Bridge

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bridge at Wilton, Ross-on-Wye

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by carl on 7th September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Breakfast was nice Bad Points: Room 7 was in a very poor state of repair, 1970s style bathroom no shower Very very disappointed with the cost of the room considering the state of it. It was meant to be Superior Plus??????? General review: was put off spending any more money in the restaurant after the state of the room, and so had our meal elsewhere

Date visited: 2009-09-07

Review by James on 6th November, 2008

Add your review
I never normally write reviews online but after such a horrendous experience at the Bridge House restaurant on Sat 18 October 2008 I feel compelled to write. We went to the restaurant for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday celebration with his parents, who live locally and have been to the Bridge a number of times before. They had enjoyed fantastic food and good service in the past, but we found out when we arrived that the manager changed in Sept 08 – hence the difference in this review to the ones below written before Sept. We arrived 7 minutes late for our booking at 8pm (5 mins of which we were trying to find space to park the car in their car park) and, while standing at the bar in our coats, were thrust menus by the manager on duty and told ‘you’d better order quickly, you’re late’. A bit unexpected as everyone else was sitting in the bar with their aperitifs, clearly in no hurry – and I’ve never been anywhere before where a few minutes has an impact on anything, but ok – we had a drink and ordered promptly. When at our table a few minor things happened such as no wine glasses, water or bread being brought to the table despite asking a couple of times, but again no major issue at the time – and when the food came out it was lovely. We had one comment about one of the main courses which we asked the waitress to pass on to the chef –this was a minor comment and not a complaint – the rest of the food had been great. We decided after two courses we would head home. That’s when the trouble started – the waitress came back and told us that she couldn’t repeat what the chef had said when she passed on the comment. Shocked at her telling us this, we pressed her and she retorted ‘look, you’re not having dessert, you’re not having coffee, let’s just leave it at that, shall we’. We tried to respond but she stuck her hand in my boyfriend’s dad’s face and snapped ‘I’m not dealing with you’ and stalked off. My boyfriend’s mum then passed the kitchen while walking to the loos to hear her moaning about us and went in to tell the chef politely that the food had been lovely and it was the service we had had a problem with. The waitress squared up to her, then the manager came in and started shouting at her about us being late – ‘you don’t arrive in an establishment of this quality 10 minutes late – you arrive late, I’ll bring the wine glasses and water out late’ - their lax service earlier in the evening had evidently been intentional. The chef was impeccably polite and apologised but the other staff were unbelievably rude and intimidating. We all eat out regularly and I was a waitress myself for a number of years and I have never seen service like this – it felt like an episode of Fawlty Towers. We left distressed and upset, what should have been a celebratory evening totally spoilt by the attitude of the staff. They seemed to have taken a disliking to us from the start due to the 7 minute delay in our arriving and this resulted in the evening we experienced – other guests in the restaurant did not seem to be getting the same treatment. I wonder though how much longer this restaurant will last if guests get treated like this whenever the waitress loses her cool or the manager takes offence to what he sees as a slight on his ‘quality establishment’. I’m just hoping the excellent chef moves to a restaurant where the standard of his food is reflected in the standard of service.

Date visited: 18/10/2008

Review by Anonymous on 27th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The food at the restaurant was quite superb. The staff were very friendly , welcoming and efficient Bad Points: not really any bad points but for the rate charged for the deluxe bedroom the room should have been of a higher standard of decor. General review: A relaxing break in our journey with quite delicious food and courteous xservice,

Date visited: 2008-06-27

Review by overjoyed on 7th December, 2006

Add your review
an absolute triumph probably the best meal ive ever tried. Sirloin with braised shin was wonderfull and verry filling.

Date visited: 1 dec 06

Review by Hungry customer on 11th October, 2006

Add your review
We visited the Bridge House Hotel with some friends in September 2006. The reason we chose to visit this restaurant was the because it was voted "Restaurant on the Year in Hereford in September 2005" and that the chef had trained with a Michelin-starred chef and worked with Raymond Blanc at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons. For starters three of us ordered scallops, however we were served just 1/2 a scallop each. For the main course three of us ordered beef and were served 2 very small very thin slices of beef. The only vegetables served with the meal were for decoration. The desserts were an average size and very enjoyable. The food style was very much nouvel cuisine which we thought was very 80s. If we had only ordered one course we would have left very hungry! We did enjoy the food, but were disappointed with the quantity of food served. It is a great shame as we will not be returning again due to this.

Date visited: 9th September 2006

Review by Richard Jones on 28th July, 2006

Add your review
Crucially I felt compelled to write a review! Incredible food, a wonderful experience, every part of the meal was an exceptional balance of flavours that demanded to be savoured. Quite simply the best meal I have ever eaten. Prepare to spend around £50 per head including wine, for the full experience and all courses. Expect many surprises this place endeavours to be the best in the region and appears ready to impress absolutely everyone who dines there. For me its there already!

Date visited: 26th July 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He was about as useful as a one-legged man at an arse kicking contest. - Rowan Atkinson
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages