Oaklands

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by maria on 26th September, 2012

Add your review
We booked a 4 night stay in a GOLD PLUS caravan. When we arrived we immediately complained about the location of the caravan – the gold plus being the best caravan on site other than the 1 platinum caravan they have. The caravan was located right on top of the main road. The noise in the day was unbearable, and when we complained we were told they know it’s noisy but it quietens down at night. This was not the case and we were unable to sleep. During the day, due to the noise you couldn’t sit in the caravan in with a door or window open let alone sit outside. This is no exaggeration. We were given no alternatives, as we were told the site was fully booked, yet caravans were being advertised on the web site. The company’s response was the GOLD caravans are located here because it has parking, gas and is near the club house – but I’m sure everyone would prefer a night’s sleep and a little walk to facilities rather than the other way round. The wooden fence between the caravan and the main road was all broken so the road had clear sight of our caravan as well. In the company’s response they say they are waiting for an insurance claim for the fence to be put back up. This does not help when you are staying in the caravan that it affects. On top of this we also ordered one of their own travel cots and had pre paid for this service at the time of booking. When we arrived it wasn’t there, so had to call for it, only to be questioned about if we’d paid for one. Looking at the bedrooms, none of them have any floor space for a cot, so had to ask for a bed to be removed in order for the baby to sleep in a bedroom and the baby’s mother had to sleep in a single bed in the same room as the baby. The company’s response was they are going to put this on their web site to warn other guests. Again not helpful when you are there and nothing can be done. The cot that was delivered was broken, and we had to call maintenance who said they had no spare cots, so we were at a loss of where the baby was going to sleep. So the maintenance guy came and he managed to fix it, but in the process had to cut the padding around the metal surround and lock mechanism – so we had to tape towels around the metal to make the cot safe. We were told they would report it to the office in the morning. We also went to the office in the morning and reported the cot. There were no replacements as they only hold 2 cots, but the member of staff was more upset that the maintenance guy cut the padding rather than the safety of the baby having to sleep in it. They said they would try another resortbut no replacement were available until the 3rd day. When the replacement was delivered we put it up only to find this was also broken and the netting was torn to shreds. In the company’s response to me, they said they check all cots before delivery, but this is obviously not the case. On Friday (the day before we went home) a brand new cot was delivered, which we didn’t bother with as check out time is 10 am so by the time we untaped all the towels we’d put on the bare metal, and put up the new on, we’d be checking out in a few hours’ time. So be warned - book at your own risk

Date visited: 29th August 2012

Review by knapper on 31st August, 2010

Add your review
BEST ADVICE..do not buy here.i paid £15.000 for a caravan, window fell out 2 days later. 5 months to repair,the manager has the manners of a pitbull..then forced to pay £399.99 for a metal shed that is totally unsuitable for anyones needs...prison is a cheaper option.site is run like some kind of stalag...WORST BUY I EVER MADE..p.s discovered a gas leak after a so called qualified fitter inspected the caravan..they then turned around and blamed it on me..?????

Date visited: 08/03/1960

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nothing that is worth knowing can be taught - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles