ABSOLUTELY AWFUL!The staff were very rude!and you have to book the pool&very small&have to be down the pool by 9am if you want to go later other wise you won't have no time to go!The caravan was okay but very dusty&the fire&oven did not work,people swearing&shouting at night&gosh talk about chavs'R'us ciggar's out on the floor of the grass&entertainment was rubbish!just a bloody rabbit walking around giving you a sticker!no disabled access and you can hardly get a seat!slush puppies £2.25 for a SMALL slush puppy&no toilet paper in the toilets and stinks!!if you don't have a car you can't go no where!just one shop&very expensive charge 5p for a bag&you have to wear footwear!beach has glass all around it and in the sea,dog pooo everywhere on the beach&a man had cuts from the glass&also very rocky beach hardly any sand,TV didn't work no channels,vodafone got no signal,broken wood under the sofa's,only 1 key which made it very difficult,Reception closes at 9 so any injurys after 9pm your f*cked!no fish&chip shops,River is dirty&its very littered&no where to put rubbish&no bins&a fox went outside&ripped all the rubbish everywhere,broken furniture DONT RECOMEND THIS TO ANYONE!DO NOT GO HERE!

Date visited: 23rd July 2012

Review by linz on 21st July, 2012

Add your review
Just come back from a lovely holiday here was worried after the reviews on here but didn't need to be. Staff where lovely and helped out a lot bar staff were friendly and kids entertainment was great!!!! Caravan was lovely and very tidy. Beach was nice little bit of litter at the top part but nothing like people have mentioned. Jaywick is little run down but nothing like people have stated, locals very friendly and helpful. Would def go again!!!

Date visited: 16th july 2012

Review by MM on 8th October, 2011

Add your review
This place is absolutely awful!! Me, my partner, my 4year old son and my baby daughter came here hoping to have a relaxing break but as soon as we pulled up to the entrance I wanted to go. It was like chav hell, kids running amok screaming and swearing until late at night, loud music, the actual area of Jaywick was a run down shanty town. We experienced back chat from a youth who nearly fell on our baby when she was in the pram and the last straw was when a group of hoodlums were outside our caravan at night and thought it would be a laugh to kick the caravan so hard it shook, we paid cheap and certainly got cheap!! IF YOU WANT A NICE, PLEASANT HOLIDAY WITH LIKE MINDED PEOPLE AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!!!

Date visited: 31 July 2011

Review by g thomas on 15th August, 2011

Add your review
stayed at martello beach holiday park last week. and after diving for nearly 6 hours from wales,we were relived to arrive. after collecting keys from a pleasant receptionist ( and a scooter we had hired from nearby clacton, which the park kindly agreed to keep for us until we arived), we were directed to our caravan. when we arrived we were very pleased with what we saw. beds were made up and were very clean, bathroom, shower room and kitchen were spotless (although we did remove the bahroom carpets as they didn't look too good). after reading the brouchures in our pack, we were able to plan our week. although we mainly used the park as a base we did enjoy the evening entertainment and felt that the staff were very friendly and helpful. food from the restuarant wasn't the best, but the shop did stock a wide range of thing athough a little overpriced. overall our stay was very good,we had good weather (it rained one evening and on our departure day) and with our sat-nav we visited clacton, colchester, colchester zoo and bridlington. my only recommendation would be to provide a simple map of the area as it took nearly 30 mins to get to clacton the first time, but with the sat-nav 13mins.

Date visited: august 2011

Review by Mrs Langley on 1st August, 2011

Add your review
I visited Martello Beach last week with my family. I can only say that we were all very disappointed. The caravan was bronze but was what can only be described as grubby and tired. The upholstery was stained and ripped and the furniture was battered and peeling. The facilities on the park are simply not sufficient for the number of caravans. The map details 365 caravans excluding the tourers and the swimming pool only allows 40 people in at a time. You had to book a slot and only got 45 minutes at best in the pool. The show bar again is completely packed out and you really struggle to get a seat. We have holidayed with Park Resorts on previous occasions and have always been pleased so are even more disappointed. We have lodged a complaint and await a response. If you are considering going here l would say think again, if you have already booked and are due to go, good luck!

Date visited: 23rd July 2011

Review by D. Neville on 13th June, 2011

Add your review
Arrived early and they contacted us early to access caravan, very helpful. Site close to beach and plenty of amusement inside camp.. We had 2 meals in the cafe and found they were of good quality and reasonable. Our only complaint is that the music in the club was extremely loud and possibly in breach of Health & Safety noise levels, especially for young children, there is no need for music to be so loud that you cannot even talk..they should control the kids playing the music....

Date visited: 30th May 2011

Review by c,smith on 21st October, 2010

Add your review
On arrival the staff were very rude and unhelpful. Once given a key to the bronze caravan, ifound the caravan filthy. The sofa should have been condemned. I went back to reception, who allocated me another caravan.This time I was sandwiched between a group of males and a caravan on the other side full of females, they all knew each other and had a very loud party.Very late that night I complained to the security and manager, whose way of dealing with the situation was to move me again to a smaller, dirtier caravan. The staff did not attempt to help with this thrid move at midnight. The next morning I asked reception whether I could be upgraded to a bigger,cleaner caravan...they refused. The caravan I was left with had several broken kitchen appliances, curtains were covered in mould, the sofa was soiled and stained,in a drawer was an fish slice that was covered in lard. The list of things that were filty, broken and the rudeness of the staff is endless. Do not holiday here its awful

Date visited: 15.10.10

Review by John on 27th August, 2010

Add your review
Like many other reviewers, i was concerned with the previous reviews in that they went from one extreme to the other. However I thought nothing ventured, nothing gained. Here is my report: I found the park easily enough, as once you turn off for Jaywick, you just keep going till the road runs out! The park was at the end of the coast road which is preceeded by a highly questionable area. In fact parts of it resembled a wild west town, with wooden shacks adorned with the perennial Christmas lights left on the walls. First impressions of the park were pretty good. Clean and tidy with plenty of maintenance staff keeping it litter free. The check-in was very quick and our caravan was easy to find. I noticed some vans did not have parking spaces adjacent, which would be a pain if you had a lot of luggage. We took our golden retriever so we had to opt for a bronze van. We were delighted when we realised the van was a 12' wide version. We had loads of room and it was all very clean. The only problem we found was the cooker grill did not work properly. However the staff did attampt to fix it, but it would probably need a new burner or even a replacement altogether. At least they tried i thought. The indoor swimming pool is rather small and if you want to go first thing (09:00), you need to book, but that was easy enough. I did not go to any of the evening entertainment so cant comment on that. My daughter and her grandmother went to the prize bingo and had a decent hour or so. I understand it to have been busy at night in the showbar. The park store was OK, usual bit extra on the prices but you are paying for the convenience at the end of the day. The beach was a stone's throw from the park entrance. Dogs are allowed on this part of the Clacton beach which is one of the reasons why we chose it. The beach is not exactly bondi but its OK and not busy at all (probably due to the weather). The big question is would we return. Its a resounding yes but only for the short break. 8/10

Date visited: 23/08/2010

Review by Lee-Anne Wilson on 24th August, 2010

Add your review
Me,My partner,Our 3 children along with Our friends and Their 2 children booked this holiday to get away,have a break, relax and have fun. but it turned out to be a total disaster! Martello Beach is absolutely terrible and we all wish we had never gone! Once we arrived at the park and picked our keys up we went to our vans which were disgusting! filthy carpets and ripped sofas. but we thought hey a quick clean wont hurt us...but then we went into the restaurant to rude staff, ridiculous prices and poor food - but once again we thought we could handle this, we were very wrong indeed. the holiday brochures tell a very different story with their little pictures and smiley staff! One thing I would like to add to this, is I agree totally with the person who made a comment about the dogs on site - next door to Our caravan was 2 x staff's (on chains) But neither the less .. the dogs saw us walking towards Our van one morning and ran straight for us! just a few inches away from grabbing our daughter..the chain must have been a good few metres long! We spent all that money for nothing, worse holiday ever! we cut our holiday short and came home. we have put in a complaint .. that is currently being looked into and I hope a decent and respectable outcome is upon us.

Date visited: 7th August

Review by Dave Walker on 11th August, 2010

Add your review
Hi all had another weekend break at martello beach just as good as my previous stays. Full marks to park resorts they really seem to improve every time we go they even had someone asking people to put their dogs on leads wich i remarked on in my last review. It seems park resorts do listen to us just goes to show a few words can get things done.

Date visited: august 2010

Review by Dave Walker on 23rd July, 2010

Add your review
i have already left a review on the holiday we had,but i forgot to mention the subject of dogs nothing against them got one myself but people are still letting them run of the lead noticed this a lot at martello beach. come on you owners be fair on people who dont have dogs not very hygenic either.

Date visited: june 2010

Review by Dave Walker. on 11th July, 2010

Add your review
I reackon some people moan for a living its a camp site its what you make it yourself if you are in a tent. All you moaners should get rid of your tents and stay in a static. Had several camping holidays at martello beach really excellent site no hesitation in recomending it to anyone you will love it.

Date visited: June 2010

Review by dave walker on 5th July, 2010

Add your review
having read some of the other reveiws i thought we were in for a nightmare of a stay. we were all pleasantly suprised i reackon some people must moan for a living. upon arriving we were booked in at reception by a very pleasant young lady who was very helpfull and directed us to camping pitches plenty of room for a tent of our size. toilets and shower block kept very clean cleaners work very hard pity some tourers dont respect this instead of leaving them like a rubbish tip you all know who u are. good entertainment on the nights we were there young staff work very hard to keep kids amused and adults.thought prices in the bar and shop were a bit pricy but this didnt detract from the enjoyment of our break my only issue was the standard of food in the on site cafe just not good enough the day we arrived quite a lot of the menu not available i think this is something they need to get to grips with we ate out for the rest of our stay. having said this top marks for fasilities will definatly come here again once again well done all the staff.

Date visited: 30 june 2010

Review by kam on 17th June, 2010

Add your review
Dont get this park mixed up with the martello camp site in Walton which is a dump!

Date visited: 2010

Review by russell on 26th September, 2009

Add your review
All i can say is after our experiance of this so called holiday park, the staff must be writing most of these reviews.

Date visited: 22nd august

Review by lain on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
We are family of 5 and stayed for a week in middle of August. Had considered cancelling after reading previous reviews. We stayed in a tent with 3 children. Site staff couldn't do enough to help you - they made the holiday complete. Toilet's are limited but didn't cause us any problems - the only problem is the lack of respect some of the other users who verbally abused the staff! Children never got bored. Pool a little small but plenty big enough for the resort. All looking forward to going back next year as great value for money.

Date visited: Aug 2009

Review by Lisa Staff on 14th August, 2009

Add your review
We were originally booked to go to another holiday park with Park Holidays but received a phone call from them 1/2 hour before we were leaving to say that they were experiencing problems and that we would have to be moved to another caravan park with their larger company Park Resorts. Luckily this was still based in Essex and only another 1/2 hr drive. Therefore I didnt have time to research Martello Beach! Park Holidays did refund me 50 pound for inconvenience which was offered and not asked for which I was impressed with and also the new park was a better and bigger complex apparently and more expensive! (result!) We arrived about 2pm and my 1st immpressions driving through local roads to get to park were of horror! Very run down area and not at all pleasant. Our impressions changed on arrival in the park. Very clean and well maintained, fairly small but all in all a good first impression. Reception staff very helpful and even though we were due to check in at 4pm we were allowed in our caravan at 2.30pm. A phone call to my mobile from reception confirmed this.We stayed in a bronze 3 bed and I was very impressed. Clean , tidy and spacious. Linen was supplied which was also very clean. Entertainment very good and the staff definatly give it all they have got. Very friendly and very funny, kids loved them! Every night great entertainment from 6-midnight!!! Thanks to the staff- Mike, Laura, Emma and Tilly!! Fabulous team stars!! Pool abit on small side and you have to book sessions but this was no problem, toilets and changing rooms kept tidy and clean. Arcade abit dated but plenty for kids to do. Restaurant and bar very clean and spacious but my only complaint was that food was abit 'thrown together' and cold but hey ho its a holiday park. The shop did basic supplies of food but next time I would bring my own meals to cook in caravan. I would give this park an 8/10.

Date visited: 10th - 14th August 2009

Review by Nicola on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
I have just returned form my stay at Martello Beach. After reading some of the reviews on here i did doubt the park and even considered cancelling my holiday but we decided to give the park ago. We arrived at around 10am and were pleasently suprised when we drove on park. The park itself appears really well looked after and the facilities are conviniently situated in the centre of everything so your never too far away! The touring field was very spacious and well looked after... at £30 a night the standard of service we recieved was excellent - especially when a neighbouring park with a lot less to do was asking for £72!!!!!!!!! The young man on the touring field even helped us to put up our tent, which my Husband was extremely grateful for. The staff working on the park were all very enthusiastic and helpful. We went to a fun day which was excellent value for money with bouncy castles and a bbq, this really made the kids holiday. At night there was also a themed night, this time it was CHAV night, the costumes were hilarious!!!! We are looking forward to returning but this time with better weather! It did rain for two days straight but there was a bus stop out the front of the park so we easily got about and managed to stay sort of dry. I would recommend this park to anyone looking for a fun and good value for money holiday! You definately need to try the park out for yourself. My family loved it!

Date visited: 17/7/2009

Review by Grant Jones on 3rd June, 2009

Add your review
My family and I have just reurned from a bank holiday camping trip at Martello. I was not looking forward to it, after reading all the horror stories on here. BUT I was really surprised. Yes you do have to drive through a very questionable area to get to the Park, but it was a breath of frssh air when we got to the front entrance. The Reception staff were great, gave us all the information we needed, a young man called Shaun helped us pitch our tent. The children enjoyed the activities and childrens club. Yes their were groups of teenagers on Park, they were obviously bored, but did not cause any problems, one afternoon (Saturday I think) some of the staff were playing football with these so called trouble makers, we all had a great time, my children were cheering Mike the head entertainments person. Security were fantastic our electric tripped one night about midnight and the guy was with us in minutes and even came back a shortime later to check it was still on (now thats customer sevice) The toilets were not great but the only people to blame are other tourers, one morning I watched the cleaners go in 4 times and yet they were still abused by so called guests! I think you are being to harsh on this Park, what a great beach location, and facilities, overall excellent value for money, and during this credit crunch what more could you want!!

Date visited: 27th May 09'

Review by lisa on 27th May, 2009

Add your review
Having just returned home from this site I feel I need to let others know of my families experience . Firstly I should point out that my husband and I decided to cut our stay short because we were both disappointed with the facilities offered. The information pack you are given on arrival is very limited on information. No shop opening times, limited entertainment programme details, no details with regard to restaurant or takeaway facilities. More importantly to my small children it does not advise you that there is limited access to the pool. Apparently they use a booking system to enable you 1hr use of the pool. unfortunately for us we did not know this until we got into the pool and were then told we only had 20mins to swim before the next session!! Imagine my childrens disappointmet when told they had to get out after such a short time. Nowhere in the pool area or the information pack does it tell you of this booking system!! One of my main areas for concern is the toilet and shower block, of which there was only one!! It was disgusting. On one visit a toilet had become blocked with faeces and was overflowing onto the floor. Another had been blocked by someone forcing a loo roll into the toilet. Tissue paper was everywhere! I donot blame the cleaning staff who were there several times a day doing there best to keep them clean. I blame the other site users who obviously have no respect for others. This brings me to the main reason for us leaving the site early. Basically I felt uncomfortable the whole time I was there. Seeing groups of young men walking around carrying cans of beer, spitting and swearing. Music being played late into the night. Cars driving around the field at speeds too fast. Having to walk through a group of young people gathered around a car at the gates of the site again drinking smoking and swearing. I was hoping for a relaxing time as a family at a family resort instead I spent my whole time feeling uncomfortable and apprehensive.

Date visited: 23-26 May 2009

Review by Mrs Ojo on 19th April, 2009

Add your review
I'm not one for writing reviews, however, this park was such a disappointment, I had to write one. We stayed at the park for 4 days in Easter hols. First impression was that the caravan was not cleaned to the standard that we got in Haven and Park Dean. There was dust in the cupboards and bathroom, dirty oven and unhoovered under the beds. Some of the linen was too small for the duvets. Still nothing major, we thought. Then we went to the arcade and entertainment area. The decor predated 1980's, still nothing major. Then I went to the loo, no toilet tissue, out of three WC one was blocked and no soap in dispensers. Unfortunately, this continued throughout our stay. I told the staff on daily basis that we need paper and soap, but they just shrugged their shoulders and said it wasn't up to them. Confused?? I was!!! Next morning we went for a walk around the park. Litter everywhere, the little stream that runs around the park was so messy, dirty and the stench from it was absolutely foul. The seaside was OK until half of miles down the road. Then the litter began again and the stench returned. We saw rusty barrels, mattresses, cans and general litter. Unfortunately, I wouldn't recommend this park. We have been to several other both from Park Resorts, Haven and ParkDean and this was the worst.

Date visited: Easter 2009

Review by Val on 23rd February, 2009

Add your review
I take exeption to Mrs Suttons remark about the owners at the Martello Beach Holiday Park, We are not all loud mouthed hoodlums as it was put, I think of my self as a well brought up polite person. We use our van to get away at the weekend and some visitors that come for a holiday I can tell you begger beleif.

Date visited: Owner

Review by James on 29th December, 2008

Add your review
I was looking to take a holiday in Clacton on sea and a freind told me about Martello beach. I typed it up and read all the mixed reviews and decided to take a chance and make my mind up for myself...I thought the park was fantastic! I thought the staff were great with excellent sence of humours and could tell that they were all very enthusiastic about there jobs. The facilities where great. The showbar was great fun for all of my family! There was loads to do for the kids and there where other kids there for them to interact with. The entertainment covered all ages could not be faulted. The shop had a wide range of stock bearing in mind it was due to close in about a weeks time. Over all I thought this park was great and I will definatly be returning and I have also learnt to find things out for myself because I am so glad I came to visit.

Date visited: Very Often

Review by Mrs Sutton on 2nd November, 2008

Add your review
We dicided to visit the site for our end of season camping trip it was our 1st and last time. We entered the site through a group of swearing hoodys and were told to pitch where we liked. The facilitys were disgusting with only 2 toilest working and no toilet roll. There was sick in the washing up sinks so they were unuseable (this was not cleaned whilst we were there). The shop had nothing bar some reduced frozen sweetcorn. What really really done it for me were the static owners children they were foul mouted little hoons. There was constant swearing and my 5 yr old daughter was spat in the face by the little boy who won the fancy dress competition for halloween (i hope you mother reads this). WE WILL NEVER BE RETURNING the scum that frequent there will be the ones responsible for it going under and hopefully it will take them with it.

Date visited: oct 2008

Review by Rachel on 31st October, 2008

Add your review
I have recently returned from a Holiday at Martello Beach Holiday Park and had a very enjoyable time. The staff are very friendly and the park is lovely. You have to drive through a unloved area to get to the caravan park but once your through those gates its like another world. Security are always patroling the site at night and make you feel very safe. The reception staff are very kind and will do everything they can to help. I would recommend Martello Beach to anyone. The entertainment was brilliant mike and his team were fantastic and makes everyone feel welcome. The caravan was a bronze (which is supposed to be bog staandard) and it was lovely. I will definatly be returning to Martello Beach!!!

Date visited: 3.10.08

Review by jess on 31st July, 2008

Add your review
this place is amazing.. its perfect for groups of girls to have a great time!! im coming back again on the 5th of september as this is the best time to go! so hopefully loads of ppl will join us and have a great time! make sure u visit or ul b missing out jess

Date visited: 2008

Review by mike allen on 28th December, 2007

Add your review
this park is better than people think i was there quite a lot and considering it had a reputation for trouble before park resorts owned it it has got better and im sure will get better as the years go on dont always go by other peoples opinons go by what you think give it a go its a nice little park.

Date visited: october 2007

Review by Steve on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
ITS BLOODY AWFULL I SPENT 3 MONTHS IN IRAQ AND I FOUND THAT MORE ENJOYABLE. DONT GO HERE IS MY ADVICE, STAY AWAY AT ALL COST

Date visited: 20/8/07

Review by Rob on 19th September, 2007

Add your review
Martello Beach Holiday Park! Where do I start. Well firstly it is nestled between the sea and a little place called Jaywick. Lets start with Jaywick as you have to drive through this place to get into the park. Jaywick first enters the history book some time during the Glacial period of about 500,000 BC. This is when the first settlements at great Clacton and Lion Point, Jaywick are first mentioned. There has been identified a Palaeolithic culture co-eval with the Mammoth, people who fashioned their tools and weapons by a flaking technique. Among artifacts that have been recovered are scrappers, pointed tools made on anvils of stone, spear tips and rough chopping implements. For some reason the Clacton tribes hadn't devised a hand axe. Their you go a short history of Jaywick and what I saw of it as I drove through at high speed the locals are still fashioning their weapons by a flaking technique. If and it is a big IF you make it through this place without your car being stoned as the locals have mistaken you for a large wooly Mammoth you enter the park. Their are no actual pitches for tents you just pick a place in a uneaven field. The night life consists of a 6" 2 Rabbit called Sparky that entertains??? The children. Youths swearing and fighting on sight as their are no age restrictions and teenagers can get on here as easly as a family. Oh yes and happy couples having domestics until the early hours of the Morning. The only people that have a great time are the Neighbours of these people who are probably getting their first goodnights sleep all year. The swimming pool is so small that you can only have 30 people in their at any one time so people have to cue and wait their turn. Toilets are very few and far between and the ones that are on site remind me of the reading festival. (not good) as for washing up sinks their are two tiny ones. Save up for a little bit longer and go to Cornwall to a site called Trevornick near Hollywell Bay. However if you do decide to go to Martello then the best of Britsh luck to you, believe me you'll need it.

Date visited: 16/08/07

Review by TJ on 20th August, 2007

Add your review
My son got a tent for his birthday so we figured we should give it an airing. This site and area would truly put anyone off for life. You drove in through an area that I have truly not seen the like of(including several burnt out properties). Not a good start. The toilet block was disgusting, constantly out of toilet paper and sinks that had to have been planned by a moron they were so confined. The washing up area was horrible and I am very thankful that I didn't need to do any. It shouts out that one and a half million has been invested and indeed it has a very nice inside pool although small the outside pool and area is also nice but not much bigger than a good size paddling pool (I kid you not)Also swimming is done on a rotation basis as its so small so ay busy times you can swim for an hour!!! Or you may have to queue and wait! The amusements were like all amusements but again the toilets were naff. If you have a young family forget it the first night people were up andenjoying themself till 4am, and while the were just teenagers enjoying themselves the f-ing and blinding can get a bit tiresome at that time of the morning. Basically this sounds it trumpet as a four star facility I truly would not go near the place with a barge pole and am desperately trying to persuade my son that camping is not always such a dire experience.

Date visited: August 2007

Review by rachel hill on 26th February, 2007

Add your review
this park a great swimming pool and very clean facilities. it is aslo very near the sea. i definately want to go again!

Date visited: about 16/08/06

Review by wally gunning on 6th February, 2007

Add your review
i cannot believe that people are saying that there are no security on the site surely if they look a bit harder they would see that security do the door and also patrol the park at night we have been going to martello for 3yrs and see them everytime once again i must say we have had some great times at martello and will do this year aswell

Date visited: very often

Review by wally gunning on 1st February, 2007

Add your review
for the last three years i have been down to martello and found that all staff were very friendly entertainment team done a good job catering for everyone see you all this season good luck keep it going looking forward seeing you all

Date visited: quite often

Review by Amanda Tweedie on 27th August, 2006

Add your review
We recently stayed at this campsite for a weekend in August 2006 and we wonít be going back. The only good point was the sandy beach. The reception was pleasant and the staff friendly but for a site which advertised 100 touring pitches the facilities were a disgrace. There were eight ladies toilets of which only a couple were usable. Either the locks did not work or they were missing altogether. One was out of order and there was never any toilet paper. Out of the three hand basins one did not have a tap and the other two were squashed behind a door, hence after using the toilet you then had to queue up behind people to wash your hands and risk getting hit by the door as other people tried to get in. The gentís was no better and one of the basin taps was constantly running. On entering the ladies shower block I had to tip-toe through dirty sanitary items only to find what few showers there were only managed a dribble and were of no use whatsoever. The shower my husband used needed a constant push on the button to keep the water flowing. For dishwashing the only two sinks on the whole site were disgusting and there were only two stand pipes for clean water. The Elsan point kept overflowing. There were a cluster of eight portable toilets which you could smell from twenty metres away, generally the whole site was a mess and very un-hygienic. We have been camping for over 25 years and never experienced conditions like this before.

Date visited: 04/08/06

Review by Sue on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
I recently stayed with my family at this resort and to be honest I can only agree with a couple of points previously made about the site. My family and I actually cut short our holiday early due to the extremely low standard of the site. Start on a positive, the beach was lovely!!!! Location to the beach, fantastic, very close! Weather was great!! Now thatís about all the nice bits Bad bits No security, what so ever to be seen, if they were some, they were no where near the campsite or toilets block as they were vandalised every night with only around 2 or 3 toilets working not over flowing on the floor. I know it was a campsite, and they are not often quiet places but we had tents that were pitched around 2 meters away! Due to no security, they were loads of big noisy parties. Our last night some drunken idiot was doing hand brake turns about a metre away from our tent in his transit van. Showers were absolutely useless, didnít work 2 sinks for around 100 pitches (plain daft) We attended the Childrenís Entertainment show in the evening, was terrible, entertainers using inappropriate language being that it was a kids show. Cafť was overpriced and the food was not edible, cold when served Shop wasnít stocked up, had to travel to Clacton for even basic things like sun cream Pool lifeguard was more interested in topping up her lip-gloss than watching the pool And just to top it all the Elvis impersonator was just an insult to the king, mind you it was so bad it was dead funny lol . Please camperís, try not to be too tempted add this particular resort to you must go list; it unfortunately needs a lot of improvements made.

Date visited: july 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nobody ever died of laughter. - Max Beerbohm
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages